Destination: Hawaii

Today’s post was inspired by Uncle Spike’s 1980s adventures in Hawaii.  I found myself musing about my own long-time desire to visit the paradise islands.

My dream to visit Hawaii started with the 1980s TV show Magnum PI.

magnum_pi

While there is no question that Tom Selleck was a major draw, the helicopter scenes had a lasting impression.  There wasn’t an episode that didn’t include spectacular aerial views from TC’s helicopter as he trekked around the islands to rescue Magnum from his latest crisis.

magnum mania

 

In a perfect world, I wanted to experience my first helicopter ride in Hawaii.  Sometimes things work out just the way we hoped.

Like most of our travels, our Hawaii adventure was the result of a race – the World Ironman Triathlon Championship in Kona to be exact.   After 12 years of chasing a Kona spot, Husband finally scored his opportunity to be in this iconic race in 2012  – and we were finally Hawaii bound. Obviously a vacation wrapped around this race was going to be required.

We decided to limit our exploration to the Big Island since there was so much to do and limited time to cram it all in.  Although the price tag for a helicopter tour of the Big Island made us both blink uncomfortably, we knew that it was likely going to be the only chance we ever got.  I was not going to miss the opportunity to fulfill this dream.

DSC01300-F  DSC01326-F

I had hoped to see lava flowing into the ocean from one of the many active volcanos, but unfortunately it was not to be on this trip.  The lava flowed before we arrived and resumed after we left, but there were no volcanic eruptions during the 3 weeks we were there.   In spite of that minor disappointment, the helicopter ride provided us with a view of active lava pits, breathtaking landscape and dozens of waterfalls.

DSC01373-F  DSC01365-F

There were no regrets on this trip!  Hawaii really is a paradise.

DSC01645-F

 

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Destination: Hawaii

  1. joannesisco says:

    I really hope you get a chance to replace those unpleasant memories with happy ones. I can understand how it might not inspire you to pack up enthusiastically and go.

    Like

  2. Unfortunately, the only time I spent in Hawaii was a miserable time in my life so my memories are not pleasant ones. My wife is urging me to go back with her as she experienced her first helicopter flight there, too. She says every one in her family got sick from the ride except her. I might pass on the helicopter flight but we will make it back one day.

    Like

  3. Fancy wishing for a volcanic eruption! You could have got more than you bargained for! Sounds like you have a fantastic time despite your “disappointment.” 😕

    Like

  4. Wow, somewhere else I’d love to visit…I wouldn’t mind a cocktail on the beach with Mr. Selleck too 😉 xx

    Like

  5. Uncle Spike says:

    Love it…. nice post 🙂
    I have a few more to do, hopefully one a week if I can grab some time. Gotta be down now you’ve inspired me too !

    Like

  6. sueslaght says:

    Such a fabulous vacation spot and congrats to your Hubby. What an accomplishment.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Sue – I’m pretty sure he would rank the experience in his Top 5. I’m assuming he would generously put me and the boys in the top 3 but that’s not a given 😉

      Like

  7. M-R says:

    I doubt there’s an episode of “Magnum PI” that I missed; and it was for Tom. I’ve followed his career since, and am pleased to see him letting himself age. But all that apart, Hawaii is somewhere I’ll never get to, so was most interested in your pic.s, Joanne. How did you husband do in the IronMan race ?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It wasn’t the best race Gilles ever had – from a time perspective – but I’ve never seen him happier. He had the time of his life – I was amused just watching him 🙂

      Like

  8. Excellent 🙂 I’ve always wanted to go to Hawaii, also for the volcanoes, of course (I was a geology student many moons ago).

    Tom Selleck… urgh, hairy chest… 2xUrgh moustache… (my Dad had one, so that version of facial hair exerts ZERO sex appeal over me *shudder*)

    Like

  9. nancytex2013 says:

    I’m a big fan of Hawaii too!

    Like

  10. Looks perfect – one of the places I have on my list so thanks for the preview!

    Like

Leave a Reply

