O = Overhaul Overdue

This is the second time this week I’ve started to write a post on a particular theme and found my thoughts morphing in another direction.

I had started off thinking about opportunities and particularly how it sometimes takes hindsight to recognize the true person or event that had been the catalyst for a significant change in our life.

As my mind wandered over potential examples, it occurred to me that it was entirely possible we hear opportunity knocking only when we are receptive to change – in other words, when we are overdue for an overhaul.

Opportunity (1)When I considered some of the big projects I had initiated, I thought I was being proactive – creating improvements where others saw nothing.  I had created this image in my head where I was boldly taking action carving a path through uncharted territory.

Under analysis, it appears I was being self-congratulatory.  I wasn’t boldly creating a new path at all, I was simply tired of the old path that was overdue for a major cleanup.

Somehow, I don’t feel quite so smug anymore.  Opportunity wasn’t knocking, I tripped over the broken door frame I had neglected to fix earlier and simply fell into opportunity’s arms while it was passing by.

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Attitude and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to O = Overhaul Overdue

  1. Mel says:

    I totally get that. Constantly struggling between self-absorbed idealism and courage.

    Like

  2. M-R says:

    And just what has brought on this total volte face ???

    Like

  3. nancytex2013 says:

    I love the way you’re inspecting this. Great food for thought.

    Like

  4. I think that there are opportunities that some recognize while others let them just pass by…don’t let go of your self congratulations too easily… O means you are well OVER the 1/2 way mark on your challenge – good for you!!

    Like

  5. That turned out all right, don’t you think? Hope that you didn’t stub your toe, too badly.
    That thing – that being taken in a different direction thing… it’s a love/hate thing for me. I especially don’t care for the business of finding myself cast in a less than flattering light.

    Like

  6. Victoria says:

    Fabulous post Joanne! -:)

    Like

  7. sueslaght says:

    Opportunity can come in many forms. sometimes it is not so polite and nails us over the head before we listen. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

