J = Juniper

You would think that someone whose name starts with a J wouldn’t have such a difficult time writing about a J-word, but such was my challenge.  In the end, the J-word I selected for today’s challenge was juniper – the essense that gives the spirit Gin its flavour.

Juniper

Photo from Wikipaedia

Gin and Vodka are the two most popular alcoholic drinks in the world, but the difference between them isn’t really much more than the spices and botanicals that’s added to Gin – of which juniper berries are the key.  The juniper berry isn’t really a berry at all, but a cone.  These little cones provide the only spice that’s derived from a conifer tree.

So, why do I care about the modest little juniper berry?  Well, I’m a huge fan of the Classic Martini – James Bond style – shaken, not stirred.  Without the juniper, a Gin martini would be … vodka.

imageedit_3_6505457967

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Random Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to J = Juniper

  1. nancytex2013 says:

    Just bought some Bombay Sapphire at LaGuardia yesterday, flying back home from NYC. 🙂

    Like

  2. M-R says:

    Mebbe you should’ve been working your way through with grog …? [grin]

    Like

  3. Love a G&T when the weather is hot – so here’s hoping we’ll be enjoying them soon. The gin I drink comes from Scotland and also has cilantro as an ingredient…I like to think that between the juniper and cilantro I’m getting two servings of greens!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I was aware of the cilantro as a 2nd key component to gin, but I hadn’t drawn the connection that my bevvy was also another serving of vegetables.
      You’re a good friend to have!!!

      Like

  4. Ah gin! It’s been a while. Our favorite is Larios. It’s Spanish, cheap and “rough as guts” as himself would say! Not sure what that says about me. Happy W/End! Bottoms up!

    Like

  5. Susan Scott says:

    Sounds delicious! The weekend is upon us .. just maybe I’ll give it a try! On Sunday, when we have a break from the A-Z. Have a good one!
    Garden of Eden Blog

    Like

  6. Lynn says:

    Jolly good! Cheers:-)

    Like

  7. I don’t drink, but I learned something new! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

  8. Do you know, I’ve never known the ingredients for a Martini, although, I’ve had gin (and love it) with tonic or bitter lemon. So when you hear them in films ask for a ‘dirty martini’, what does that mean? xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      A dirty martini has a splash of olive brine in it. I assume it’s to make it a bit salty.
      Normally I ‘wash’ my olives in vermouth before I put them in my martini to remove the brine.

      Like

  9. sueslaght says:

    Must be Friday if we are talking Gin and Vodka. 🙂

    Like

  10. Victoria says:

    Dang! I don’t drink, serving up anything else…LOL 😀

    Like

  11. Mel says:

    I’m a big fan of the lychee martini 🙂

    Like

  12. I’ve said this once, and I’ll say it again: the things you learn on social media! 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

