In The Doghouse With My Cat

I used to mock people who treated their pets like children and attached the same emotional attachment – or more – to Little FurFace than their own flesh and blood.  Our sins, however, have a way of coming back to haunt us and now I have to admit I have become one of those pet owners.

Our home had been a pet free zone for all of my married life – give or take a hamster or two.  Our lifestyle and hectic schedule was not conducive to proper animal care demanded of a responsible pet owner. All that changed two years when Theo came into our lives.  Theo was a large adult cat with a history of behavioural problems and he needed a home.  The chances of a cat with Theo’s history finding a new home was non existent and it broke my heart.  My instinct told me that Theo was simply an unhappy cat and needed a quiet home without any other animals where he could be the centre of attention.

I wish I could remember the piece of magic I wove the night Husband agreed to let me bring home Theo ‘on a trial basis’.  I acted on it promptly before he could change his mind and Theo came to live with us.  Although Husband was rather frosty at first – having regretted his momentary lapse – Theo settled in without any issues.

My instincts had been correct and before long Theo had both Husband and I wrapped around his paw.  He is a very affectionate and endearing furball with a bright intelligence.  I am a total pushover and have spoiled this big boy shamelessly.

Which brings me now to today’s problem.  Theo is an outdoor cat and as an alpha male, rules our quiet street with the pride of a lion on the Serengeti.  He gets into scuffles with other cats and frequently bears the results of these encounters on his nose.  This week Theo seems to have met his match in a bigger, badass cat … either that, or the other cat got in a lucky shot.  Theo got bit on his paw.  Before long, Theo was limping badly and the paw had started to swell.  A trip to the vet was in order.

Antibiotics, an anti inflammatory and a painkiller later, Theo was sent home to recover for what should have been a day or two.  Unfortunately I’m not having that kind of week.  Theo’s paw stubbornly remained very swollen and he simply won’t / can’t walk on it.  Today required another trip to the vet – this time for x-rays.

The good news is … there is no fracture, no evidence of any shards in the tissue or any pockets of infection.  The swelling appears to be related to one particular toe joint where the vet thinks the bite might have actually penetrated the space between the bones of the joint.  What that means for Theo is that it is very painful and will take longer to heal.  It may be a week or two before we notice any improvement.

The bad news for me is that after months of preaching fiscal restraint to Husband, I have now invested, without hesitation, several hundred dollars in vet bills in a mongrel cat whose only pedigree is a cute face and loveable personality.

Theo and I will both need to be on our best behaviour for a while.

DSC02536

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Random Stuff, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to In The Doghouse With My Cat

  1. I swore I would never be a pet owner who treated the pets like family members. But you really can’t help it, I think. They really do become part of the family and the love for pets is very real. Hope everybody (and the wallet!) are OK.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Theo is a healthy, happy guy, and thankfully he doesn’t challenge our wallet on a regular basis!!
      I can’t believe I’m so smitten with this big furball. They really do wiggle themselves into our hearts in ways we never imagined possible!

      Like

  2. Norm 2.0 says:

    A fun read – I hope this all worked out okay 🙂

    Like

  3. trentpmcd says:

    They are like our children, aren’t they? Is Theo neutered? They typically don’t fight as much when they are “fixed”, nor mark as much. As far as spending money on our fur-babies? Yes, been there, done that 😉

    Like

  4. plaguedparents says:

    I’ve been there. What are you going to do, right? It seems foolish ‘blowing’ that amount of money on a pet, yet it is your pet.
    Plus he is adorable, hard to pass that up!

    Like

  5. Debra says:

    Theo is magnificent! What fool of a cat would bother fighting him?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Whoever beat him up did a good job. Theo is a little afraid to go outside now – even though he’s all healed. He’ll stay outside for only short periods of time and stays close to the house.
      I’m wondering how long this will last 🙂

      Like

      • Debra says:

        Until he knows it is safe to venture further I reckon.
        Our cat is a scrapper, too. And we have had a few vet bills as a result. But she will be 12 this year and still really healthy and happy. I think you can trust him to know the limits.

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          Thanks – I’ve come to the conclusion that cats just like to fight 🙂
          Twelve is a good ‘old’ age for a cat. I think Theo is 6 so he still has many good years in him.

          Like

  6. Oh my, he’s adorable 🙂

    Like

  7. WE ARE GOING THROUGH A SESSION WITH OUR PERSIAN FEMALE, AND THE BILLS KEEP PILING UP. RIGHT NOW, WE’RE AT THE $3,000 MARK. WE LOVE HER DEARLY, SO WILL DO WHAT WE CAN, I HOPE YOUR CAT IS WELL BY NOW AND MORE CAREFUL AROUND THE NEIGHBORHOOD FELINES.

    Like

  8. Totally worth it! Big hugs (MIND THE PAW!) to Theo.

    Like

  9. nancytex2013 says:

    Aww…poor Theo! You’re a good mommy. 🙂

    Like

  10. Lynn says:

    I know it is difficult to get our heads & our wallets around the costs of a vet bill but it is just one of the responsibilities of owning a beloved animal. The love & companionship they give back to us somehow seems to lesson the pain. Hope Theo feels better soon, he is a very lucky boy to have found such a wonderful home.

    Like

  11. Aw poor Theo (and your pocket!) I hope he gets better soon xx

    Like

  12. bulldog says:

    All animals melt my heart, but I can’t afford the exorbitant vets fees so treat my dogs myself… having farmed I have a good idea of the problems animals have and with that knowledge I will inject antibiotics or what ever is needed, saves a fortune…

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      My husband is on the same page as you. He is already starting to plan a strategy for the ‘next time’. I have to admit is seems kind of dumb to spend that kind of money on a pet, but how could I not?

      Like

      • bulldog says:

        We have a product here called Teramycin I think that’s how you spell it, that cures most animal problems, a type of antibiotic… I also keep the powder as it works wonders on open sores… I used it on myself for a spider bite and it worked wonders…

        Like

  13. sueslaght says:

    These pets have a way of melting our hearts and lightening our pocketbooks. Wishing Theo a speedy and economical recovery!

    Like

  14. Oh I feel your pain…and your love. I have a dog that only requires urgent veterinary care on Sundays…when the emerge clinic charges double! Really enjoying your writing.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      thanks for the warning about Sunday emergency care. With any luck, I won’t be needed vet care again for a while (knock on wood!!!)
      Thanks for the lovely compliment. I really appreciate it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

