C = Candy

There was no question in my mind what today’s C-word would be.  Sometimes it seems like my entire life has been lived under the influence of my one critical weakness – candy, in all its various forms.  Candy has played a leading role in all the major stages of my life and been a vital crutch through the crazier parts.  Unfortunately there have been many chaotic points, so candy has also contributed to a lifetime struggle with the weigh scale – and my thighs.

a-z

When I was very small, I believed that if I ate Smarties, they would make me smarter. This was a time when pennies could buy a bag of candy, but I credit Smarties with getting me through primary school with a reasonable ability to read and write.  I could argue that apparently I didn’t eat quite enough of them since science always baffled me and quite frankly it still does.

candy8      candy4

Licorice was the candy of choice through high school.  I had a study-buddy during my graduating year and we would spend hours together studying English and History while drinking coffee through straws made of stale licorice with the ends chewed off.

candy7

Chocolate in all its glorious forms got me through university with my sanity intact and the childhood of my 2 boys was filled with jelly beans and gummy bears.

candy1     candy9

During my working career, Licorice Allsorts and Cadbury Easter Creme Eggs were my poison of choice when the 3pm crash would hit or I was stranded in the office late at night. Only now am I somehow surprised that it didn’t occur to me that this could have contributed to the insomnia that plagued me through so much of my working life.  It’s a small miracle that my candy obsession didn’t develop into serious health problems.

candy5               candy2

For that reason, I staged an intervention with myself earlier this year.  Clearly it was time to take control of the candy crutch.  I provided compelling examples of how they were false friends and reasons why I should be shunning their company.  I’m a good listener and so far have been following my own advice.

I’m very wise like that.  I credit the Smarties.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Random Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to C = Candy

  1. My teeth and my thighs have limited me to plain dark chocolate these days. Sad, but necessary!

    Like

  2. heatha100 says:

    Those stinking mini eggs get me every time! Congrats for getting off the crutch. I was using soda as a crutch and stopped drinking it 9 months ago. Feeling great! http://bellesbazaar-heather.blogspot.com/2014/04/c-is-for-car-crash.html

    Like

  3. Lynn says:

    Mmmmmmm….clearly you & I are kindred candy spirits! Love every one that you mentioned here, including the Licorice Allsorts that some turn their nose up at…with the exception of the coconut ones…ew!

    Like

  4. Debra says:

    You might not be old enough to know this one but ..

    When you eat your Smarties do you eat the red ones last?
    Do you suck them very slowly,
    Or crunch them very fast?
    Eat that candy-coated chocolate,
    But tell me when I ask,
    When you eat your Smarties,
    Do you eat the red ones last?

    Like

  5. sueslaght says:

    More drooling on the keyboard…:)

    Like

  6. Kathe W. says:

    my favorite candy was Fire-Stix as a kid- however I pretty much abandoned candy over the years EXCEPT for chocolate…dark chocolate! Cheers!

    Like

  7. M-R says:

    I’m incredibly lucky that sweets and lollies were not a source of yearning for me – for otherwise I should have weighed in at around … oh, 130k. To begin with. 😮

    Like

  8. My weaknesses start with “C” too…cupcakes and Cadbury creme eggs. Thanks for sharing!!

    Like

  9. Victoria says:

    Yum, candy! Hope you’re having an awesome time with the A-Z Challenge!

    Like

  10. Ooh I love candy and like you, I thought Smarties made me smarter. 😉 Love all candy but my weakness of late is Skittles. There is something so innocent about candy. It must be the memory of childhood. 🙂 Great post!

    Like

  11. nancytex2013 says:

    Those Cadbury Crème Eggs skeeved me out with that gross soft yellow goo resembling yolk. That said, those mini Cadbury Eggs – the ones that make Smarties cry because they feel so inadequate – those are my Kryptonite. I would kill for those mini bastards.

    In related news, I’m actually very happy that my palate has FINALLY grown to appreciate good dark chocolate. No, it will never replace the creamy goodness of milk chocolate for me – but I do like that I can no enjoy something much healthier (accompanied by a glass of wine, naturally) and not feel as guilty for indulging.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I LOVE the soft gooey centre of a Cadbury egg – but the minis are also evil in their own subversive way. This is such a DANGEROUS time of year!!! I confess that I used to buy Cadbury eggs in bulk during this time of year and keep them in the freezer so I would have a stash to last me through the summer. Ahhh – memories …
      I’ve never embraced dark chocolate. I have far too many vices already and I should probably try to contain the list 🙂

      Like

  12. …and I’ve just had some gummy bears!

    Like

  13. Oooooooooooh, I so want a Creme Egg! Damn you!!!! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

