Let There Be Light #2

My husband is a techno-geek.  He loves gadgets and all things science.  Sometimes life with Husband feels like a succession of science experiments that impact me directly .

A few months ago, Mr Science decided to replace our bathroom light switches with motion detectors.  These motion detectors have a programmed time delay to automatically switch off the lights when motion is not longer detected.  In theory, it shouldn’t have been a big deal.  The reality is – adapting hasn’t been easy.

For weeks after they were installed, I continued to reach for the light switch when I entered the bathroom.  It was a habit formed from a lifetime of re-inforcement and I simply wasn’t adapting quickly to this ‘improvement’.

Two months later, I’m still adjusting to the change.  Although I’ve stopped reaching automatically for the light switch,  I’m still occasionally startled when the light comes on when I simply want to grab something quickly from the room.  In addition, I’m now discovering I’m walking into other rooms and wondering why the lights haven’t turned on. It’s making me feel like a lab rat.

The worst however is the automatic time-out.  It annoys me that the motion detector cannot ‘see’ me through the glass doors when I’m taking a shower and the lights go out.  I’ve been unable to convince Husband that 5 minutes is not a reasonable amount of time and I’m forced to wave my arms out the shower doors so I can finish washing with the lights on.

I’m trying to adapt.  I’m trying to keep an open mind, but sometimes I simply think the ‘old’ ways are simply better.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Let There Be Light #2

  1. Men don’t understand women and showers. We take longer! I’ve done the arm waving thing in campsite showers – not too bad as I usually wasn’t pitched into darkness. As MM described I have unfond memories of European loos that leave you in the pitch black in unfamiliar surroundings. One in particular was in Pisa, Italy. I was hovering over a nasty black hole in a small cubicle with walls covered in something unmentionable. The light cut and I lost my bearings and my balance. My choices were to fall bum down or touch the icky walls. 😯 Ever after, I always fixed the position of the light switch in my mind before it went black!

    Like

  2. The blessing of having a fix-it man in your life. 🙂 Every time you sit down in my bathroom, or reach for the Charmin to blow your nose, you see the gaping hole. I have threatened to cover it with plexi glass and tag it with a museum foot note that reads…”The Way Things Work: Twentieth Century plumbing at work.” The is the evidence of a fix-it gone bad in incompletion. There was a problem with the tub’s overflow, or drain that required access. And so, I am left with a choice 4th grade science lesson. I think if my friend Mr. Hole were to leave town, I would miss him… but not for long. ha ha 🙂 Thanks Joanne Sisco. You may have given me an idea. 🙂

    Like

  3. knitwit56 says:

    This is so funny – I can imagine that my dad would have loved something like this. But 5 minutes? No way! I’m thinking you need to rig up a string to hang in the shower, connected to something “outside” so you can turn the light back on without opening the door. Brrrr.

    Like

  4. Maybe you need a pet that follows you everywhere, and I do mean everywhere. Still laughing.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      That made me laugh! I have a pet – a cat who does follow me most places around the house …. except the bathroom. The shower totally traumatizes him. As soon as he hears the shower come on, he bolts for the door. Too funny!

      Like

  5. davecenker says:

    I’m sorry, I will freely admit that I chuckled upon completing this story. I don’t mean to laugh at your expense 🙂 It is amazing how ingrained habits get into our brain over time. For the first ten years in our first house, we had no handles on our kitchen cabinets. So, I would always grab the side of the door to open in. For the past 7 years, we have the most beautiful brushed nickel handles at our disposal. Do I use them? Of course not 😉 My habitual mind still goes for the corner of the door. Although humorous and entertaining, I have extracted a valuable lesson out of your story. Change is sometimes good and sometimes not. But, either way it is usually not easy 😉 Thanks for sharing and best wishes for limitless light in your day!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It is so true how we can get so accustomed to doing something a certain way that it becomes an unconscious action. I’m sure that in the beginning there was a certain amount of discomfort with having cabinets with no handles. We really are creatures of habit and changing them takes perseverance 🙂

      Like

  6. J T Weaver says:

    Reblogged this on J T Weaver and commented:
    From “the 270”

    Like

  7. I spat my coffee out laughing at the idea of you stumbling around in the dark in the shower. Did you ever see those lights with timers in French restaurant or bar toilets? They were designed to cut out after a certain time (usually one minute). The toilets were generally windowless hovels that stank to high heaven, with those awful Turkish loos where you have to be careful where you put your feet, then “hover”. By the time you’d organized a strategy to pee without getting your shoes wet or dropping your handbag down the hole beneath you, the damned light cut out and left you squatting in pitch blackness with your knickers around your ankles.
    Conclusion: tell Husband to put the light switch back 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Yes!! I had forgotten about those lovely washroom adventures in France! After my first visit to Paris many years ago, my journal was full of comments about my puzzlement, horror, and finally amusement with the various toilette facilities.
      I’ve discovered over the many years we’ve been together that life is easier if I save my battles for things that really matter. This one hasn’t reached that category yet. He definitely makes life interesting though 🙂

      Like

  8. sueslaght says:

    Definitely reminds me of European bathroom adventures with much hand waving 🙂

    Like

  9. Magdalena says:

    Sorry Joanne – didn’t mean to be anonymous! that was from Magdalena.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Men seem to live in a different world 🙂 He thinks it is totally reasonable to simply open the shower door and wave your arm to get the light back on. I`m maintaining a sense of humour about it. 🙂

      Like

  10. Anonymous says:

    This makes me laugh. It wouldn’t just be the shower that would be giving me problems, lol. Five minute time-out? He’s got to be kidding.

    Like

  11. A dark shower – not good! Fun read.

    Like

Leave a Reply

