A City To Love

Sadly, the Prague portion of our vacation came to an end this morning.

I had gone into Prague with considerably high expectations from all the positive things I had heard about the beauty of this city. I was not disappointed.

image

image

Our arrival into Prague didn’t start off very well. Initially, it seemed just like any other of a dozen old cities we had visited over the years, and my good spirits had been quickly squashed by a fender-bender – caused by me – on our new rental car.

Tears were shed, but Gilles was remarkably calm to counterbalance my waterworks, and my happy mood was eventually restored after a bottle of wine was consumed.

As we walked around the old city, we came to appreciate how magnificent Prague really was. Architectural details and statues could be found around every corner and in the most unlikely places. In the 3 days we spent there, we were constantly discovering new details to admire – even on roads we had travelled several times.

image

image

Speaking of roads, I never really got a good grasp on how to get from point A to B without making several wrong turns along the way. I normally have a decent sense of direction, but I spent the bulk of our time in Prague in a state of confusion.

image image

I think the strangeness of the language and street names were a major contributing factor.

There were many highlights of our time in Prague, but at the top of my list would be the 3 hour Segway tour around the old city. Our tour guide was interesting, we covered virtually every major tourist attraction I could think of – and then some, but best of all was riding the Segway. We were both rather tentative in the beginning, but before long we were comfortably weaving through traffic, pedestrians, and navigating hills will ease. Β It was a blast!

image

I have fallen in love with this city and will happily return one day if given the chance.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to A City To Love

  1. Heyjude says:

    Oh, the architecture in Prague is a true delight, Medieval, Baroque, Rococo, Renaissance. You need to look up and down and all around you. I would never try and drive there though. Public transport is pretty good, as is Shanks’s Pony πŸ™‚

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – I had to look up Shanks’s Pony. I’ve never heard that expression before! … but you’re right, walking is the best way to get around especially since the crowds were so thick. Driving was really white-knuckle.

      Like

  2. ChristineR says:

    Joanne, I love that photo with the fellows holding up the balcony – one looks to be doing all the work. The buildings seem so clean for their ages. Love the Segway, looking forward to trying out one of those, one day.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      If you get a chance to ride a Segway, definitely give it a try.
      Prague is a very clean city. Obviously tourism is very important to their economy and I thought they did it very well

      Like

  3. Tina says:

    Aah! another beautiful place to add to the wish list! Prague looks amazing!
    I’m glad your trip is going well, in spite of the fender bender!

    Like

  4. JennyO says:

    omg I LOVE Prague, so many memories there, I’m glad you got through the tears to enjoy the city!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Jenny – you aren’t the only one I’ve heard this sentiment from – which is why Prague was put on our must-do list. I have yet to hear from someone who visited this amazing city who didn’t absolutely LOVE it! Now I know why!!! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. bulldog says:

    Joanne.. it sure looks like a place to return to… what beautiful buildings so well captured…

    Like

  6. That’s why we always use public transport when in Continental Europe. Plus the fact that they drive on the wrong side of the road. πŸ˜›
    One of my biggest regrets is not doing the Segway tour when I was in San Francisco (it was $175 which was a bit steep for my budget). It’s back on the bucket list.
    Loving the photos!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      My husband and I are fearless about different things. For him, he has no hesitation to drive anywhere. Manoeuvring a vehicle down some of these tiny streets dodging other cars and pedestrians is really scary to me – even as a passenger.
      Segway however was my kind of transportation. That puppy can turn on a dime!!! πŸ™‚

      Like

  7. Well done to Gilles for being understanding and providing wine in a crisis. Your segway tour sounds amazing. Would love to try that!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Husbands are soooo unpredictable! I’m so grateful he was so calm and reassuring. It wouldn’t have been helpful if he had gone ballistic on me. On the other hand, the bill from the rental company might change that :/
      If you get a chance to go riding on a segway, take it. I had so much fun!!! Now I want one of my own πŸ˜‰

      Like

  8. This tickled my funny bone…most people consume the wine BEFORE the fender bender! πŸ™‚ Beautiful pix! Thanks for sharing them. We did a segway tour in Paris and I agree…it was best part of the trip though…..I’m not such a great segway-er…might have to post my note home about that day sometime soon….will give you a giggle.

    Like

  9. Looks steeped in history – nice photos. The segways look like great fun – gutsy of you to try!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I realized how pathetic my knowledge of history was – particularly Eastern European history. I had no idea that Prague was a major cultural centre where Mozart lived for many years. There were opportunities to go to live concerts in old churches everywhere. We went to one which featured Vivaldi and several other composers and it was spectacular – both the music and the location.

      Like

  10. NancyTex says:

    So sorry to hear about the little accident, but good on ya for brushing yourself off and still making the most of your 3 days there!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      In the grand scheme of things, it was very minor, however at the time I was in full drama mode. That’s where a few glasses of wine helps to put everything back into perspective. I’m sure when the bill arrives from the rental company, I’ll be back in full drama mode again – this time peeling Gilles off the ceiling :/

      Like

  11. Oh I’ve always wanted to have a go on one of those!! Lucky you πŸ™‚

    Bugger about the bump but at least no one was hurt and you got to commiserate over a bottle of wine. It looks absolutely stunning, missus xx

    Like

  12. Amazing how much a bottle of wine can lift one’s spirits! Prague has always been a city I want to visit. The architecture is amazing!

    Like

  13. Lynn says:

    That sucks about the fender bender but so glad you were able to shed it off & enjoy Prague. I have heard it such a beautiful city, hope to visit one day;0)

    Like

  14. A friend of mine sings the praises of Prague – her mother and father are Czech. You say you saw details missed on the first pass. I can imagine with so much to take in. And look at the crowds! Even at night!

    I’m glad that you found your balance (in more ways than one) and were able to boot around the city in high style! Boot-boot!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      There is just so much to say about this city, I’m sure I could go on for thousands of words. In one of the street photos in this post, there is a statue on the wall on the right. I had not noticed it the several times we were on this street, or the several times I had gone through my photos. I noticed it only when I was preparing this post. That’s what Prague was like πŸ™‚

      Like

  15. Sue Slaght says:

    Too bad about the fender bender but good for the two of you to make the best of it. Prague looks like a magnificent city. Love the segway photo!

    Like

Leave a Reply

