DP Challenge – Room for Nostalgia

This week’s DP Photo Challenge by Ben Huberman is Room, Rooms, or a Room.

This was our family home for three generations.  Predeceased by my father, my mother had moved into a senior’s apartment.  The house was now empty and I was leaving it for the last time – trying to soak up the memories and emotions of my years here.

The house was demolished shortly afterwards.

DSC02711-F

 

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/dp_photo_challenge/room/

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

45 Responses to DP Challenge – Room for Nostalgia

  1. It is a sad time for all when the family home is sold and I imagine worse when it is actually being demolished. Luckily the memories will stay with you.

    Like

  2. NancyTex says:

    This can’t have been easy. I dread having to do this in the coming years, as I know I will.

    Like

  3. davecenker says:

    I sometimes wonder whether it is better to be able to return to a house that has such meaning for one last time and see it empty. Or, if it is better to remember it with the bustle of love and activity that it held in its younger years.

    Although not my own residence, I remember not having the opportunity to revisit my grandparents’ house before it was prematurely vacated. I have moments where I wish I could have gone back, and other moments where I am happy that the memories I hold are preserved forever, untainted from the emptiness inside the house.

    This is a short, yet very thought-provoking post. Thank you for sharing Joanne.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Dave. I guess I like closure and I’d feel a bit cast adrift if I hadn’t been there for the final move and cleanup.
      Being able to walk through the empty house gave me a chance to let it go emotionally.
      My only regret is not taking more pictures. I took a few but in hindsight I wish I had taken more. The photos help me keep the memories fresh 🙂

      Like

  4. Lynn says:

    It must be sad to see your childhood home demolished, they hold such memories for us, especially if we spent many years in the same one. Mine is still standing proud on a lovely old street & to this day, every now & again, I take a drive by.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      One day you should stop in and talk to the current owners. If they are really nice, they will ask you if you’d like to visit the house.

      I had that happen to me last summer when the original owner of our house stopped by. It was so nice to meet her and exchange stories.

      Like

  5. It is sad to say goodbye to childhood homes and the place they held in our hearts – must be odd seeing a new home on its lot. Looks like it had loads of character.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s funny you should say that. I always thought the house was rather bland and the people who occupied it were quirky.
      I hadn’t looked at this photo in a few years. This time I saw it very differently … that hallway is quirky. I’ve always rather liked the hallway, maybe that’s why 🙂

      Like

  6. sueslaght says:

    It can be hard to say goodbye. I hope the memories of many good times stuck closely in your heart.

    Like

  7. M-R says:

    It must’ve been difficult for you, Joanne … a wonderful thing to do, to mark its farewell thus.

    Like

  8. I feel for you – changes like that are disturbing. How has your mother adjusted to her new home? Hugsxx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Hi MM! It’s good to see you again!

      This picture was actually taken 8 years ago. My mom was quite happy in her apartment without the stairs and all the maintenance of a house to worry about.
      She passed away in 2010 at the age of 86.

      My oldest brother owns the property now and rebuilt a new house on it.

      Like

  9. Both my mother’s and my own childhood homes have been demolished and replaced by enormous modern houses. I found it disconcerting; like losing a part of my past. It’s wonderful that you have photos of the house.

    Like

  10. That must have so hard for you knowing what would happen.

    Like

  11. Helen C says:

    why would someone demolish such a nice house?

    Like

  12. This makes me feel sad and nostalgic. My parents (after much too-ing and fro-ing) are finally emigrating next weekend and our family home has just been sold. It’s odd how attached we get to a pile of bricks xxx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Where are they emigrating to? That sounds even more alarming than the family home being sold 😦

      Like

      • To Malta and my brother, sister in law and nephew will likely be following at a later date. There’ll be no one left here! 😦 xx

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          that is so sad!
          I don’t have family nearby and I really envy those who can pop in to see a sister/mother/etc just to chat, have a coffee etc. My relationship with my family has been via phone for over 30 years.
          I guess we tend to want what we don’t have …

          Like

          • To be honest, I’ve never really had the relationship I would’ve liked with my Mum. I love her dearly and would have loved to have formed an adult friendship with her (go shopping, for coffee etc) but she never wanted to (there’s a long story behind this!)

            My Gran was my biggest influence growing up and I’ve always been extremely close to her but recently she’s found a gentleman friend and has moved away too.

            She plans to sell her house shortly as well. This is the one I’m most gutted about as all my happy childhood memories were made in that house.

            But we can’t hold on to buildings I suppose. I think it’ll take me a while to get used to having no family around me though xx

            Like

Leave a Reply

