1 Day 1 World Project: 9:00 pm – 10:00 pm

I’m sneaking in under the wire on this week’s post for One Day, One World.  These evening time frames are starting to get harder since by 9 pm I’m usually winding down and looking forward to bed.

This week however seemed to provide an unusual flurry of activity.  On Sunday, a visit from my sons for dinner provided a rowdy evening of conversation and laughter.  Bikes were stacked in the front hall since three of them rode directly to our house from their long training rides. When it was time to go home, the challenge became how to fit 3 adult bikes and 4 men into a vehicle with a roof rack that accommodates only one bike.

As the sun was going down, I tried to capture the beauty of the darkening sky against the shadows.  Photo was taken around 9:30 pm.

DSC05171-F

On Tuesday, I got to visit with my newest great-nephew who is only 6 weeks old.  I squeezed in lots of squishy cuddles and inhaled that new-baby smell.   It was a wonderful visit, but the 90 minute drive home was later than I had planned.  I was rewarded with a lightning show for most of the drive, enhanced by the growing darkness.

I managed to quickly snap a picture at a red light close to home – unfortunately my timing and photography skills are lacking and I missed the beautiful flashes of lightning straight ahead of me.  This photo was taken shortly before 10 pm.

DSC05174

This was a snapshot of my week between 9 and 10 pm.

For more posts on this week’s 1 Day 1 World Project, visit Northwest Frame of Mind.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to 1 Day 1 World Project: 9:00 pm – 10:00 pm

  1. stvrsnbrgr says:

    Here’s a trick to try next time you want to capture a photo of something fast or unpredictable – or both! – like lightning, or a hovering hummingbird, etc. Switch your camera to video mode. Later, you can go frame by frame and hopefully find the shot you were hoping for. My phone-camera even lets me take snapshots by pressing the shutter while I’m watching a video I shot. It’s also a good way to take a group portrait – finding that one frame where everyone is smiling!

    Like

  2. JennyO says:

    Lighting is a hard capture, I managed to really only get good ones when I had a tripod and set the camera to just take shots every 5 seconds of a storm….

    Like

  3. I love those late night drives home–especially if there is something view-worthy taking place. A lightening show is spectacular, but last night I was gifted with a massive rising full moon. I think this month is called the Full Buck Moon, but it should have been renames A Massive Pumpkin in the Sky!
    It was gorgeous, and I was grateful.
    One day–same world. 🙂

    Like

  4. Baby smell is the best! I miss it sooooo much. Lucky you missus 🙂 xx

    Like

  5. ooh, too bad the lightning didn’t cooperate with the shutter on the camera! I love me a good thunderbolt. At a safe distance, of course!

    Like

  6. NancyTex says:

    Cool capture of the bike. Have a great trip!

    Like

  7. Sue Slaght says:

    Very cool bike shot Joanne! I’m with you on the action photography. Some day right? 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

