S = Shoes

Today’s S-word is something near and dear to my heart – or maybe I should say, feet.  I love shoes.

I have had a love affair with footwear ever since my teenage years as a lifeguard in bare feet on a waterfront beach.  My feet were chronically wet and wrinkly as I fantasized about a life wearing pretty shoes.

img200

Unfortunately, Mother Nature’s joke was to give me large, wide, flat paws – not exactly the type of delicate lady-like feet that could easily wear the kick-ass shoes my heart desired. It didn’t stop me, but I’ve lived most of my life with painful feet – a big chunk of it self-inflicted by my shoes of choice.

There was a time during my career when I had a closet full of shoes, but now that I’m retired, it seems my life revolves around running shoes, my hiking boots and the Birkenstocks I wear everyday around the house.  It’s all so very unsatisfying.

The huge calendar I keep taped on my refridgerator is a tribute to shoe fashion and I live vicariously through my monthly calendar.

img202

I think this might be the summer I break out the sassy heeled sandals again and ‘trip the light fantastic’.  Who knows? – it might be the beginning of something beautiful!

cinderella

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Random Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to S = Shoes

  1. Pingback: So Many Shoes! | My Life Lived Full

  2. Pingback: Shoes, Glorious Shoes! | farmerfarthing

  3. sueslaght says:

    I love the look and my feet hate the feel. It’s cute flats and sandals for this vintage girl. 🙂

    Like

  4. Kathe W. says:

    I have what I call “grape-stomping feet” they are NOT happy squeezed into ankle breakers- they are most happy in tennis shoes or flip flops! Cheers!

    Like

  5. Oh shoes, how I love thee. My daughter and I wear the same size right now and we happen to have the same taste in cute shoes. She gets a pair, I get a pair, and the we swap. Ha! It is therapy… it just is.

    Like

  6. sinewavelife says:

    I’m sized-challenged as well. If it existed, I’d wear 4 1/4 narrow. I hope, before I die, to wear a pair of bright red high heels, but right now those don’t come in children’s size. Sigh. Very fun post!

    Like

  7. M-R says:

    LOVE those green and blue ones … but the red ones, without even a solid sole for support, would have anyone hobbling within an hour …

    Like

  8. Running shoes, hiking boots and Birkenstocks…my common sense self graduated to those a decade ago and I’ve not had a blister since!!

    Like

  9. I can only stare at pretty shoes from afar… can’t walk on heels to save my life. Apparently, my arches are TOO high (so my chiropodist said). Plus, my physical co-ordination is terrible. Am struggling to walk in a straight line even when I’m not drunk. I’ve also got ugly crooked toes, so not only do I need to stick to flat shoes, but to those that cover your toes up. The only good thing I can say about my feet is that they are dainty. Aw, foot woes 😉

    Those black shoes are scary…

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Our poor feet. They take so much abuse on our behalf and in return, we treat them, and speak about them, very badly.
      I shouldn’t be wearing heels either – nor am I supposed to be running – but I do 🙂

      … and I agree. Those are wicked witch shoes 🙂

      Like

  10. Shoes and underwear-my two greatest loves!!

    I’m blessed with high arches so my feet were made for heels, sadly my coordination and balance were, most definitely, not!!

    Still, I do love them and try to wear them as often as I can. My favourite brand are Irregular Choice-they are divine! 🙂 xx

    Like

  11. nancytex2013 says:

    Shoe shopping nourishes me in a way food simply cannot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

