Tea & Cookies

This week’s writing theme was food …

Tea & cookies,
Were staples in our home.

I wished I could like drinking tea,
It seemed so civilized.
I tried.
I can’t.

Tea after a meal.
Tea before bed.
Always with cookies.

I disliked peanut butter cookies,
But they were the ones my mother always seemed to buy.
Maybe because I didn’t like them.

The cookie jar became a prized possession
To the grandchildren.
They fought over it with some jealousy.

The ugly jar held a valued memory
For the lucky one who finally got it
When all was disbursed in the end.

I still don’t understand the attraction.

Cookie Jar

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Tea & Cookies

  1. Fun post but a decidedly unattractive cookie jar…unless you imagine it’s made of chocolate…

    Like

  2. sueslaght says:

    If not peanut butter than what kind were your favourite?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Anything cream filled, but Oreos and Maple Leaf are still favourites.
      Ironically, I love peanut butter cookies now – Tim Hortons caused it with their cookies. mmmm – must resist the temptation to make a Timmy’s stop today … 🙂
      Do you have a favourite go-to cookie?

      Like

  3. nancytex2013 says:

    I fell in love with high tea during my first visit to London. Now I’m hooked. The King Eddy downtown TO does a nice one. 🙂

    Like

  4. Tea at the Ritz! Can’t be beat (en)! Felt I needed to add that now you are studying how to write proper like.

    Like

Leave a Reply

