Feeling Superstitious

During the A-Z Challenge in April, I wrote a post about my long time running partner Emma the iPod.

DSC04702

Shortly after I wrote that post, I broke my Garmin watch included in the photo above.  I was not emotionally attached to my Garmin, but it had accompanied me on all my runs and bike rides for the past several years.  I confess that some of Husband’s techie-geeky side has worn off on me over the years and I simply could not run without my techie watch.  It was finally replaced just a few weeks ago.

Disaster struck again this morning.   Emma suffered terminal battery failure.  It happened very suddenly and she didn’t suffer. I, on the other hand, am unconsolable.  I still have her plugged into life support, hoping against all hope that she can be resuscitated.

In the meantime, I can’t help but wonder …. does disaster really strike in threes?

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Feeling Superstitious

  1. Just break a plate you’re not precious about and get it over with Joanne!

    Like

  2. Woolly Muses says:

    A couple of weeks ago I washed the deck of my lawn mower and had tough it into the shed. Wet something I thought. That wet something didn’t dry out and the battery was good. I’m not a mechanic in any, way, shape or form! So today I approached my mechanic neighbour with a plea for help. He hopped over the fence, into shed and asked for a ‘heavy’ screwdriver. Then he pounded the starter motor. I remember being told to do this with an old tractor. Sooooo….maybe Emma could do with a whack with a hammer or heavy screwdriver? 🙂

    Like

    • Woolly Muses says:

      First line should read, ‘…and had to push it into the shed..’

      Like

      • joannesisco says:

        Your neighbour used the secret approach to fixing devices. There is a special way to hit it that we mere mortals don’t quite understand.
        I fear it is too late for Emma. Husband – aka Mr Science – has already taken it apart to see what it looks like on the inside. Guaranteed it will NEVER work again now.

        Like

  3. I agree, stop the whole running bit. It’s your body’s way of expensively rejecting the idea. I’m of the mindset that whenever I get the urge to run, I sit down until it passes.

    Like

  4. So sorry about your loss, Joanne. Seriously. Not only is there a gap to fill, now there is new technology to learn.
    As for the three’s thing – yeah, watch out for that. Shoes, maybe?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      After giving it some thought, I’m really hoping it’s my camera that dies. I really, really want a new camera but this little guy seems to be indestructible – I’ve dropped it so many times. It’s dented and scratched all over but keeps on ticking.
      I showed it to someone at the local camera store when I was buying the GoPro for Gilles and he couldn’t believe it still worked.
      Please make it my camera. Please. 🙂

      Like

  5. RIP Emma, she will be sadly missed xx

    Like

  6. bulldog says:

    Joanne, some advise from the Bulldog, when you feel like running make yourself a hot drink take a seat and think about anything other than running, like that new camera you want to buy or have a chocolate with your drink. Do anything to get your mind off “running for fun” as you runners all address it… its not for fun, it makes you tired, and if you stop running then all these techy things will no longer matter if they live or die…

    Like

  7. stvrsnbrgr says:

    You can get one of those wearable FitBits and download all your data post-run. I’m so glad I swim! All I have to do is remember my goggles and count laps. But there was a time in my life when I was a runner. I never got past 8 miles, but I never really wanted to. It was a great way to exercise, even in the rain. And an awesome endorphin rush.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s true that when the run is going well, it feels amazing …however when it’s not going well, it’s torture!
      I haven’t done any real swimming in 4 years. I’m starting to get the urge again to swim – it makes you feel so great afterwards. I miss that feeling.

      Like

  8. kanzensakura says:

    If you bought the items about the same time, it’s probably a natural breakdown progression. Could be the running jarring things as well. Since I just dawdle, my stuff will probably last another decade. 🙂

    Like

  9. Lynn says:

    I love that you named your iPod Emma! I am certain she would want you to love again, given the appropriate grieving period, of course:)

    Like

  10. Surely what Emma wanted most for you was to run. If, in order to continue doing that, you need someone else in your ears she would totally understand your need to move on quickly. RIP Emma, good and faithful servant.

    I’ve never really run with music in my ears. I don’t like not hearing what’s around me, plus I rather like having the time in my head. I’ve solved all sorts of problems, come up with blog post ideas and written song lyrics on my runs. 🙂

    Like

  11. treerabold says:

    This is tragic…loss and change are hard. Come on Emma….walk away from the light….you have so many more miles to live for!

    Like

  12. Oh no!! Back up your play list quickly…or is it too late?

    Like

  13. The fact that it takes all this to run cracks me up…..we should’ve known you were a closet techie too!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s really hard not to get contaminated from such close contact for an extended period of time.

      Like

      • I just got upgrade and now have a smartphone myself….6 months after husband got his. It is hard to stay in one place when you see the cool things those in close proximity can do…I thought I would be so “in” and so “trendy”….alas, whilst out with my 15-year-old today, I tried to answer the phone upside down and ended up disconnecting the caller. Am having a bit of trouble adjusting to all this “smartness” in a phone and am now an embarrassing liability I think.

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          Why do we always seem to do something embarrassing around our offspring so they can mock us indefinitely?
          I know .. rhetorical question. It’s simply the universe balancing itself from all the early years when we laughed at their antics 😉

          Like

  14. Easy solution: stop running. Ta-daaaaah!

    Like

  15. Oh no… you haven’t got any… erm… “bionic parts”, have you???

    Poor Emma… may she live on forever on icloud 9 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve grieved and am trying to move on. Bought a new iPod today.
      It didn’t work. Returned it to the store and got a new one.
      Initially it worked. I celebrated. Then it too stopped working. *sigh*
      I’m starting to feel like the human equivalent of the Bermuda Triangle where devices stop working properly.

      Like

  16. Sue Slaght says:

    Perhaps just throw the headphones out and save them from the misery 🙂

    Like

  17. NancyTex says:

    is there a third techno gadget you use for running? if so, take out some insurance on that bad boy…

    Like

Leave a Reply

