Please Don’t Shoot At Us

This week’s sunny skies and warmer temperatures enticed us back onto the trail to continue our trek across the Oak Ridges Moraine.  It was a real pleasure to be hiking without the heavy layers of winter clothing and snowshoes strapped to our backpacks.

When we started this journey during the winter, we hiked the trails close to home to minimize our driving.  This week we ventured out to the western terminus of the trail where it intersects the Bruce Trail.  It was very odd to be back at a point we had hiked through last winter heading north.

DSC04834

Bruce Trail – 900 km North / South          Oak Ridges Moraine – 280 km East / West

DSC04817-F

There is still a lot of evidence of tree carnage from the harsh winter. We needed to navigate many downed trees and branches.

DSC04823-F

Water levels in the marsh areas are very high. Thankfully we encountered no flooded areas this week and minimal mud patches.

DSC04831-F

The most disturbing sign of the day appeared to authorize shooting of recreational users of the trail.

DSC04829-F

Maybe hiking is more of an extreme sport than I originally thought.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Please Don’t Shoot At Us

  1. WOW! That’s an eye-opening juxtaposition of signage! Reminds me of my honeymoon with #2. We spent a week up in Pike Bay – the first week of November – aka Deer Hunting season. So much for our plans to hike locally. Fortunately, Bruce trail was very close by.
    When hubby and I were up mineral collecting near Belfountain a couple weeks ago, I found the storm damage to the trees very distressing because it was so widespread and so severe.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I agree – all the storm damage is really quite shocking … in spite of a lot of cleanup already done. Hopefully we won’t have another winter like that one for a very, very long time.

      Like

  2. Extreme hiking because of hunters – not a comforting concept! It’s a great sign – the little stick figure with the gun looks like he’s shooting at the other figures!!

    Like

  3. I like the photos, I must say. So much water. You live far north?

    Like

  4. Kathe W. says:

    lordy! I think hiking might be up graded to running ….for your life! It’s nice to get out in the sunshine isn’t it! Cheers!

    Like

  5. M-R says:

    We’re having issues with hunting down here, too, Joanne. I like that phrase about ‘permitted within provincial regulations’ – how many of the dickheads with guns have the faintest idea of what those are ?! I will never, ever understand what makes anyone want to go out with a weapon and kill a living creature – even if it isn’t your poor bloody hikers …

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Personally – I don’t get it either. The older I get, the more animal-friendly I become. My biggest thrill when we are hiking is to see a deer – and we did on this trip.
      This was actually the first time I’ve seen a hunting permitted sign. Usually it’s the opposite. I can’t imagine why anyone would think it’s a good idea to allow hunting in an area designated for outdoor recreation activities.

      Like

      • M-R says:

        Probably for the same reason as here: the State govt needed some more votes in the lower house to get something through, so they told the Hunters and Shooters Party ( ! ) they’d swap ’em the right to shoot in some designated forest areas … 😦

        Like

  6. Be careful out there! Back to the treadmill?

    Like

  7. JennyO says:

    YIKES!! lol like the Archery sign I pass on the running trails :O lol

    Like

  8. nancytex2013 says:

    Jeez. Texas called. It wants its sign back. :/)

    Like

  9. sueslaght says:

    That would be vest…

    Like

  10. sueslaght says:

    Good grief! Perhaps a bullet proof best will become mandatory hiking gear!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      My hiking partner always used to make fun of me and the bright colours I insist on wearing. I said I didn’t want anyone to mistake me for wildlife. I feel vindicated! 🙂

      Like

  11. Haha blimey, that’s a bit disconcerting! Florescent clothing may be the way forward me thinks! xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

