One Day One World Project: Midnight to 1 am

When I discovered that I would be in Berlin for the *Midnight Hour* of the One Day One World Project, the first thing that came to mind was to go James Bond style.

What could be more perfect than a clandestine rendez-vous with M. Époux from the French Resistance (aka Gilles) at Checkpoint Charlie?  In this particular instance, the French Resistance refers to the reluctance of M. Époux to cooperate with my plan, rather than the World War II anti-Nazi resistance group which predated the Berlin Wall by a couple of decades.

The hardest part – I thought – would be staying awake.  Reality turned out to be a bit trickier.

We had been to Checkpoint Charlie and a remaining section of the Wall earlier in the day.  It would be a short walk of less than a kilometre from the apartment we are renting.

image

After an exhausting day of sightseeing, the plan was to have a nap in the evening rather than trying to stay awake.

We both fell asleep without difficulty and we both managed to wake up on time as well, but this is where the plan went sideways.  We stood in the dark on the balcony of our apartment and looked at each other with the same thought.  Is this idea even safe?

Here we were in a city we did not know contemplating a 2km round-trip walk on deserted streets.  The subway wasn’t an option either since neither of us had figured it out yet.  Suddenly it didn’t feel like such a good plan any more.  My sense of adventure was being trumped by common sense.

We quickly formulated Plan B.  A short trip to the pedestrian plaza below, a few quick photos, and back to bed.

image

The brightly lit subway station at the corner of our street did not provide any reassurances that we were not crazy.  Gilles shuffled uncomfortably, hissing HURRY UP!! as I snapped pictures.

The unexpected treasure from our midnight walk was noticing a large piece of art in the plaza we had passed several times without noticing.

imageHow I could have missed this in the daylight is a mystery.

The conclusion I’ve come to is that I would make a lousy spy and James Bond will have to continue on without me.

This was my world early this morning between midnight and 1 am.  For more adventures on the One Day One World Project, visit Lisa at Northwest Frame of Mind.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to One Day One World Project: Midnight to 1 am

  1. Is it just me, or does that statue have two right feet? Could be a German code for something. You could have discovered some Bond-like clue.
    I still think you had a memorable adventure–whether it was the whole kit and kaboodle or just a sliver, good on both of you for being so brave.
    🙂

    Like

  2. You certainly don’t do run of the mill tourism! Maybe that statue wasn’t there in the daytime…maybe they only put it out at night?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL! It turns out I have selective vision 🙂
      I discovered why I didn’t notice it during the daylight. It’s very thin when it’s looked at from the front or back. It’s so thin, that you don’t really register anything significant to look at. During the daylight, I had only seen it from the front or back.
      Because of the pictures I was taking at night, I finally saw it from the side view. I was amazed!

      Like

  3. NancyTex says:

    Great sculpture!

    Like

  4. Now that is an odd statue. I’m pretty surprised you missed that 😉 xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It was definitely odd – and stranger still that I would miss it completely in the daylight. What it was doing in a residential apartment building complex has me a bit baffled.

      Like

  5. So glad you went with Plan B. And that Gilles accompanied you. Himself wouldn’t even stay up to see the super moon. I talked him into driving down the road after dark in June to a spot where there was no light pollution to watch a meteor shower. It was too cloudy. He won’t be doing that again!
    As for that statue . . . I can’t believe you missed it in daylight either!

    Like

  6. Heyjude says:

    It’s kind of sad that as we get older we become more sensible about doing these sorts of things, though I can’t blame you for changing your plan. It looked a bit scary out there. And as for the sculpture you found o_O

    Like

  7. bikerchick57 says:

    That’s an interesting sculpture..very interesting…:-o

    Like

  8. How did you miss that indeed, Joanne! I am happily surprised each week when I see new adventures prompted by this project. Who could have guessed you and your husband would think about tip toeing through Berlin like James Bond at midnight. 🙂 Wow!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks to you for setting up this project. It gives people like me an excuse to exercise our creative muscle 🙂
      I was quite proud of this idea and I’m still rather disappointed that I couldn’t execute it as originally planned.

      Like

  9. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project 12:00 am – 1:00 am | Northwest Frame of Mind

  10. bulldog says:

    I loved the photos and must admit would not have been too keen to venture out at night… had a bad experience in New York … 4 am when looking for a cuppa coffee alone… a woman approached me and asked if I felt like an early morning good time… this was horrifying and scared me beyond words….(True story) I answered her in Afrikaans and her words “F king foreigner…. (By the way I can talk rubbish too, it was neither frightening or horrifying, but actually very amusing.) … Linda and I have risked all sorts on some nights, only thinking afterwards that it might have been a tad dangerous… Jeeez we have even walked about at night in reserves where a lion or two could be lurking around….

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      You gave me a good laugh with this comment!!
      Sometimes we think only in hindsight how lucky we were – that an idea could have gone very badly.
      I’m glad that the only wild life I have to be worried about is the human kind 😉

      Like

  11. Once you have slept well and are refreshed, you will have to take a daylight photo of that sculpture. Maybe it is usually surrounded by lookers-on in the daytime (by way of explaining how you missed it.) It certainly is eye-catching!

    Like

  12. Sue Slaght says:

    I think the adventure was well worth the photo of the statue Joanne. Our poor husbands….:)

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – you of all people would appreciate that the most!!!

      I suspect Gilles isn’t quite as accommodating of my ideas as your husband is of yours 🙂
      He’s made it quite clear that I’m on my own for the rest of the night time adventures!

      Like

      • Sue Slaght says:

        Oh Joanne I have a post coming up in a week or so where Dave was ready to pretend he didn’t know me let alone was married to me. Most of the time he is very accommodating and really is a big part of the blog especially the photography. In this case he shared Gilles’ attitude and more. 🙂

        Like

Leave a Reply

