Inspiration In A Pint Sized Form

I have a new role model in my life.  Whenever I’m feeling old and decrepit I remind myself of the amazing Olga Kotelka.

Olga recently turned 95 years old and holds 26 world records in the Masters Track & Field circuit where she still actively competes in multiple categories.  She is a retired school teacher and lives in Vancouver, BC.   Olga didn’t take up Track & Field until she was 77 years old, but having grown up on a farm in Saskatchewan, where doing stuff all day was expected, she has kept up that habit ever since.

olga1

Google Image

There is a great article about Olga in the April 2014 issue of Chatelaine magazine based on an excerpt from a book written by Bruce Grierson called What Makes Olga Run.   She is literally in a class by herself and an inspiration to anyone who values fitness and health as they age. There is also a similar piece written about Olga in a January 2014 article in the Toronto Star.

While it is true that good genes are helpful,  Olga exemplifies the power of a positive attitude and applying consistent effort to lead an active lifestyle.

I think when I grow up, I want to be like Olga!

olga3

Google Image

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Attitude and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Inspiration In A Pint Sized Form

  1. treerabold says:

    I was looking at one of your recent posts and this showed up at the bottom of the page. Olga is quite impressive!! I too hope to be like Olga when I grow up!!

    Like

  2. sueslaght says:

    Well I feel like s spring chicken now! What an inspiration Olga is. I would like to think I could still be running at her age.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Me too! We hear many stories about men who are still extraordinarily active in later years, but it’s quite uncommon for women. She is quite unique and a great role model for those of us who plan to age reluctantly – kicking and screaming the entire way 🙂

      Like

  3. I don’t need to start running for a few years yet!

    Like

  4. I saw that Star article and thought – oh good I can start when I’m 77! Just kidding – an amazing role model.

    Like

  5. nancytex2013 says:

    Olga is the definition of Bad-Ass!!

    Like

  6. Wow, what an amazing woman! Definitely someone to aspire too- she puts my moaning about exercise to shame 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

