K = Kings Canyon

Today’s K-word takes us to Kings Canyon in the Outback of Australia.

It had been a life-long dream of mine to someday travel Down Under, and ten years ago we seized the opportunity to make Ironman Australia our first international race.   In fact, Husband was the only one who actually did the racing part, but afterwards we set out to explore as much of this amazing country as we could squeeze into a 3 week vacation.

I had heard about Kings Canyon from a travel brochure that described it as the Australian Grand Canyon.  That sealed it for me and hiking Kings Canyon became a must-do on our adventure list.  In hindsight, I wonder whether the person who wrote that brochure had actually intended to compare it to the American Grand Canyon, for I didn’t think they were similar at all.  Either way, the discovery of Kings Canyon did not disappoint.

2004 - King's Canyon 5

Getting there is not a minor excursion from any major city.  Australia is a BIG country and we visited Kings Canyon on our return trip to Alice Springs from Uluru (Ayers Rock) – which in itself is remote from virtually everything.  Kings Canyon is part of the Watarrka National Park and to give some perspective to this map, is located about 450 km from Alice Springs.

kings canyon map

With a guide, we hiked for about 4 hours along cliff edges and through narrow valleys sandwiched between walls of rock that looked like layers of stacked pancakes.

As with any significant natural wonder, to say it was breathtakingly beautiful would be an understatement.  Since I cannot possibly describe the magnificence and grandeur of these spectacular rock walls, I will let the pictures speak for themselves.

2004 - King's Canyon 92004 - King's Canyon 8

Kings Canyon

There is so much to see and do in Australia.  I suspect the typical traveller interested in making the journey into the Outback to visit Uluru, would make the day trip to Kings Canyon as we did.  Those few hours on this very scenic hike were definitely worth the effort.

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to K = Kings Canyon

  1. I’d love to visit Australia. I have so many bloggers to meet there!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: A = Alice Springs, Australia | My Life Lived Full

  3. mickscogs says:

    I haven’t been there yet. But I expect I will. When I visited as a youngster it was not on the tourist trail.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      When we visited in 2004, it didn’t seem like a huge tourist attraction. I think it’s a bit off the beaten back.
      There were few people on the trail … a lovely way to experience nature in its glory.

      Like

  4. I’m sitting here thinking I couldn’t do Australia because of the 24-hour plane trip…and you did the Ironman? I sound like a whiner!

    Visiting from the A to Z Challenge signup page. Great to meet you!

    Stephanie Faris, author
    30 Days of No Gossip
    http://stephie5741.blogspot.com

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks for visiting! The long flight folded up into economy class is definitely a marathon in itself!
      I didn’t race Ironman that year – only my husband. Dragging one bike that far was bad enough!
      Having said that, the trip was worth it!!

      Like

  5. That looks absolutely stunning! xx

    Like

  6. Interesting post…it really is a big country or is it in fact an island or a continent?

    Like

  7. M-R says:

    Of course, being an Aussie I have never been there. Stringer and I tended to spend all our travel money on Europe. But one does get to see an awful lot of one’s native land on telly … that’s how I manage to forgive myself.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I know what you mean. I look around at my own city and there are a number of popular attractions I’ve never been to … and that doesn’t count all the places in Canada I’ve yet to visit.
      So much to see and do ….

      Like

  8. Sounds like an amazing adventure! We are actually going to Australia later this year so I will check out this spot in our travel guide.

    Like

  9. I LOVE rocks 🙂 All the way down to Andalucía a couple of weeks ago I couldn’t stop staring at them, the colours the textures… endlessly fascinating. I studied geology for a bit, and I might take it back up again. And those KCanyon rocks are fantastic!

    Like

  10. CrazyGuyinThailand says:

    Awesome 🙂

    Like

  11. sueslaght says:

    What an adventure Joanne and congrats to your husband on the Ironman! Beautiful photos. I imagine it was a bit warm?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      We had perfect weather for the entire 3 weeks we were there. Our trip was in April which I guess is the end of their summer. One day of rain – and it was the kind of rain that pours for 5 minutes, then the sun comes out again.
      The Outback was very warm and dry, but not the uncomfortable-I’m-going-to-die kind of hot.
      I would LOVE to go back again. Three weeks was just enough time to realize how much more we really wanted to do!

      Like

  12. nancytex2013 says:

    What a great trip!

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Very kool pictures of King’s!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

