B = Brothers

Selecting a B-word for today’s challenge was … a challenge.  I had so many themes bobbing around in my brain – everything from Baubles to the Toronto Boardwalk, but I finally settled on something near and dear to my heart – my brothers.

a-z

I was blessed with 2 older brothers.  Our age differences meant that I wasn’t particularly close to them growing up.  As a child, I viewed them more like demi-gods while I suspect I barely registered on their radar.  They were quite different in personality and temperment.  The oldest was quiet, thoughtful and soft spoken while the second son was the bad boy of the family.  Because he had a knack for making virtually anything funny, Brother #2 could usually charm his way out of his various shenanigans.

This was the brother who taught his 2 younger sisters to play poker one Hallowe’en and then proceeded to clean up on all their loot from trick-or-treating.  Mom was not amused and made him return our candy.  I don’t think I’ve played poker since.

One day he came home with an old hearse he had bought – complete with the velvet interior and rollers in the back.  Mom was mortified and wouldn’t allow him to park it anywhere near the house.

This was the same brother who accidentally set my hair on fire when he was tinkering with the flame setting on a lighter.  It could have ended badly if he hadn’t acted quickly.  I didn’t know what happened to me until he clobbered me in the back of the head with a towel to kill the spreading flame.  He gave me a whole new definition of dry and damaged hair.  Our poor long-suffering mom was clearly not amused.

Ironically, he eventually became a volunteer fireman.  Early in his firefighting days, he was always full of funny stories about the dumb things other people did – until one day karma caught up with him.  He was behind the wheel of the fire truck when they arrived at the scene of a burning building.  In his haste and excitement, he leaped out of the truck without putting it in Park.  As they were unrolling the hoses, the truck started to roll away on the slight decline in the road.  We laughed as he related the story of the chase for the runaway fire truck while his fellow firefighters were hanging onto the hoses in a tug of war with the massive vehicle in an attempt to slow its progress.

My brothers live far away from me now but only a few blocks from one another.  Since the passing of both our parents, my relationship with these two men has become stronger. While some siblings get driven apart by petty grievances and childhood jealousies that fester into adulthood, we’ve managed to become closer and kinder with each other.

The oldest brother is still quiet and soft spoken, the second son still fills a room with his booming voice and endless storytelling, and I still look up to my big brothers with a sense of awe and a great deal of appreciation.

DSC00977

 

 

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Family and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to B = Brothers

  1. mickscogs says:

    Just when I thought these are about to stop, there’s whole April full of them from last year. Our net is appalling, with no sign of improving. So I will read one a night.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Awww – that’s such a huge compliment that you would be interested enough to go back and look at last year.
      Last year I signed up the day before the challenge started, had no theme and was completely unprepared every day. The posts were random inspirations each morning. Creatively, it was a huge challenge to get through the month!

      Like

  2. So sweet! I love that I had brothers who taught me so much about what to expect from….MEN. Mine were sort of gross with all the belching, and assorted sound effects, etc., and the howls of laughter when they grossed out us girls. They would try to recite the ABCs in one long belch through the heating vents into our room. OMG. Brothers.

    Like

  3. Pingback: S = Sisters | My Life Lived Full

  4. Lucky you! Lucky them!

    Like

  5. Cody McCullough says:

    Your brothers remind me of my brothers. Excellent post! You have to love your brothers…

    Like

  6. heatha100 says:

    How sweet. you should send this to them. Brothers are the best. I actually wrote about brothers too.=) http://bellesbazaar-heather.blogspot.com/2014/04/b-is-for-brother.html

    Like

  7. Nikita Goel says:

    God bless is all i gotta say

    Like

  8. Suzi says:

    What awesome stories. With brother #2, I’m sure you mom was happy you made it to adulthood. I have one brother, no sisters, and he’s always been a decent brother.

    Like

  9. Kathe W. says:

    Lovely post- the title could be “Bartending Brothers” I have 3 younger brothers- one is like your two and the others not so much! They took different paths that I could not understand. Ah well- looking forward to your posts!

    Like

  10. Susan Gourley says:

    I have a brother like your second brother. We were very close growing up and when we get together it’s like the years have never passed. I have give sons and my one daughter is the youngest. I hope one day she has tales to tell about her brother and that they always look out for her.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      One of the benefits of age is that I get to recognize brothers are special gifts for those of us who are lucky to have one 🙂
      thanks for stopping by and commenting!

      Like

  11. What a lovely tribute to your big bro’s. Of course they are lucky to have a sister like you!

    Like

  12. Wonderful, heartwarming story. You three are lucky to have such a relationship. Let me guess: older quiet bro is on the left?

    Like

  13. nancytex2013 says:

    Nice job Joanne! You’ve shown how even if they can sometimes be bone-heads, brothers are the best. See what I did there with all the Bs. 🙂

    Like

  14. What a beautiful tribute to your brothers, Joanne. I loved it! 🙂

    Like

  15. sueslaght says:

    My brother is very special in my life. Great story.

    Like

  16. Lynn says:

    To follow my theme of commenting in the appropriate letter, how blessed you are Joanne to share such a wonderful relationship with your brothers. Love the stories!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you. I could write pages and pages about the stuff my second brother got into. He is a character and certainly adds a lot of amusement – and occasionally exasperation – into our lives 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

