Feeling Proud

I’ve been trying to write this post since Mother’s Day almost 2 weeks ago.  I kept abandoning it because it felt too braggy – but I’ve decided my thoughts just need expressing!

On Mother’s Day I ran in the Sporting Life 10k Run in Toronto – no big whoop, I’ve done it several times before.  What made it very different this time were my two sons running in the race with me.  My husband was on his bike on the race course to cheer us to the finish line – taking a much needed rest day from his Ironman training.

Don’t get me wrong – we didn’t actually run TOGETHER, in fact Son #1 had crossed the finish line before my wave had even started.  What made this race significant was that it was the first time Sons and I were all racing and Husband was spectating – it’s always been the other way around.

DSC04854-F

What made this race significant is the evidence of learned behaviour.  I remember Son #1 as a seven-year-old explaining his poor mark in physical education by saying ‘Mommy, I don’t like to sweat’.  Over the years, he’s been out watching our races and cheering us on.  I’m convinced that the desire to race is contagious, because now he is a very active young man.  He’s training for his first half marathon this fall, the 600km Toronto to Montreal Bike Rally in July, and a triathlon in August.

What made this race significant is Son #2 who was running again for the first time since a snowboarding accident 3 years ago when he broke his hip, and then subsequently broke his heel when he fell on crutches.  Before the accident, he had already run his first half marathon, but it was doubtful afterwards he would be able to run again …. but he has made a comeback.  Our quiet, soft-spoken son – who is often overwhelmed in our loud, Type A family – is mentally one of the toughest people I’ve ever met.  In spite of his solitary tendencies, he has inspired a few friends who have turned to him for training guidance.  They are now training as a team for a Tough Mudder race in August – a 10 mile obstacle course.

I look at my family with deep pride.  We like each other.  We enjoy each other’s company.  As parents we often suffer a lot of angst worrying about whether we are doing the right things.  Our kids don’t come with owner manuals.  We make mistakes.  Sometimes we don’t even know we are making mistakes – we can only hope that in the jumble of trying to survive the day-to-day grind, our kids pick up all the positive stuff and forgive us for the mis-steps.

I’m feeling all braggy because every once in a while I look at my sons – like I did on Mother’s Day – and realize that I did ok.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Attitude, Family and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to Feeling Proud

  1. Pingback: Riding For People With AIDS | My Life Lived Full

  2. Pingback: monthly challenges recap: May edition | my year[s] of sweat!

  3. You have every right to brag! We spend so much time as parents worrying about what we might be doing wrong, it’s nice occasionally to sit back and take a little credit for what we did right. 🙂

    Like

  4. Woolly Muses says:

    …and isn’t it a nice feeling…? No hand book, no right or wrong, some despair, and before you know it young adults appear. Yeah! it’s a nice feeling. I arrived home from the football last night to hear that I had been I invited out to bowling by our boys. It was a nice feeling. But must confess we have never participated in any sport like you and your family have. Congrats.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Anytime with our boys is good family time. Last night we celebrated #2’s birthday together in our usual rowdy fashion… it just keeps getting better and better 🙂

      Like

  5. What a great and great-looking family you have! Why shouldn’t you brag? Isn’t that what Mum’s are meant to do?

    Like

  6. This is a great post. No matter how shy or humble you are – I think everyone should be proud of their children if you know you have done your very best. Nobody is perfect, and doing “the right thing” I hope every parent wants to… and tries to. I’m very proud of my children too. And I have forgiven my own parents what I might have felt became wrong – because I know they meant the very best for me. We are only humans. Love is everything.

    Like

  7. Brag away! I’m always so impressed by people who do things like that, especially as a family. People don’t realize what hard work that is. Months of training and building up stamina.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      You are so right – it takes a lot of consistency in training over an extended period of time … especially in my case after having foot surgery in November and my son after his hip injury. It was a year and half before he no longer walked with a pronounced limp.
      I suspect most people don’t know what they are capable of doing because they never test the limits!

      Like

  8. Joanne how wonderful and so you should be proud of your family and the achievements each is making and sharing is good. The world needs positive stories, full of love and hope and achievement and I think we don’t tell each other often enough how much we love each other – I’m sure your sons will treasure this post (even if outwardly they are embarrassed ) – it lets them know how proud you are of them both. You and your husband certainly did do ok. XD

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Irene for your kind words. Boys don’t often share their feelings but our mutual pride was so evident that day. We had fun and everyone was in a bright and cheerful mood. These are days to treasure!!

      Like

  9. M-R says:

    Oh, Joanne – what absolute JOY ! I live for posts like this that tell of families wherein each member loves and is loved. What pride you must feel, and what fundamental contentment.
    It’s obvious that you and your husband deserve it – not to mention those two large hulks there, the good-looking blokes that they are !, who helped everything along.
    NEVER think posts like this are bragging: they’re simply sharing your happiness !

    Like

  10. Uncle Spike says:

    And damned proud you should be! Lovely post, and no, pride is not bragging 😀

    Like

  11. sinewavelife says:

    Great inspiring post! You have a beautiful family. Congratulations!

    Like

  12. We at the Temple think this is pretty awesome and definitely brag worthy 🙂

    Like

  13. You definitely have bragging rights here Joanne! What an inspirational family story – thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

  14. Terrific post, Joanna. As someone with two sons in the middle of the daily grind struggles of teenage hood I often wonder if I will ever get to the stage you describe. I worry if it will be OK and I’m doing the right thing as a parent. Perhaps it’s a wood for the trees issue. Your boys sound wonderful. Well done on the race too. It’s a pretty big whoop if you ask me 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks for the big whoop 🙂

      I don’t ever recall anyone telling me how hard it is to be a parent. We enter into it with wild-eyed optimism of our version of ‘perfect’ … then reality sets in. After a while, I simply hoped I wasn’t screwing them up too badly :/
      You too will look back one day and breathe a great sigh of relief when you realize they turned out to be wonderful men 🙂

      Like

  15. Mike says:

    You deserve all the goodness. It’s payback for a life well lived.

    Like

  16. Your proud of your family? *I’M* proud of your family. Just look at those smiles! What a great post! I think all of your achievements (sporting and family-wise) are indeed “big whoop”!

    Like

  17. Megz says:

    Sometimes (such as now) it is well deserved to be a bit braggy. It sounds like it was such an awesome family experience!

    Like

  18. nancytex2013 says:

    I just loved reading this! There was absolutely nothing braggy about it; it was fully heartwarming, Joanne! xoxo

    Like

  19. Jordan Simard says:

    What a nice post 🙂

    >

    Like

  20. Lynn says:

    How wonderful Joanne! I call them Mommie Moments. Those little moments when you look at your grown children & feel such love & pride for the amazing people that they have become. To love your children is one thing, to really like them is quite another! I, too, am a mom who really likes who my kids have become. To feel that I somehow had a hand in who they are brings such joy to my heart:)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Lynn – it is wonderful to genuinely like your adult children. It is such a different relationship and I’m so grateful 🙂
      I’m thrilled you feel the same way about yours too!!

      Like

  21. I agree with Sue, you have every right to be proud of your family. I love the picture and the post xx

    Like

  22. sueslaght says:

    What a great post! I think as parents we are often shy to say ‘ Look at my good work from the past twenty years! Aren’t these young adults amazing?’
    A wonderful family you have and definitely being proud is nothing to be ashamed of.

    Like

Leave a Reply

