Quiet Life in the German Countryside

I’m currently relaxing in a small village in Germany near the Dutch border.

On Wednesday I had picked up a rented car and drove the 6 hours to the German-Dutch border to visit with a cousin I’ve met only once – 40 years ago.  It was a very bold move, the least of which was the drive alone in a strange country where I didn’t speak the language.  I had to resort to some interesting pantomiming at a couple of the gas stops, but overall the trip was uneventful.  German roads are very busy and very fast … but I held my own.

Meanwhile Husband has stayed down in Roth preparing for his Ironman-distance race on Sunday.

Yesterday my cousin took me across the border into Holland and the village of Millingen aan de Rijn to find some wooden shoes for son #2.  I did manage to find him the size 13 shoes he wanted … not a tourist souvenir, but actual ‘work’ shoes found among gardening supplies.

image

These shoes are turning out to be quite the novelty here because of their (enormous) size.  I’m not sure how I’m going to pack these big boys in my luggage but I’ve heard numerous suggestions about sailing home in them.

Our short drive through the country roads also gave me a view of my first windmill on this trip.  I simply love windmills and forced my cousin to stop so I could take some pictures.

image

During walks with the dog and hours spent in her beautiful garden, my cousin and I have had a chance to connect as family and I’m so grateful for having taken the opportunity to visit her.

Unfortunately it comes to an end tomorrow when I have to return to Roth for Husband’s race.  This side trip has been a wonderful start to our 3 week European adventure.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Family, Random Stuff, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Quiet Life in the German Countryside

  1. Heyjude says:

    The only thing that comes to mind about clogs AND windmills is the old song: A Windmill in Old Amsterdam
    “I saw a mouse – where? There on the stair
    Where on the stair? Right there
    A little mouse with clogs on – well, I declare
    Going clip-clippety-clop on the stair – oh yeah”
    Sorry! That’s probably going to be an earworm all day now 😉

    Like

  2. stvrsnbrgr says:

    Joanne, this all sounds like a little slice of Himmel! I hope your Ironman fared well this weekend.

    Like

  3. You’re very brave, Joanne, driving on your own in Germany. Having accomplished that you could lash the wooden shoes together and sail home in your very own catamaran!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I am extraordinarily proud of myself for getting those big boys in my suitcase. I appear to have a certain mastery with packing 😉
      … but all bets are off if I buy even one more tiny thing!

      Like

  4. Aw Jo, it sounds like you’re having a fabulous time! It was definitely a brave move-not only the trip alone but the meeting of a relative you haven’t seen in so long, I’m glad it went so well for you. And you got to see our beloved windmills!! Yay!! 😀 xx

    Like

  5. Iron Man? That’s so yesterday. ¡Viva El Clog Man!

    Like

  6. Sounds wonderful, Joanne! If you can’t find room in your suitcase for the shoes you could just wear them onto the plane. 🙂

    Like

  7. Sue Slaght says:

    Good for you! You did the drive! Love the windmill photo.

    Like

  8. How special to have reconnected with family and you were adventurous doing so. Do you think you’ll stay in touch or was it just something you needed to do?

    Like

  9. Jordan Simard says:

    This blog post is amazing 🙂 Especially the part about sailing home in the shoes! And I didn’t realize the Dutch actually still wore wooden shoes as a functional part of their lives!

    >

    Like

  10. NancyTex says:

    I’m so glad to hear your drive out was safe and uneventful. Sounds like you’ve had a great couple if days reconnecting with your cousin! Safe travels back to Germany!

    Like

  11. Isn’t it great to connect, or re-connect, with long lost family members. Your side trip sounds great!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Emilio – it was. There was a point when I started to wonder if it was a good idea, but I survived the drive and I definitely have no regrets!!! Life is too short to not make the effort to connect with family and friends.

      Like

  12. Wow….those will be quite a conversation piece once home…..if he tires of them at a future date, you could always use them for planters!

    Like

  13. Safe trip back to Roth. Wish I could come up with a wisecrack about the clogs, but I got nothin’.

    Like

Leave a Reply

