Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Things with Edges

This week’s photo challenge of things with edges made me think of … well, my tag line ‘living on the edge’.

I’ve literally been “on the edge” with my family and 2 of our ‘adopted sons’ doing the CN Tower Edge Walk at 1,168 ft above street level in Toronto.

edge walk 3

On the edge of the escarpment, hiking The Bruce Trail.

DSC03674-F

… and navigating numerous staircases and ladders up and down the edge of the escarpment.

DSC03347

DSC02185-F

For more Things with Edges go to:

cees-fun-foto

… at http://ceenphotography.com/2014/06/10/cees-fun-foto-challenge-things-with-edges/

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

64 Responses to Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Things with Edges

  1. What, are you crazy? I’m not going to “like” this post because that would only lead you to believe I condone such activity. I do not! And if you ever fall from such heights, don’t come crying to me!

    Like

  2. Cee Neuner says:

    Congratulations! I have featured and gave you an honorable mention as well a gutsy acknowledgment on your post on Cee’s Fun Foto challenge.
    http://ceenphotography.com/2014/06/17/cees-fun-foto-challenge-crooked-and-squiggly-lines/

    Like

  3. I have butterflies in my stomach just looking at your edge photos particularly the first one. I guess it was a great experience but I’m glad it was you, not me. XD

    Like

  4. My godfathers, you are a brave woman, Joanne. I shall have to live vicariously through some of your outstanding achievements and wait with baited breath to hope you make it through them safely. Cheers to your spirit of adventure!

    Like

  5. kanzensakura says:

    I’m glad you are brave enough to do that! Heights and I don’t get along well. I do like the header of your blog with the hydrangeas! Thank you for following my blog.

    Like

  6. UGH! Why are all these pictures making me dizzy? They’re such HIGH things! Ohhh.. Seriously though….lovely and perfect for the challenge! (p.s. Am not sure why Follow is not selected, but am reselecting it now! I am still learning on here! Thought surely I had followed you before…I know I’ve been on your site quite a few times!)

    Like

  7. Woolly Muses says:

    Joanne, I will never forget the view form the top of the CN Tower, it was a wonderful experience. I don’t think there was the opportunity to live on the edge, as you did, back then. But I think I could do it…even now. A great shot

    Like

  8. That first caused a quick intake of breath! You’re too much!

    Like

  9. Leya says:

    Great shotrs and nice perspectives!

    Like

  10. All the pictures are fantastic but I love the Cn Tower one! You are brave – well done!

    Like

  11. NancyTex says:

    The CN Tower walk looks amazing. And I still need to check out parts of the Bruce Trail. One of these days I need to pick your brain on what the best/most challenging bits were – and make the time to tackle some of those.

    Like

  12. Lynn says:

    Love your mix of Living on the Edge Joanne. I have climbed the CN Tower but have yet to do the lean out over the edge!

    Like

  13. jannatwrites says:

    I almost broke into a sweat looking at the first photo – even with all those cables there’s absolutely no way I could do that! I love the spiral staircase photo 🙂

    Like

  14. tgeriatrix says:

    Great thinking!

    Like

  15. You are my idol, Joanne. Living on the edge for me is a one hour hike on flat terrain vs a half hour. I shall live vicariously through these photos, OK?

    The winter shot: where was that taken?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      We each have our own version of ‘living on the edge’ don’t we? 🙂

      The winter shot was taken at a spot called The Devil’s Pulpit near the Forks of the Credit and the Hoffman Lime Kiln Ruins. I read a description of this section of trail on Ontario Trails website which ranked its difficulty as a 2 out of 5. I laughed out loud. Obviously they had never done it in winter when the steps were sheer ice!!! It was easily one of the most difficult descends we made on the entire escarpment!

      Like

      • I KNEW it! I’ve climbed that trail in exact same conditions. Climbed is not the right word for it. But since this is a family show, I’ll let you use your imagination.

        That kiln is quite the sight though. Very medieval feeling.

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I can’t imagine trying to go up in those conditions. At least going down we had gravity to assist us … although our prime objective was to slow down the speed that gravity wanted us to take 🙂

          Like

          • I went up and refused to come down. Which, as you know, is an untenable position to maintain. So, we followed a deer trail wading through snow up to our knees. Which was actually far more pleasant as each step had built-in braking power. Yeah, good old gravity. It can be my friend, except on descent. 🙂

            Like

  16. macmsue says:

    The photos make me think you enjoy “living on the edge”. Perfect photos for the theme.

    Like

  17. M-R says:

    Sighh … The Adrenalin Kids. [grin]

    Like

  18. bulldog says:

    That first photo looks a touch “over the edge” more than “on the edge” but I love your photos of the edge… the first sets a tingle off in my legs…

    Like

  19. You see so much more living on the edge! Maybe the air is a bit clearer out here. 🙂

    Like

  20. sueslaght says:

    I am SO envious. I would love to do the CN Tower walk! How was it?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s a must-do! Maybe for a rock climber it would be a different experience, but for each of us it was a serious adrenaline rush.

      The weather you have on that day also affects the experience. We had a crystal clear day with such great visibility we could see the mist coming off Niagara Falls. I never believed people who said it was possible.

      Our timing was also special because there was a Jays’ game that afternoon and the Skydome was open. To catch a bit of the game from up there and hear the roar of the crowd was pretty awesome!!

      Like

      • sueslaght says:

        Oh rock climber or not Joanne that would be a massive adrenalin rush. Your description reads like an advertisement for the adventure. They should likely hire you. 🙂 It sounds amazing. How far away is Niagara Falls?

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I googled it to find out the distance ‘as the crow flies’ and I’m not sure how accurate this is but apparently it’s about 75km in a straight line. By car it’s about 165 km because you have to go around the lake.
          We were lucky to go up in the spring on a cool clear day when smog and humidity weren’t a factor. In the summer time in the heat and humidity, visibility can be very poor.

          Like

  21. ChristineR says:

    Fits the bill – on the edge – for sure! 🙂 Great photos of great fun.

    Like

  22. Cee Neuner says:

    Oh how very fun is that. I bet you had a fun time up there!!! 🙂 🙂

    Like

  23. Absolutely not in this lifetime – but I will cheer you on. Wow!

    Like

Leave a Reply

