Regrettable Decisions

It seems that I did something recently that I’m likely going to regret for a long time.

Husband is a super geeky science and gadget kind of guy.  Our bookshelves are lined with endless books on weather, infectious diseases, cancers, DNA research, astronomy … you get the point. Add to that, a love for technology.  It’s like candy to a child.

His recent obsession has been the GoPro Camera.  It is a wide lens video recorder that is used by enthusiasts in many sports because of its small size and portability.  With a wide range of accessories, such as head gear, chest harnesses, bike mounts etc, the GoPro can go virtually anywhere.  Did I mention it also comes in a waterproof case?

I thought that it would make an excellent birthday/Father’s Day gift and I was correct.  The boys and I earned major brownie points when we gave it to him two weeks ago!  … and that seems to have been the mistake.

It is Friday afternoon.  A beautiful day relaxing in the backyard, with a martini in hand, happily munching on mini carrots and hummus.  Wait a minute!!

I finally noticed something was *wrong* with my perfect world.  Is that a camera mounted on the corner of the gazebo?  FILMING WHILE I’M CHEWING ABSENTLY ON RAW CARROTS?!!!!!

DSC05037 DSC05039

Stealth surveillance … even for experimental purposes …. needs to STOP.  Must discuss new rules with Husband.

Seriously … sometimes I feel like I’m living with Sheldon Cooper.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

56 Responses to Regrettable Decisions

  1. Hahahaha, oh dear 😀 Living with Sheldon Cooper, well well, you must know a lot abot science and patience then, I suppose!

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    That would’ve been a great time to make a fake call to an imaginary boyfriend, or to do something really gross that he wouldn’t want to see 🙂 Yes, I think rules are a good thing!

    Like

  3. paranoiasnfm says:

    I use my GoPro with stealth, but no in this case. It’s a nice machine, but to to do interesting photos and videos… not to put filming inside… but, could be a nice tool to surveillance. 🙂

    Like

  4. Oh God, I’m laughing so much at this! Sorry Jo 😀 I have a spy camera and when I first got it I was intent on seeing as much as I could with it…then I ended up seeing things that I seriously wished I could un-see lol xx

    Like

  5. I want one but some rules are definitely needed by the sound of it.

    Like

  6. Phil Taylor says:

    I have a friend just like your hubby. Always has something interesting to say about something. I love the idea of the Go Pro and I want one to wear on my head at concerts.

    Like

  7. ponymartini says:

    I feel your pain; I can picture my husband doing something like this. At least you weren’t doing anything too embarrassing like bending over or sleeping with your mouth open.

    Like

  8. stvrsnbrgr says:

    So I suppose you’ll rethink your idea of giving him a drone for xmas?

    Like

  9. PF has also adopted a GoPro. I feel your pain, girl. The boys take ours out for walks, or rather jumps – off rocks into water. They then spend hours on my computer editing the bloody thing and make me watch it over and over again. Sigh. Pass the Martini, girl.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It appears I might need to keep the liquour cabinet well stocked. The foreseeable future looks …. challenging. He was actually somewhat miffed the other day because I didn’t want to go to the beach with him … in the rain … to record him swimming. Life would be so dull without him!

      Like

  10. NancyTex says:

    I was just telling Ed last week that I need a GoPro for my hiking. I’m thinking my Grand Canyon video would have had a lot less “shale” and a lot more canyon if I had that puppy clipped to my pack. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      it is really a gadget geek’s delight. Personally I would love to have one on the dashboard of my car as evidence to all the bizarre driving behaviour I see on the roads. I suspect Gilles doesn’t believe half the stuff I tell him!

      Like

  11. You know how lately your posts and mine intersect at some common ground? Well, I was reading along, anticipating what that might be, enjoying the fun (I can imagine the “what the…? moment when you saw the camera) and there it was! The last sentence! I have been known to quip “I am married to Sheldon Cooper.”

    !!

    Not so much for the geek in my hubby, but for the “asperger-ish” traits.

    Like

  12. funny, i think we would all act differently if we knew we were on camera. Does this mean your hair has to be perfect and lippy applied all the time just in case??

    Like

  13. Oh, there is more than one way to deliver the new rules…..you say he’s into medical/research/biology topics and things like that? Perhaps you can find a way to deliver the message in a language he will understand….humourously of course….i.e. you’re a writer….write him up the new “findings” in a new field called “Stealth Surveillance Protocols” or “Privacy Violations on the Domestic Scene”….. wouldn’t take long I’m sure and then it would be in writing forever after (and for any future issues with offspring of said spy….

    Like

  14. LOLOL! First good laugh of the day 😉

    BTW, I tried to date one of the Sheldon Cooper gang once… it didn’t go well:

    http://ladyofthecakes.wordpress.com/2013/09/09/the-big-bang-theory-of-dating/

    Like

  15. bulldog says:

    Joanne, now what you need to do, is something he would least expect and let him catch it on camera… I can think of a few things but will not list them here… let him have his fun … after-all you did buy the camera.!!!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I made him laugh out loud when he saw the recording with me getting up to take a picture of his camera.
      I know that this is the *honeymoon stage* of experimentation with a new toy.

      Like

  16. ChristineR says:

    What a brilliant space age looking mounting gizmo! So sneaky.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thankfully that’s not actually how his mind works. He was simply playing with his new toy and didn’t think it was unreasonable to be recording while I was oblivious. 🙂

      Like

  17. My husband and son really want one of these but I’m afraid… now I know it will be trouble. 😉

    Like

  18. After your posting a couple of weeks back about his run in the storm I see why it needed to be waterproof!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL! I know how his mind works. I’m pretty sure the next ‘experiment’ is going to be finding a way to anchor the camera to the bottom of the pool so he can see how his swim stroke looks 🙂

      Like

  19. NotAPunkRocker says:

    Better carrots than cake, right? Or maybe not. He sounds like a sweet-hearted science geek 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Unfortunately the cake scenario would have been a high probability!!
      Most of the time his antics leave me laughing … if only to myself. LIke the time (not that long ago) he spent an entire afternoon with son #1 and a gadget that calculated the amount of electricity a particular device used. I got periodic text messages that said things like ‘it costs a third of a penny to make toast’. Never a dull moment ….

      Like

  20. Sue Slaght says:

    Hahaha. Well if the worst thing he catches you filming is eating raw carrots then likely not so bad. Perhaps you should pretend you don’t know its there and think of something more creative. Two can play that game.

    Like

  21. M E McMahon says:

    It’s definitely time to lay down the law! Otherwise, what’s next? Videos of you sleeping in your favorite chair or worse! I’m glad my SO can’t figure out how to use a camera for the life of him as I’m safe from those “candid” shots!

    Great Post!

    Like

  22. Cee Neuner says:

    That would be a bit much for my taste. Lay down the rules! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

