1 Day 1 World Project: 8:00 pm – 9:00 pm

On July 1, 1867, Canada became a country – without revolution, violence, or public outrage against a common enemy.  We simply asked our British Motherland for permission … so very Canadian.  Admittedly, it’s a rather simplistic version of Canadian history but I think it kind of captures the spirit of the event.

Many Canadians enthusiastically mark our country’s birthday each year as the *real* beginning of summer and this year, Husband and I were supposed to celebrate Canada Day poolside with friends, relaxing with an abundance of food and drink.  Unfortunately the best of plans can get waylaid.

Instead, Husband and I quietly puttered around the house and this evening I went for a walk around my neighbourhood to enjoy the breeze and relatively cooler temperatures after another scorcher of a day.

I’m fortunate to have access to some green space close to home.  Brimley Woods may not be large compared to some parks in the city, but it is appreciated by the people like me who retreat to this small wooded area for a quiet walk.

At this time of year the sun sets after 9 pm, so it was still bright outside and the light slanting through the trees felt peaceful.  Very few people were out walking this evening.  What I hadn’t counted on were mosquitos and I was promptly bitten several times.  With thoughts of West Nile disease rattling in the back of my mind, I forged on ahead.

DSC05155-F

Walking along a nearby viaduct, I found this tree had collapsed from the December ice storm but continues to fight for life.  Other trees in the area weren’t so lucky but haven’t yet been removed by city work crews.

DSC05122-F2

Finally, what could be more Canadian on Canada Day than the maple leaf?  A small seedling carving out a space for itself along a fence line at the side of the road.

DSC05157-F

This was my world today from 8 to 9 pm.

Lisa at Northwest Frame of Mind started this 24 week project to capture a snippet of our daily life – one hour at a time each week.  You can visit her introductory post here or read about her world from 8 to 9 pm here … which includes links to other participants.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to 1 Day 1 World Project: 8:00 pm – 9:00 pm

  1. ChristineR says:

    Happy belated Canada Day, Joanne. It’s good to have wooded areas nearby, I enjoyed your photos.

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    How wonderful to have such a beautiful green space nearby, Joanne.

    Like

  3. bikerchick57 says:

    Happy belated Canada Day! What lovely woods live near you, I hope you enjoyed your day to the fullest!

    Like

  4. Pingback: Yes, I Am Jealous Of The Fourth Of July | Master of Something I'm Yet To Discover

  5. Pingback: Yes, I Am Jealous Of The Fourth Of July | Master of Something I'm Yet To Discover

  6. jannatwrites says:

    It sounds like your alternate plan worked out okay (except the mosquitoes, though!) That’s a beautiful wooded area. There isn’t much more peaceful than a walk through nature. I love maples, too – I planted a sunset maple in our yard last year and I do hope it can survive in spite of my track record with plants 🙂

    Like

  7. It looks so beautiful, I’m glad you found such a peaceful alternative xx

    Like

  8. Aw, the woods… that’s one of the things I’ve missed ever since leaving rural Southern Germany many years ago. The woods were all around us, a ten minute walk was all that was required to enjoy a patch of (relative) wilderness, solitude and that unique smell of moss and trees and “woodiness”.

    Like

  9. Happy Canada Day! Brimley Woods looks lovely. What a beautiful place to stroll on a summer’s evening (mosquitoes aside).

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve long resigned myself to the fact that there are 2 sides to everything. With summer comes insects. I just wish I wasn’t so appetizing to them. I’m the kind of person you want to have around with you outdoors because I’m a magnet for them and everyone else seems to be happily undisturbed.

      Like

  10. bulldog says:

    Sounds as though you still had a good day Joanne…

    Like

  11. Happy Canada Day, Joanne! Your walk looks beautiful, thanks so much for sharing it with us. 🙂

    Like

  12. Sue Slaght says:

    What a wonderful country we have Joanne. I love your sentence of it being so Canadian of us to ask permission. Haha. Lovely photos.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      When I was a kid, I thought being Canadian was really boring. Other countries had exciting history and we were so dull. Now as an adult, I’m so grateful for our *dullness* 🙂

      Like

  13. NancyTex says:

    We just walked back from Frenchmans Bay, where we watched the City of Pickering’s fireworks. Couldn’t believe how high the water level is. Barely any beach left in that stretch!

    Like

  14. Even reading this was soothing! Sorry your plans got waylaid, but it looks like you found a good alternative!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s it true that we can sit and mope when things don’t work out the way we planned, or we can go exploring down another path that wasn’t intended. Have a great weekend!

      Like

Leave a Reply

