T = Trillium

Spring weather has finally arrived and soon it will be that time when Ontario forests will be bursting with its provincial flower – the trillium.

Last year in early May on the Bruce Trail, we encountered thousands of trilliums over a 2 week period.  It was so beautiful to be walking through forested areas carpeted in the familiar white flower.  To my surprise however, I discovered that the trillium also has a pink and red variation which I had never seen before.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I did a bit of research and discovered a couple of interesting (at least to me) facts about this flower that grows primarily in eastern Canada and US.

  • As kids growing up, we were taught that it is illegal in Ontario to pick the trillium or disturb the plant. That isn’t quite true.  Apparently they are only protected within conservation areas and provincial parks.  Maybe that is the reason why they are quite prolific in Ontario but considered a ‘vulnerable’ species outside of the province.
  • The white-tailed deer apparently LOVE the trillium.  I guess after a long winter with a limited menu, the trillium flowers are quite the delicacy.  Everyone loves spring!!

I’m looking forward to being back out on the trails next week and I’ll be keeping an eye out for the arrival of these little harbingers of spring!

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to T = Trillium

  1. Trilliums are beautiful flowers Joanne, and your photos are wonderful. I’d never heard of or seen them until we lived in Oregon (of course, they don’t grow near us in the hot, humid south). They are relatively rare in the forest in the northwestern US, and it’s great fun to stumble on them while hiking. ~James

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I find them beautiful because they represent spring for me. I can’t say I’ve ever seen just one or two of them together – it’s usually the whole forest floor particularly where there is a sunny spot. I think that’s why I find it so wonderful to crest a hill, or turn a corner in the path and see them before me!!

      Like

  2. Lovely. The trails also sound like a good experience. Heading into winter here, but without the snow 😉

    Like

  3. M-R says:

    Yours is the only three-petalled flower I’ve ever seen !!! 🙂

    Like

  4. Maria Dunn says:

    You have some beautiful shots of that lovely little flower. Thanks for sharing them. Visiting through A to Z. Maria, http://www.delightdirectedliving.blogspot.com/

    Like

  5. I bought a single trillium and nurtured it in my woodland garden in England. I was thrilled each year when it bloomed. How lovely to see a woodland carpet of them!

    Like

  6. Great post and I’m so glad spring is here! 🙂

    Like

  7. bulldog says:

    Great share…

    Like

Leave a Reply

