W = Weeds

Be the weed growing through the cracks in the cement, beautiful – because it doesn’t know it’s not supposed to grow there.
Shane Koyczan
from Instructions for a Bad Day

a-z

I don’t remember where I encountered this quote but it really stuck with me.  I think I’m the typical person who tends to see weeds as something undesirable.  I curse at them in my garden and interloping onto my lawn.

This quote however, casts weeds into a different light and gives them the qualities of resilience and tenacity which we prize in ourselves and applaud in others.

Google Image

Google Image

So today my message is a very simple one.  Embrace your inner weed – for not only are they tough little survivers, but nature provided them with a beauty of their own.

 

 

 

 

http://www.a-to-zchallenge.com/

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge - 2014, Attitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to W = Weeds

  1. A great piece of wisdom and as we await spring I long to see the weeds bloom!

    Like

  2. archecotech says:

    Embrace the “weed”, great. Love it. Just be careful cause little weeds grow like puppies. Cute when they are little, but change as they grow. I guess beauty is in the eye of the beholder, right? The apple of my eye, is beautiful with rose colored glasses on. Take them off and it’s a whole new perspective.

    Like

  3. It’s a great quote and also shows that the adaptable shall inherit the earth.

    Like

  4. nancytex2013 says:

    Love the sentiment, Joanne!

    Like

  5. Kathe W. says:

    that is NOT a weed- that is a lobelia….self seeds quite easily!
    http://www.gardening.cornell.edu/homegardening/scene3417.html

    Like

  6. M-R says:

    Lovely, Joanne … even though I’ve never seen a weed around here anywhere NEAR as pretty as that one. Still a terrific concept.

    Like

  7. sueslaght says:

    Perhaps the inner weed is one’s determination. I like the analogy.

    Like

  8. Beautiful post and one of my favourite quotes too! I try my best to embrace my inner weed 🙂 xx

    Like

  9. Love it! I’m going to embrace my inner weed! Thanks Joanne!

    Like

  10. Weeds certainly never give up! And they can be found in places you would think nothing could grow. Great blog post!

    Like

Leave a Reply

