The Company of Extraordinary Women

There have been many posts written about the amazing community of online friendships that arise from blogging and last night I experienced the power of that community for myself.

Last summer while I was hiking the Bruce Trail end to end, I began following another blogger on the same journey at Bruce Trail Musings.  By the end of August, Magdalena and her hiking partner, Marian, were close behind us and it appeared that they would overtake Helen and I while we were on a 2 week hiatus.  Then disaster struck.  Marian had a fall and broke her ankle.   The details of her evacuation from the trail were posted and through it all, Magdalena and I commented back and forth to each other through our blogs.  Afterwards, with my journey completed and Marian still in recovery, our blogs fell silent and we stopped contact.

DSC03674 (2)

Sept 2013 – on The Bruce Trail

Early in December, I received an email from Magdalena asking me if I would be interested in meeting her for a cup of coffee.  What an inspired idea!  Two bloggers with a common interest in the Bruce Trail  finally meeting each other.  It turned out we lived relatively close to one another and we chatted in a local Starbucks for quite some time.  We had so much more in common than our love of the Bruce.

A few week ago, Magdalena made contact again.  She wanted to bring together the 4 teams of women she knew who were all hiking the Bruce Trail end to end.  She organized a dinner party in her home for the 10 of us to meet and share our experiences.  Unfortunately one team was unable to join us since they were actually back out on the trail in an attempt to finish the final 80km in their journey.  The remaining 6 of us met last night and shared an evening of great food and conversation – six high energy women with a passion for the outdoors and a need for adventure.

Over the past year, I have really enjoyed blogging and the opportunity to express myself in this public forum. I have been thrilled by every conversation I’ve had with other bloggers, but I never imagined that blogging would also provide the opportunity to meet new friends in the ‘real’ world.  Many thanks to Magdalena from Bruce Trail Musings for making this wonderful evening happen.

Cheers to everyone for happy trails and lasting friendships.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Company of Extraordinary Women

  1. There is only one question now for me : What and where is the Bruce Trail?? It sounds wonderful and I am going to do my research tonight and find out!

    Like

  2. What an inspiration you all are. Good heavens what an accomplishment!
    I recently finished reading Cheryl Strayed’s story Wild–loving every minute of it, and happy she came out alive. But I’m probably more apt to experience something like Bill Bryson’s adventure–A Walk in the Wild. I’m pretty sure I’d be eaten before reaching mile marker 3 on any trail in any event.
    Cheers to you (and to all those wonderful girls!)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you! .. and I’m a huge Bill Bryson fan. I’ve read A Walk in the Woods several times and it is probably one of the funniest books I’ve ever read. I laugh at all the same places each time!
      I discovered on our Bruce Trail hike that you really can accomplish amazing things when you keep putting one foot in foot of the other – in this case it was literal!

      Like

  3. restlessjo says:

    It’s surprising how opportunities do present themselves, and how close you can feel to people just through blogging. I’ve been lucky enough to meet a couple since I started the blogging adventure, too.
    Now I need to go back and find out where the Bruce Trail is. That photo on a ledge looks amazing 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: monthly challenges recap: March edition | my year[s] of sweat!

  5. It was great fun to be a part of last night and to meet you and the other hikers.Thanks to Magdalena for making it happen. And thank you for your wonderful blog! I have been reading some of your past pieces and am captivated. so much of what you have to say sounds so familiar!
    marian

    Like

  6. Lynn says:

    How wonderful that you were able to meet! Sharing life experiences with girlfriends is simply the best!

    Like

  7. What a wonderful thing to do!

    Like

  8. How delightful that you were brought together over a common challenge – very special! My hiking partner and I are starting the Bruce this weekend and I enjoyed your blog on the Bruce as inspiration and will definitely return to it as we need encouragement to continue.

    Like

  9. Fabulous that you got to meet up – blogging adds a little extra pleasure to the art of meeting people. Tomorrow I’m going to do the same – I’m off to meet a fellow blogger for lunch!

    Like

  10. sueslaght says:

    That’s so great Joanne. It seems that I have made so many new friends in the blogosphere. the opportunity to meet in person would be wonderful.

    Like

  11. nancytex2013 says:

    Hiking the Bruce Trail from end to end… How did I not know this was a thing??
    I have soooo many questions for you Helen! How many days /week did you hike? When you got to the really out of the way areas, did you plan vacation around it and make one long drive out, then hike, hike, hike, hike — and then long drive back? I am completely fascinated by this!!
    I may need to buy you a coffee and pick your brain. I am looking for a new challenge!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Nancy, I think this one has your name on it 🙂
      I would happily talk about this adventure with you. It totally exceeded my expectations. I had no idea there was such a beautiful nature wonder in our own backyard .. so to speak. Certainly the planning and logistics of each hike was part of the adventure 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

