On The Run

The temperatures this weekend climbed above the freezing mark and the sidewalks have been somewhat less treacherous than usual … so after three months of pounding the treadmill, I decided to be brave and I took my run outside yesterday.  It was a reality check.

Running outside is NOT the same.  The treadmill is a nice controlled environment – but really tedious.  Outdoors has the benefit of fresh air and stimulating environment.  I seem to run a little faster, a little stronger, a little harder … if only because the constantly changing terrain demands it.  The flip side however is that I feel it today.  My legs are a little grouchier than usual, but a grouchiness that makes me feel oddly happy.

Contrary to my initial impression, the sidewalks weren’t great.  There were still snowy and icy patches – I had to abandon one route because it simply wasn’t worth the effort.  I had to pick my way daintily in many places to avoid a tumble and I had forgotten about the sudden rush of icy slush unexpectedly filling my shoes.  It took most of the day for my feet to warm up again … but I must admit, it was great to be back running outdoors again.

running

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to On The Run

  1. Icy slush? Ick!! I think you should stick to running in peanut butter. 😆

    Like

  2. nancytex2013 says:

    Go Joanne! I much prefer outdoor running (notice, I didn’t say I like it better, as that would imply I like running at all…), but with my cold-induced asthma, I can’t venture outdoors until the temps get a lot warmer. Treadmill for me til then. 😦

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      lol – that sounds like me. I can’t say I really like running … however I really DO like how my body feels when I have a regular training program. Unfortunately my inner couch potato is a bit of a diva and the only way I can keep to a regular training program is to have races scheduled. The fear of the starting line keeps me on track….hence the motivation to suffer through the treadmill all winter 🙂
      I envy people like my husband who actually LIKES running.

      Like

  3. Lynn says:

    Good for you Joanne! Regardless of your pace, I am certain your body will thank you in the end! Although the temperature is still a wee bit cool, the sun was brilliant today! Hope to get out on my bike in the next few weeks if the temperatures continue to rise:-)

    Like

  4. sueslaght says:

    I love the quote which embraces my running perfectly! As you know I have run through blizzards to avoid the dreaded treadmill. That you did three months of it is worthy of a trophy! Play safe out there.

    Like

  5. Ooo, you’ve got me all excited!

    Literally, just yesterday, my running gear arrived and I truly can’t wait to get cracking.

    Admittedly, I’ll probably only make it to about a minute before I keel over the first few times I attempt it but I’m nothing if not persistent!

    I can’t imagine a more freeing experience.

    You’re living my dream 😀 xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      There is nothing like new gear to feel inspired … I may not look like a runner and I may be a back-of-the-packer at races … but I’ve got the gear 🙂

      Don’t worry about the one minute running intervals. It’s a start!!! Run proud 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

