Success Feels Really Good!

Back in July, I wrote about my key goal for 2013.  “On the Journey to a Goal” I talked about hiking The Bruce Trail end to end.  It follows the Niagara Escarpment and is the longest continuous foot path in Canada.

I have now achieved that goal!  I have walked the 892.4 km trail in 51 hikes over 10 months.

My hiking partner and I left the Southern Terminus in Niagara Falls on November 19th, 2012.  We arrived at the Northern Terminus in Tobermory yesterday afternoon.

We’ve hiked in snow, rain, over ice, in mud, sweltering heat, and gorgeous sunny days.

DSC02147

March 2013 – Toronto Section of the Trail

We’ve walked beautiful forest trails, navigated treacherous climbs and descents, picked our way carefully on rocks, had soakers on water crossings, been chased by cows, attacked by a dog, and had multiple snake encounters.

DSC03110

July 2013 – Climbing the Escarpment in Sydenham Section

We’ve seen magnificent vistas, dozens of waterfalls, many deer, rabbits, and a porcupine.

DSC03728

September 2013 – On top of the Escarpment on the Peninsula Section near Tobermory

I’ve broken a hiking pole and I’m on my third pair of hiking boots.

All of this was achieved on a foot with a crushed joint on the big toe.  I deliberately delayed surgery until we could complete this journey.  The pain often made me think I made a bad decision.

…but we are now finished!!  It’s been an absolutely amazing experience.  Achieving a major goal is priceless!!

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Success Feels Really Good!

  1. Emma Rosal says:

    Joanne, I love your blog! It’s always encouraging to have people enjoy the Bruce Trail. I’m a member of the Bruce Trail Conservancy (Toronto Club) and would like to share with you what we’re working on and see if you could help us create awareness for our event through your blog.
    All good things! ………………….Emma

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Love your tag “retired but not idle”. I too hope to hike the trail with a friend over the next few years. We are a little intimidated by your “fast pace (10 months) and a little nervous of dogs, bears and snakes; after reading your blog we added “cows” to our list. Thanks for blogging your adventure and inspiring us to reach our goal.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you! Your message gave me a very good laugh. I’ve been on the receiving end of a lot of jokes by my friends because of the cow incident 🙂
      I’m so grateful that my friend Helen persisted in trying to get me to do the end to end with her… I feel so proud for having taken this adventure and discovered a new passion for hiking in the process!
      My very best wishes on your journey. Helen said constantly throughout our hikes – ‘feel the fear, but do it anyway’. 🙂

      Like

  3. That’s so impressive! It is one of my hopes too and stories like yours inspire me. Did you walk every week?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks for reading my blog. I appreciate it!
      When we started in November, we hiked once a week. Once our driving time became 2+ hours, we started to hike on back to back days, staying overnight in the area. The further we got, we also did 3 day hikes. There were times we took a few weeks off because of personal commitments or the weather.
      It was an amazing adventure. Helen had been asking me to do this with her for literally years and it didn’t sound like something I thought I would enjoy. I was wrong and I’m so glad she persisted.
      Best wishes in your journey!

      Like

  4. That’s incredible. I’m in awe of you! Well done!

    Like

Leave a Reply

