Today Was A Bust

Sometimes the best laid plans get derailed in spite of our best efforts.  Today was one of those days.

One of the things I planned for this year was to continue hiking and the decision was made to tackle the Oak Ridges Moraine.  It is a 300km trail system that runs across southern Ontario.

January was a total wipe-out because of the bitter cold and snow, but February hasn’t been as cruel.  Today was to be our 4th hike on this trail system.  Mondays had become our designated hiking day and my instinct this morning told me that today wasn’t a good day.  There was a -15C windchill and I didn’t feel up to it.  Did I listen?  No.  In the end, it wasn’t the windchill that did us in.

We use a 2 car system in our hikes.  We leave a car at our planned end point and shuttle to our start location.  This morning we arrived at our start point, put on a brave face and proceeded out into the blowing snow whipped up by the winds.  About a mile into the hike, we lost the trail.  We trudged around for a bit trying to figure our next move but we had no clue where the trail went.  Given the bitter cold, we decided the best approach was to abort this section, return to the start car and resume the trail from a different access point.  We could salvage this hike – we thought.

Now hiking into the wind, we returned to the car and moved to our new starting location. Stopping and restarting doesn’t feel very good.  Everything starts to tighten up a bit, but we headed out again anyway.  This time we got about 3.5 km into the hike when we encountered signs that the trail was closed due to hazardous conditions.  I knew that a lot of damage had been done to the trail systems because of the ice storm in December but I admit, I hadn’t checked to find out the trail status.

We briefly considered proceeding anyway but ultimately  made the decision to abort the hike again and turn back.

A very disappointing day.

DSC04672

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Today Was A Bust

  1. I think you need to get some vr (virtual reality) goggles to placate your disappointment of weather aborting activities. Your tales are making me feel like a wimp, lol 😉

    Like

    • Joanne Sisco says:

      LOL – wimp is a relative term.

      I was supposed to go out for a walk after dinner, but when I stepped outside into the -17C / 1F windchill, I beetled back in as quickly as possible.
      I’m less than thrilled about freezing my face off as I get older 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You are brave with the windchill over the past few days! I admire your determination – a friend and I are starting the Bruce trail this year but we’ve targeted the beginning of April for our start.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Excellent! I found the Bruce an amazing experience. We hiked all through last winter but it was such a different winter … and of course, we didn’t have all the damage from the ice storm. I understand about 100 miles of the Bruce was closed after the storm and they expect it to take until the spring until all the cleanup is finished.
      If you are interested, I blogged about our experience doing the end to end on the Bruce Trail at http://joannesisco.wordpress.com/
      Best wishes! Looking forward to hearing about your experience!!

      Like

  3. Disappointing when you’ve psyched yourself up for it but at least you didn’t stay at home, sitting on the couch and eating chocolate. Just the mental effort of your day must have burned a few calories!

    Like

  4. davecenker says:

    Disappointing indeed 😦 However, you did get the opportunity to breathe in deeply some crisp winter air and enjoy the natural wonders of the outdoors. And maybe buried in this frustrating experience is a small silver lining. Maybe we don’t always need to stay on the path in order to find adventure and peace in our lives 😉

    Like

  5. Poor you. Kudos for your determination to get out there and do it – it’s only delayed after all.

    Like

  6. sueslaght says:

    But I bet it feels better than having sat on the couch eating potato chips all day. I say good for you to get out and try…twice no less!

    Like

  7. bulldog says:

    What are you doing out in the cold.??… Come and hike in Africa where your biggest problem is have you enough sun screen…

    Like

  8. nancytex2013 says:

    We had to abort a hike with the kids a week ago Saturday because the snow got too deep up on Mt. Charleston (yes, there’s snow in the Vegas area if you go high enough!). I hate, hate, hate not finishing a hike. Although I’m learning to let go of the anxiety a lack of completion causes causes me. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

