1 Day 1 World Project: 11 pm to Midnight

This week’s time period for the 1 Day 1 World Project finds me in the small town of Hilpoltstein, Germany – about 90 minutes north of Munich.  The Challenge Roth Ironman distance race was held yesterday and my husband competed in the event.

After 15 Ironman finishes, Husband said this was the most difficult race he has ever had.  For the first time since he started racing, he had doubts whether he would be able to finish.  It was a difficult day of extreme heat, humidity and wind, followed by a thunderstorm and heavy rain late in the afternoon.

At 11 pm last night, we were all celebrating the successful completion of the race by everyone in the group who was travelling with us.  In spite of very stiff bodies, and stomachs that were feeling less-than-happy after such a challenging day, we sat outside in the small courtyard of our hotel eating pizza, drinking beer and telling stories about the day.

I can’t believe this picture actually turned out in the darkness with my little Point and Shoot.

imageHeartburn came later in the early morning hours.

From the chaos of our room and all the sweaty, smelly stuff dumped on the floor, I put together a pile of stuff from Husband’s race day.  The bike shoes were kind of nasty but I had as little direct contact with them as possible.  His running shoes and wetsuit were banished from the room.

image

By midnight, most of us had crept away to bed.

This was my world last night from 11pm to midnight.

For more on the 1 Day 1 World Project, visit Lisa at Northwest Frame of Mind.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to 1 Day 1 World Project: 11 pm to Midnight

  1. restlessjo says:

    Sounds like my worst nightmare! Is it in aid of charity or just to prove endurance? When I say ‘just’ I don’t think that’s the right choice of word!!! I could walk it, maybe, but none of the wet stuff! Well done to him, and to you for being there. Onwards and upwards? 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      These Ironman distance races are definitely not for charity. Ironman and Challenge are 2 branded race series and they are definitely for profit!!! … having said that, the money that is brought into the local economy at a race site is HUGE which is one of the reasons why the number of race sites around the world continues to increase.

      Like

  2. Heyjude says:

    Not my cup of tea – running, jogging, and all the sweat, but My eldest son has taken part in Ironman challenges – I think they were just an excuse to travel 😉
    Pizza guaranteed to bring on the heartburn, but probably tasted good at the time. I look forward to Prague – you will post some photos won’t you?
    Jude xx

    Like

  3. Glad to hear he finished, but sorry to learn that the day was one of extreme weather – for both of you!

    Tell me about your point and shoot – a camera or phone? I’m thinking about upgrading – yours seems to do the photography job just fine!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I have a little Sony CyberShot camera. It’s pretty dented and scratched but it seems to still be doing a decent job.

      No smart phone for me – I simply don’t have enough use for one to justify the cost.

      Like

      • I’ve been holding off on a cellphone upgrade. I tried a couple of years ago, but returned the new phone. It dropped calls, the battery was very poor, needed to be recharged every day vs once every two weeks.

        But now? Well, there’s this little thing called Instagram that I’m kinda/sorta supposed to be doing for the volunteer job. I’m thinking about it.

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I never got into Instagram. I set up an account but didn’t do anything with it. I couldn’t see the point. Maybe I’m missing something.

          Like

        • joannesisco says:

          Now that I think of it, many (some? / all?) new cameras also have wifi capability, so pictures can be posted to social media directly from your camera.

          Like

          • I might just have to bite the bullet, you know? Eat a good breakfast, make sure that the moon is in the right phase, and take myself to the cellphone store and talk about an upgrade. Oh man, who am I? What is happening? I’m being dragged kicking and screaming into the 21st century!

            but enough about me.

            How was your day?

            Like

  4. Sounds a really tough slog – now does the vacation begin?

    Like

  5. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project: 11:00 pm – 12:00 pm | Northwest Frame of Mind

  6. NancyTex says:

    Huge congrats to Gilles for finishing on what sounds to be a slog of a day. And kudos to you for braving the heat and humidity to cheer him along!

    Like

  7. I’m a jogger and back in the Pleistocene, I competed in my share of 10Ks. And from my experience, I have a great deal of respect for anyone who even attempts an Ironman. Congrats to your husband for a successful finish. Your pizza/beer photo brings to mind the eternal question for serious runners: “Do I eat to run, or run to eat?” ~James

    Like

  8. Wow, Joanne what an eventful day filled with accomplishments! Both for your husband finishing such a tough race and for you to provide the vital support and care. I can feel the celebration and dirty equipment aftermath through your words and photos. 🙂

    Like

  9. Well done to hubby for finishing what sounds like a nightmare of a race!! The celebrations afterwards would definitely be my favourite part 🙂 xx

    Like

  10. Hmmmm! German pizza? Must have been quite a taste treat! Oh, and congrats to all who finished.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m not a huge fan of pizza so I’m definitely not a good judge of whether it was good or not. We found a surprising number of Italian restaurants. I think many Italians move north into Germany for better opportunities. The pizzas were more similar to what we found in Rome than what we get in North America.

      Like

  11. Lynn says:

    Congrats to hubby for his finish & to you for your being the unwavering fan to cheer him on! Prague is on my list of places to see, I understand it is absolutely beautiful. Enjoy:)

    Like

  12. Sue Slaght says:

    Congrats to your Hubby on finishing! Congrats to you on being the chief cheerleader. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

