Voices From The Past Are Calling Me

I have always envied people who have a large extended family nearby …  aunts, uncles, cousins … available for instant parties, holiday gatherings, or just a lazy cup of coffee on a Sunday afternoon.

I am a first generation Canadian and I grew up with only a small circle of family.  We didn’t know my mother’s family in Holland, and on my father’s side, we knew virtually nothing.  I’ve always felt that gap in my life.

Both my parents are gone now and I feel the big hole that is left behind as family history is lost with the passing of each generation.   Since I am now at the ‘front of the line’, I feel a strong responsibility to capture as much of our family story as I can for the generations that will be left behind me.

For two years, I have been documenting stories, photos, and our small family trees.  Often it’s been very frustrating because I have so many questions and no one to answer them … but then I’d gain a small piece of information.  It would cause me a ridiculous amount of joy and I’d feel energized again.

That’s how I feel today.  On Friday, my husband and I will be going to Rome to celebrate our 30th wedding anniversary.  While we are there, we have a side trip planned to the Cosenza, Calabria area where my father grew up.  I’m excited to finally have an opportunity to experience some of his past.

I have this irrational belief – hope? – that while I’m there,  I will somehow discover some small new piece of the puzzle that is my father’s family.

dad 1914

1914 Calabria, Italy
L-R: My grandmother – Marietta Tancredi Sisca, my father – Francesco (Frank), and her sister, Rosina Tancredi-Pettito.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Voices From The Past Are Calling Me

  1. My sister had managed to trace our family back to 1100 on Ancestry.com….I have not one trace, not one accidental drop of Italian blood anywhere in my past, just my husband and my two kids since I have been absorbed into Italia!!

    Like

  2. maraneso says:

    Have a great trip. I went to Cosenza in 2012 and loved it. My great-grandparents were from one of its, er, “suburbs.”

    Like

  3. Congratulations on your 30th anniversary!(: I hope that you have a wonderful trip! And good luck! xx

    Like

  4. That sounds so exciting! Good luck with your quest.

    Like

  5. Su Leslie says:

    Good luck! I know exactly how you feel. I grew up away from my extended family, and although I have contact with some cousins and get lots of stories from my mother; I feel a huge loss since my grandmother died. I regret never asking her more about her life and now realise she could have answered so many questions. I’ve just returned from a trip to the UK where I was looking for information about ancestors. I found a few little things; less than I had hoped for, but enough to fill me with joy and and a sense of connection. One of the best things was simply going places I knew my ancestors had lived. I have also connected with a very distant cousin who found my blog and got in touch. He lives in the town I originally came from, and although I didn’t get to meet him (despite being there for a few days), I am so happy to know he exists and to welcome him to my family.

    I hope your trip is enjoyable and fruitful. I look forward to hearing about it in your blog. 🙂

    Like

  6. Have a wonderful trip. Next year my husband and I will celebrate our 25th anniversary and we hope to travel to Italy. I want to research my father’s family history in Rimini.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you. I find that writing my family story has become a “labour of love” and each little breakthrough is so exciting. I hope you have good luck in your research as well!!
      I’m a little bit familiar with the area around Rimini. I was in Riccione (practically next door) on a cycling trip a number of years ago. Beautiful area and had a great time!

      Like

  7. Reblogged this on The Italian South and commented:
    Joanne has a great quest ahead of her–enjoy her story!

    Like

  8. I sense the excitement, Joanne! May I share your post on my blog, theitaliansouth.com?

    Like

Leave a Reply

