Winter on a Treadmill

When I was in university in the 1970s, one of my favourite TV shows was a late night sit-com called Soap.  It was a satire of the daytime soap operas and I found the characters, writing and comedic timimg absolutely brilliant.

Fast forward 37 years and I accidentally discovered the box set on Amazon while Christmas shopping in December.  To my delight, son #2 put the complete series under the Christmas tree for me.

soap

A few weeks ago, I made the commitment to start running again after taking a year off. Commitment for me means that I registered for 2 races – one in May (10k) and one in June (21k) – because without the stress of an upcoming race, I will not train properly.  I am the master of finding excuses not to run – it’s too cold, too hot, I’m too tired, too busy, too fat ….

The problem is that this winter is simply not great for running.   For weeks, the conditions have been icy and treacherous, so I’ve been forced to start my new running program indoors on the treadmill.  Several years ago I suffered a stress fracture running on icy/snowy sidewalks while training for a destination race.  The recovery time was over 3 months and I’ve been a wimp about winter running ever since.  A treadmill was eventually purchased after serious negotiations with Husband that included a healthy dose of whining (a formidable weapon to be used discreetly).

I have a love/hate relationship with the treadmill.  I’m grateful to have the option to run indoors when the weather is ugly, but treadmill time is not like normal time.  It moves at a slow and torturous pace.  An hour on the treadmill feels like 3 outdoors … and that brings me back to Soap.

Up to now, I haven’t been very successful in revisiting a favourite movie or TV show from my youth and being as enchanted with it as I was originally.  Too often the material has become dated, and the characters and sets appear weak and almost primitive in this age of high definition and special effects.  This time however, the magic was still there.  Yes – the picture quality has the faded & grainy appearance of 1970s TV, but the characters are just as quirky and the comedy is still as sharp as I remembered it to be.

Armed with the 12 discs in my new box set, I’ve been glued to the treadmill for the past 2 weeks.  Time doesn’t seem to stand still anymore. While I’ve been laughing at the timeless comedy of Chuck&Bob, Bert Campbell and Jessica Tate,  I’ve been getting stronger.  My endurance is slowly starting to build again and the legs don’t feel quite as wobbly.

It is said that you can never go back, but sometimes going back manages to help us to move forward.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Winter on a Treadmill

  1. I find treadmills difficult to run on. However, it is much better to use that option in the winter than to risk an injury. I am glad you found something that entertains you enough to keep you motivated. Good luck with your winter training.

    Thanks for visiting my blog.

    Like

  2. joannesisco says:

    Thanks – the photo was taken in my backyard after the ice storm just before Christmas. Everything was encrusted with ice!!!!
    My foot is virtually 100% and, you’re right – I don’t have any excuses anymore 🙂

    Like

  3. P.S. Love your header photo. 🙂

    Like

  4. I used to love Soap and had completely forgotten about it. I guess the dodgy foot is holding up. Well done! So you haven’t got an excuse not to run now but it would seem that it doesn’t matter. Laughing will tone the abdominals as you run. Win! Win! 😆

    Like

  5. nancytex2013 says:

    Loved Soap! How fantastic that you get to kick-start your training regimen with such fun entertainment. Good luck!

    Like

  6. davecenker says:

    Very well stated, it is so true that reflecting on our past can help us get over that hump directly in front of us. Best of luck in your training process, we certainly look forward to progress updates 😉

    Like

  7. sueslaght says:

    i loved that show! Says something about our age I think. I also agree that signing up for races is a great motivator. I’m signed up for a half marathon in early June will be a great help in rebooting my running enthusiasm.

    Like

Leave a Reply

