The First Day of School

For as long as I can remember, I’ve loved school.  I’ve loved the classroom, the interaction with my peers, the intellectual stimulation and process of learning something new.  Every day was an opportunity for discovery.

It was inevitable that I would someday go back to school, and over the past 3 years I’ve taken various special interest courses – bartending, cake decorating, interior design.  I decided it was time to ‘go big’.  After contemplating for months ‘what’ I wanted to study, over the Christmas holidays I finally enrolled at the University of Toronto in a writing program.  Last year I discovered blogging and now I would like to learn to be a better writer.

This was a huge leap for me – I was now going to confront the giant.  I had originally avoided the big city university.  Fresh out of high school from a small town in Northern Ontario, I had opted instead for the University of Windsor – a much smaller school in a much smaller city.  It was there I got a Bachelor Degree in Business Administration, but Toronto was where I went to pursue my career.   It is now Toronto where I am pursuing my ‘second education’.

uoft

I had worries about being the ‘old’ person in a world comprised of youthful faces and naive enthusiasm, but I headed out on the subway, from the outer reaches of the suburbs to the downtown campus, with an equal measure of eagerness, excitement and trepidation.

As expected, the campus WAS full of fresh, young faces but I was kindly given directions to find my building and my classroom in the bitter cold.  Not surprisingly, I discovered that some things were very different this time around – non-smoking laws were enacted long after I started my career and it meant that the public areas on campus no longer had a thick cloud of cigarette smoke hanging in the air.  In addition, I couldn’t help but smile when one young guy pulled out his smart phone to show me a visual of the campus … the technology now is definitely VERY different.  The most complex technology I had in university was my calculator – a relatively expensive device at the time that can now be purchased anywhere for a couple of dollars.

I’m in a small class of a dozen students with an interesting mix of both young and old. Based on the first class, I think I will be looking forward to my weekly adventure to campus and the discussions that will arise.

I’m now adjusting to the reality of homework again – the required readings and the weekly writing assignment.  In truth, I’m struggling a bit already.  I’ve encountered the phenomenon I’ve read about – the point where the author loses control of the story and it takes a unexpected turn of direction.   It is a most vexing situation, and one that has me currently stumped … so I’m killing time waiting for inspiration to help me solve this problem.

Maybe I’ll go do some laundry … or clean the fridge ….

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The First Day of School

  1. Pingback: Youth Lost – part 2 | My Life Lived Full

  2. How very motivated of you…I’m sure your muse will come out of the corner soon so good luck with your homework! Looking forward to updates.

    Like

  3. Good luck, schoolgirl!

    Like

  4. excellent – which course did you choose?

    Like

  5. sueslaght says:

    Congrats on your decision Joanne. Sounds like an exciting journey ahead.

    Like

  6. davecenker says:

    This is so incredibly awesome and inspiring! Congratulation on taking the leap, I am going to live vicariously through you for the next semester 🙂 I too remember my time in college (internet, what is that?). Heck, we had to go down to a common room in order to watch cable TV 😉 I have always been attracted to education in its truest sense. Learning new things, making new discoveries, growing as an individual. I hope you enjoy the experience and I really look forward to your insights into the process. Have fun with it and keep us informed. Sending the inspiration muse in your direction …

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks – my muse right now seems to be pouting in a corner and won’t talk to me.
      I, too, remember having to go to a common room to watch TV – or make a phone call. We didn’t even have phones in our rooms! The Horror! 🙂
      Happy Friday & hope you have a great weekend!

      Like

  7. nancytex2013 says:

    This is so exciting Joanne! I’m envious! Please continue to share your thoughts on the experience. I’d love to know more about it!

    Like

  8. Lynn says:

    Good for you! Looking forward to reading more about your back to school adventures!

    Like

Leave a Reply

