1 Day 1 World Project: 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm

Canadians love to talk about the weather.  We complain when it’s cold.  We complain when it’s hot, but the world is a wonderful place when Mother Nature delivers a perfect day.  It seems appropriate then that I should make my first post to the 1 day 1 World project about the weather.

At 6 pm tonight, southern Ontario was under a severe weather watch due to a storm system moving up from the US.  This storm included several reported tornados outside of the Toronto area earlier in the day.   Significant property damage and power outages were reported and four golfers were struck by lightning.

Once upon a time, this type of storm warning would have been considered very unusual, but over the past few years severe weather seems to be getting more common.

DSC05008

It wasn’t long before the rain started.  It came down hard, whipped up by the winds, while the thunder rumbled and rolled almost non-stop.  The lights flickered several times but thankfully the power stayed on.  The gusting winds had me worried that the gazebo cover would be torn away.

DSC05024-F

Through all of this, I was alone wondering where Husband had stopped to wait out the storm.  He had left for a run about 30 minutes earlier and I assumed he had found a safe and dry place to wait out the pouring rain and heavy winds.  I was wrong.  He kept on running and arrived home in the middle of the storm simply soaked.

DSC05026-F

This was my world today at 6 pm.  For more information on the 1 Day 1 World Project, visit here.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature, Random Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to 1 Day 1 World Project: 6:00 pm – 7:00 pm

  1. we’ve got some of those crazy dedicated fitness buffs out here too … 😀

    Like

  2. Glad your husband returned unharmed…
    I’d worry about keeping electronics turned on and in my ears during rain…
    I believe this has been the cause of serious shocks when the devise shorts out when wet…
    Worth looking into 😉

    Like

  3. Blimey that looks pretty bad! Your hubby must be brave to run in that! xx

    Like

  4. Read this yesterday. Was sure I’d commented but I don’t see it. I must be losing my mind. Getting a bit stressed. Not helped by Verizon cutting off our internet service 2 weeks early. Anyhoo . . . . got it back now. I’ll bet your were glad to see your soggy hubby return. Impressive dedication!

    Like

  5. Maybe he had the music up so loud and he was sweating so much from the run he didn’t know there was a storm raging.

    Like

  6. jannatwrites says:

    That’s some crazy weather! I love rain, but not so much when it involves tornado possibilities. Glad your husband returned home safe.

    Like

  7. NancyTex says:

    The crazy rain hit my area right around noon, with rain coming down in sheets. When I drove about 3 miles north to get my hair done at 1:15 they said they hadn’t seen a drop yet. So weird and isolated. Then I hit the gym at 6pm — it’s about 3 miles east of me and just a 1/2 mile north – and it started coming down HARD. Power went out and back-up generator kicked in with limited lighting. By the time we drove back to my place it was just drizzling. Crazy, crazy weather, Joanne.

    As a sidenote, I’m delighted to see you’re adding to Lisa’s 1D1WP. I adore Lisa/NWFrameofMind!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Nancy. As terrible as the storm was, it could have been so much worse. I hope the one guy still in critical condition after being struck by lightning pulls through ok.

      I’m a new follower of Lisa’s and I think her 1D1W project is very creative. I’m really looking forward to participating in its development 🙂

      Like

      • NancyTex says:

        I thought about participating – but I’m already concerned about my blog straying too far away from its original themes/content. Come to think of it, my 6pm hour was at the gym during that crazy storm, so I guess that would have made for a relevant post for both 1D1WP and my usual stuff. Oh well!

        Like

  8. My goodness…..what an eventful post for just talking about the weather! Am not sure about that husband of yours though….hmmmm, seems like a bit of “man” mentality going on there that you need to speak to him about, but am glad he made it back safely !

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL! I have to admit that I too have run or cycled through my share of bad weather, but nothing quite as dramatic as yesterday.
      In his defense, he is normally very good about checking the radar if the weather looks iffy. Yesterday appears to have been a brain fart 🙂

      Like

  9. Megz says:

    We got that storm about a half hour after falling asleep (we knew it was coming) The lovely part was since it was ungodly hot we had all the windows open (again knowing the storm was coming) so once it got here we ran around the house in the dark shutting all the windows. The cat must think we are crazy…

    Like

  10. When I went outside late in the afternoon I was surprised by the small tree branches and leaves that were on the ground. I must have been deep in blog-world – totally missed the gusts of wind.

    We do love our weather… and complaints. Happy Hump Day, Joanne!

    Like

  11. He should have taken his shower gel along!

    Like

  12. Wow, what an evening! I’m glad you and Husband are safe and sound, no tornadoes or lightning strikes. Thanks for sharing your 6:00 view and joining us in the 1D1W project. 🙂

    Like

  13. Helen C says:

    The storm was here last night. ;-( I am glad your husband is OK. Take care.

    Like

  14. Glad he got home safely – that was a real tempest not to mention the lightning! Yes listen to us – we do like to talk weather!

    Like

  15. Lynn says:

    Glad to see Husband made it back unscathed by the weather. We chose not to go for our ride tonight, tornados & bikes might turn us into a scene like the wicked witch of the west in The Wizard of Oz!

    Like

  16. M-R says:

    I see that Sue Slaight has already been here … might’ve known. 😉
    Joanne, all of you Canadians are totally mad, OK ? But if you can live with it, I can too. [grin]

    Like

  17. sueslaght says:

    Oh husband is very dedicated to the training. Not so sure a good idea with tornado warnings and such….Just saying 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

