1 Day 1 World Project: 10 to 11 pm

This week in the 1 Day 1 World Project, the timeframe is 10 to 11 pm.

Normally at that time, I would be settling down and hoping for a good night’s sleep.  Yesterday however I was on a trans-Atlantic flight to Germany where we will be vacationing for the next 3 weeks.

image

At 10:30 pm we had been in flight for 2 hours and the plane map suggested we were just flying over the Canadian eastern border of Newfoundland.

It seemed to be a full flight, but by some miracle of booking, I had 2 empty seats beside me to stretch out on.  Husband and I each booked aisle seats so we were not together. You would think that the extra space would increase my odds of getting some shut-eye during the flight, but the cold, noisy cabin and 2 crying babies made that an impossibility.

image

image

So now we are safely in Roth, Germany – exhausted – and ready for a good night’s sleep and days ahead full of new adventures.

This was my day from 10 to 11 pm.  For more posts on 1 Day 1 World, go to Northwest Frame of Mind.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to 1 Day 1 World Project: 10 to 11 pm

  1. stvrsnbrgr says:

    Ah, the glamour of air travel! It does still beat the alternative – though I cannot think of any real alternatives to go TOR>MUC. There is at least one petrosheik who has purchased the new Airbus 380 double-decker superjumbo and outfitted it as a home-in-the-sky. I don’t need that degree of luxe whey I fly. Just give me the option of lying flat on a long-haul flight. Is that so much to ask?! (Have fun in Deutschland!)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I agree – a little space and not crammed like cattle would be appreciated. There was a time when flying was considered glamorous and now it is just something to survive with some dignity intact 🙂

      Like

  2. Heyjude says:

    I so dislike flying, not afraid, just hate being crammed into a small space with far too many people, and the noise of the engines and the air conditioning which is always too cold. I can never sleep, so I watch as many films as I can bear, attempt to read, but rarely exceed a couple of pages, and can’t wait to get to the destination with swollen ankles and eyes filled with sand! But sometimes it has to be done! Have a great trip 🙂

    Like

  3. restlessjo says:

    Happy holiday! 🙂

    Like

  4. Have a great time, Joanne. Take notes. Take pictures. You’ll have plenty of blog material when you get home!

    Like

  5. Joanne, I don’t remember the last time I had two empty seats beside me any flight. You should go buy a lotto ticket, because your luck is running right. We are spending the month of September in Denmark, and Germany, so I’m looking forward to your posts. Our plans are Munich, Nuremberg, Rothenburg, and a couple of other stops. Enjoy your visit. ~James

    Like

  6. jannatwrites says:

    I’ve never been on a flight that long. I think I would go crazy! But three weeks in Germany- how fun!

    Like

  7. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project: 10:00 pm – 11:00 pm | Northwest Frame of Mind

  8. Have a wonderful trip, Joanne! You definitely win an award for the most exciting place to be at 10:00 pm. An airplane to Germany!

    Like

  9. Long haul flights… urgh… Australians know all about those…
    Wow! Germany! Have a great time! (What did you end up bringing for gifts? Got your maple syrup supply? 😉 )

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I remember the trip to Australia very well. That trip really scared me … being captive in a plane for SOOOOO long!!! This one was very short in comparison 🙂

      I ended up getting maple syrup, a pair of gold maple leaf earrings for my cousin and an Olympic shirt for her husband. Thanks!

      Like

  10. Sue Slaght says:

    Rest up and looking forward to the travels!

    Like

  11. Air travel just isn’t fun anymore!! Have a wonderful time in Germany though.

    Like

  12. Only in flight 2 hours and already the travelers look bored and grumpy? I’d be all excited about my trip to Germany. Take lots of photos. I like architecture- old buildings! Countryside, too!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Cramped in a metal tube for many hours does make people bored and grumpy 🙂 I would have loved to take more pictures on the plane but I felt a little self conscious doing it.
      I’ll try to take many pictures – no promises on the quality though 🙂

      Like

  13. Have a wonderful vacation!

    Like

  14. Lynn says:

    Have a wonderful vacation Joanne:) Had a little chuckle over the last pic, the overturned bottle of red may be the cause of the nap!

    Like

  15. Joe says:

    Have a great time Joan 🙂

    Like

  16. Germany! Lucky you, have an amazing time and I can’t wait to hear all your tales of adventure 🙂 xx

    Like

  17. NancyTex says:

    Glad to hear you made it there safely. Enjoy your trip!

    Like

Leave a Reply

