Friends and Food

I am one of those hostesses who loves to entertain – dinner parties both big and small – but I will obsess over the details for days.  I fuss over the cleanliness of my house, the menu and the table setting, constantly worrying whether the food will be perfect, or whether my guests will be comfortable and enjoy themselves.  A dear friend once said to me that people come to visit me – not my house – and I should stop worrying so much.   So easy to say, so difficult to execute.

Here I am on another Saturday buzzing around the house trying to get everything JUST RIGHT for a quiet evening with 2 very good friends.  We’ve trained together, travelled and raced together.  They’ve seen me at my jet-lagged, sweatiest and stinkiest worst.  It’s been almost 2 years since we planned a trip together and tonight has an agenda – planning a destination race for this fall.  This year is already a very ambitious one for all of us, so we will likely keep relatively close to home and aim for Philadelphia in November.   It’s rare to find good friends who are also very compatible travel companions and I’m excited that we are planning another adventure together.  It is always memorable.

Wonder Hostess has kicked in and I’ve been on a roll.  With hours still ahead before they arrive, the house is clean, the table is set, pie for dessert is made, and everything that can be done ahead has been prepped.  I’m ready for tonight’s martini and a great evening with good company and conversation.

Bring it on!!

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Friends and Food

  1. Sounds delightful. Can a non-runner come along?

    Like

  2. JennyO says:

    Oh what a wonderful memory this brought up for me. I am sure your evening was lovely!!! Road trips are the best with your ladies that just get you. 😀

    Like

  3. Hope you’re having a great evening…nothing better than good food and good friends – enjoy.

    Like

  4. Lynn says:

    Sounds like a wonderful evening Joanne! Hope you have a lovely visit & planning session!

    Like

  5. nancytex2013 says:

    I love entertaining as well, Joanne, but am embarrassed to say that I used to let my neuroses paralyze me into shying away from it. If things weren’t guaranteed to be perfect, I would find an excuse to have the event at an alternate venue (mom’s place for kid parties when mine were little, etc). I’m so glad I’ve eased up on myself these past couple of years. I’m doing what I love (sharing my home with others) AND having fun in the process.

    Can’t wait to read about your decision on travel/race!

    Like

  6. sueslaght says:

    Wow I am tired just reading! No wonder hostess here but I’m always up for planning adventures. What kind of race is it?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s the Philadelphia Marathon although I will chose to do only a Half. I’m just not willing to put myself through that kind of training anymore … although I learned a long time ago to never say never 🙂

      Like

      • sueslaght says:

        Yes that has become my mantra for sure. Have you done a marathon?

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I’ve done 2 marathons – Chicago and Paris. Both were highly memorable and I loved race day, but I find the training really hard. I decided that I enjoyed shorter distances more so – at least for now – I’m sticking with races that are no longer than half marathon.
          Having said that, there are a couple of destinations that I would be willing to go the full distance if I had a chance – like New York and London 🙂
          How about you?

          Like

          • sueslaght says:

            I did my first marathon last December. One of the best and hardest challenges I have ever taken on. So glad I did it but I found the training very grueling. I am signed up for a half in June. There are many great destinations for that distance too 🙂

            Like

  7. I love it when motivation kicks in like that (I’ve had the opposite kind of day today and given myself permission to do absolutely nothing, although I fear I will regret this decision tomorrow!!)

    It sounds like you’ve got a fabulous evening ahead of you and some exciting times to come. Have a wonderful time 🙂

    P.S. What flavour pie??

    xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you – like you I take the high energy days when I can 🙂
      The pie is peach. Because it’s not peach season, I’ve had to use canned peaches but I really like this pie so I was willing to make the compromise 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

