D = Dream, Dare, Do.

For today’s D-word challenge I’ve chosen 3 of my favourites that come wrapped in a great expression – DREAM, DARE, DO.

a-z

We all do it … have dreams about our future, sigh wistfully at the ‘what if’ or ‘what could have been’.  Some lucky ones seem to have the royal jelly that transitions them from dreamers to the achievers, but I genuinely believe that we have to create our own luck, break the inertia that keeps us bound to the dream-state, and simply take the plunge into action.

The first time I was introduced to the expression DREAM, DARE, DO was in the early 1990s following a motivational speech by Jeff MacInnis at the company where I worked.  In 1986, Jeff MacInnis and his sailing partner became the first team to sail the icy 4,000 km North West Passage across the Canadian Arctic.  A picture of the catamaran in which they completed this feat hung at the end of the hallway in our office.  In bold letters at the top was the caption DREAM, DARE, DO.

dare1

I passed this picture many times a day and at first I simply couldn’t imagine that an ordinary person like me could achieve daring feats like the one Jeff accomplished.  That was for stronger people who could brave adverse conditions, discomfort, injury and sometimes outright danger.

Over time however, I think the expression started to seep into my soul.  It occurred to me that the end of the month / year / 4 years would still come and go regardless of what I did or didn’t do.  It was a *lightbulb* moment that if I dared to try and made genuine effort towards a personal goal,  that time would still pass but I could have something to show for it at the end. I might be able to run 5k, finish a course I was interested in, transform an ugly room, ANYTHING.

I’ve been daring myself *to do* ever since.

DSC04785

From Couch Potato to Runner, Triathlete, Hiker

Not everything we set out to accomplish works out the way we planned.  We all have failures in spite of our best efforts – but over time I’ve learned to wear those failures with greater comfort.  After I’ve gotten over the initial bitter taste of disappointment, mixed with a touch of embarrassment, there has always been a leftover feeling of satisfaction in having tried – not to mention the amazing people I’ve met along the way and the stories I have to tell.

Daring-to-do is scary and considerably more effort than you may think is humanly reasonable, but time is going to march on regardless of whether you take that first step or not.

What are your dreams? Dare to do.

dare2

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Attitude and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to D = Dream, Dare, Do.

  1. Kate says:

    Really good post that reminds us to make the most of our time, something I usually forget to do. I found this inspiring.

    Like

  2. mel says:

    Inspiring! I feel like your posts are giving me virtual kicks in the butt 😉

    Like

  3. kborman says:

    I shared this quote with my coworkers yesterday that I think coincides with your post nicely: “No matter how many mistakes you make or how slow you progress, you are still way ahead of everyone who isn’t trying.” I like your notion to not only dare to dream, but to also dare to do.

    Like

  4. Debbie says:

    Yes, it always takes courage to step out of one’s comfort zone. Sometimes I actually think I fear success more than failure. very inspiring post. thanks! 🙂

    Like

  5. Inspiring post. It’s so great that you got over what was holding you back. I am still working on it.

    Like

  6. sueslaght says:

    Wow that is an amazing trophy plate! Good for you!

    Like

  7. nancytex2013 says:

    Whoa over achiever!! 🙂
    Just teasing! What an inspiring post! Carry in bad ass!

    Like

  8. Lynn says:

    I love this one Joanne! Our dreams will never come true if we allow ourselves to sit complacently while life passes us by. My desire is to be able to look back on my life, at any given point, & know that I have sought opportunity to fulfill my dreams no matter whether they were successful or not. It will not be for lack of trying! Daring to dream is half the battle!

    Like

Leave a Reply

