H = Haiku

I want to thank melanielee at Mental Indigestion who inspired this post.  I’ve been enjoying her haikus everyday during this challenge.  In comparison, my haiku is a weak imitation.

a-z

Her heart is heavy
Happiness hinges on help
Hopelessness happens.

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Random Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to H = Haiku

  1. perlesink says:

    Nicely done and thank you for the referral to Mental Indigestion. The modesk haiku I’ve been adding to my posts pale considerably in comparison as well. Thanks again. Good luck with rest of challenge.
    Perle Champion at Perle’s Ink, freelance words & art

    Like

  2. Susan Scott says:

    Brilliant Joannesisco! I agree with earlier comment that said how well this expresses the heaviness of ‘hopelessness happens’. Thank you …

    Like

  3. nancytex2013 says:

    Nicely done! You missed my haiku period (5 days in Nov). Mine were weak attempts, but fun!

    Like

  4. M-R says:

    REALLY ? – but I think this is delightful !!

    Like

  5. Well done Jo, I’ve never thought to give these a go but I love reading the works of others 🙂 xx

    Like

  6. sueslaght says:

    I’m with Whichwaynow. Great writing and hope you are speaking of someone else.

    Like

  7. mel says:

    Hi Joanne, thanks so much for the shout-out, and for reading my haikus. This is not a weak imitation at all; I think the use of alliteration is pretty cool actually because it adds to the heavy/sighy feeling of the poem.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks! coming from you, I consider that high praise 🙂
      This was the first time I’ve attempted to write a haiku. They’re really HARD!!!
      My appreciation for your talent has increased because of it 🙂

      Like

  8. Great haiku, but sad. I hope your heart is happy.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      yes, my heart is happy! Just playing with H-words and hoping that I was making a point that it’s hopeless to expect someone else to make you happy. It has to come from yourself 🙂

      Like

  9. All expressions are valuable and the attempt maybe as much as the result.
    Regards, Susan
    Garden of Eden Blog

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you for the comment. Trying to express a thought in 17 syllables was definitely a valuable experience. Constantly challenging ourselves in what we do, and how we do it, is just one path to lifelong learning.

      Like

  10. Wow! This is really good…and moving in it’s meaning.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Many thanks! I’m a bit fascinated by haikus but never attempted to write one before. I discovered it’s really HARD!! This one was a bit of rare inspiration I think 🙂
      Thanks again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

