I = iPod

Today’s I-word is a tribute to my dear running partner – my iPod.

a-z

Her name is Emerald – Emma for short – and she’s been my trusty sidekick for several years.  In fact, she is tattooed with Run, Joanne, Run on her slender backside.

I’ve always been a solitary runner and, since I’m also a very slow runner, I’ve been grateful to have Emma accompany me on the long hours I need to put in the mileage.  I simply can’t bear listening to the sound of my own heavy breathing without the distraction of her upbeat tunes in my ears that help to keep my feet moving.  I curse with frustration if she falters and grows weak before I’m ready to quit.

DSC04702

Some people would probably describe the music contents on my iPod as rather eclectic.  The only criteria a song must meet to make my playlist is that it has a lively beat.  Her song list is constantly growing and covers a broad range of music from Johnny Cash to AC/DC and Wrecking Ball by Miley Cyrus to Freaker’s Ball by Dr Hook.  A strong dancing beat helps me find ‘the zone’ – that elusive feeling that I could dance run forever.

Emma’s been frozen silent by bone-chilling temperatures, rendered mute through rain soaked runs, and chipped from numerous tumbles from my clumsy hands.  She’s also on her third set of earbuds, but I love her dearly.

I see most runners now are plugged into their smartphones rather than an iPod, but I think I’ll stay faithful to Emma as long as she can continue to match me stride for stride.

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Random Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to I = iPod

  1. Pingback: Feeling Superstitious | My Life Lived Full

  2. Derek the Laptop has a crush on your Emma! O_o

    Like

  3. rebeccatirabassi says:

    When I was trying to come up with something about “I” I was thinking about all of the iStuff that I could talk about. But I decided to go a different route. Thanks for writing!

    madscientistcrazymom.com

    Like

  4. M-R says:

    And you SHOULD stick to Emma, Joanne – no sense in blindly ‘keeping up’ with technology, because you NEVER WILL !! It’s such a retail trap !

    Like

  5. Sukanya Ramanujan says:

    I had my ipod ‘Augustus’ for 5 years before I had to replace it- too many times when I dropped him on his head the poor thing!

    Like

  6. Just by the sample you give of your eclectic musical tastes I suspect we’d have the same play list!

    Like

  7. sueslaght says:

    Joanne I have the same Garmin watch and red headphones! Does that make us kindred spirits? 🙂 I too have an iPod but not so lovely as Emerald. Couldn’t bear to be without it.

    Like

  8. nancytex2013 says:

    I use my iPhone for music, only because I use an app to track my run distance/pace and another app to tell me when to run and walk. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      My sons use their smartphones for a tracking app as well. I have a Garmin watch … and my Fitbit which follows me everywhere. Personal record – 36,000 steps one day on the Bruce Trail.
      As for run/walking, after last weekend’s very brutal long run, I’ve decided I’m more of a walk/runner *:|

      Like

  9. It’s funny how we name inanimate objects-I do exactly the same! She sounds like the best kind of companion 🙂 xx

    Like

  10. Emma sounds like a true and loyal companion. Do you ever go through phases where you have one song on constant play throughout your run?

    Like

Leave a Reply

