Tourist At Home

We have now been home for 3 days  – tired, lethargic, and not motivated to do much.  I’ve managed to get some laundry done and fill the refridgerator with food, but that’s pretty well it.

This morning over coffee, while I considered my ambivalence toward the weeds which had invaded the yard in our absence, Gilles decided we needed one more day of playing tourist – this time in our own city.  We decided to take a drive down to the lakefront on the west end – a part of the city we don’t know very well.

DSC05907-FIt reminded me of our early days together when we didn’t have 2 cents to rub together. We entertained ourselves by exploring all the free things to do which our city had to offer. The lakefront never disappointed.

DSC05909-F

We walked along the boardwalk near Sunnyside Beach – a busy place full of runners, cyclists and families with small children.   It is sad that in the 30+ years I’ve lived in Toronto, I’ve only been there once before – during a New Year’s Day Polar Bear Dip. I wasn’t crazy enough that day to enter the Polar Bear Dip, but Gilles and Son #2 did.  In comparison to that blustery day in the cold rain, today was a considerably better day to be on the beach.

DSC05914-F

It’s always a delight to discover something unexpectedly, and today it was a memorial for the 1956 Fight for Freedom in Hungary.  It was kind of a random thing to find on a beach in Canada, and the small plaque offered no explanation for why this location was chosen.

DSC05899-FWe would have spent more time in our exploration of the lakefront, but I had the poor judgement to wear flip-flops on this walk and I was now limping from a new blister of impressive size.  It was time to go home.

As we enjoyed the relative quiet on the Gardiner Expressway on the way home, I couldn’t resist one last nod to being a tourist in Toronto – a photo of the CN Tower captured through the sunroof of the car.  At 100 km an hour, I was just thrilled it didn’t come out blurry.

DSC05917-F

Our vacation has come to an end and tomorrow we will be back to our regular responsibilities.   In the meantime, I think I’ll continue doing ‘nothing’ for a while longer.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature, Random Stuff, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Tourist At Home

  1. Steve Morris says:

    I visited Toronto 35 years ago as a child. What a wonderful city!

    Like

  2. I’m amazed you have the wherewithal to put a post together at all, Joanne, an interesting post of your home turf! Unpack, food, laundry – check! The rest will fall into place.

    Like

  3. jannatwrites says:

    It’s exhausting going on vacation 🙂 It’s so fun to put the ‘tourist’ hat on and explore what’s right under our noses. It looks like you had a fun time at the beach. I like the sunroof photo!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      The best part is that you get to go home to your own bed and creature comforts 🙂
      I’m pretty proud of that photo … it was a spur-of-the-moment, blink-you’re-going-to-miss-it kind of photo … and it wasn’t blurry!! 🙂

      Like

  4. Ah, home sweet home!! We are lucky to live this lovely city- so much to see and do! I live close to the boardwalk and haven’t been in a LONG time. Mainly, I think, because there are no cafes/washroom options close by. Especially if you want to walk from the west end to downtown. Next long walk will be along the lake. Thank you! 🙂

    Like

  5. Some great shots of Toronto’s waterfront…it is funny how we take our home turf for granted.

    Like

  6. stvrsnbrgr says:

    It’s great to play tourist in your own town! I do it all the time. We who live in “towns” such as Toronto and LA have an advantage: some countries have less going on than these metropolises. (Metropoli?) Your comment about rarely visiting the lakefront reminded me of an article I saw recently, one of those lists: 37 things a newcomer to LA needs to know. One of the items was a photo of the beach. It was captioned: ‘You think you’ll hit the beach all the time. In fact, you’ll only get there once a year, if that.’ I thought, that is utter nonsense! Who doesn’t go to the beach? In Southern California? The place that invented beach culture?!

    Then I had dinner with some friends, both of whom have lived here for many years. They admitted to almost never going to the beach. One of them had been to Santa Monica pier. Once. And never touched the sand. I was flabbergasted. I still don’t understand that. I frequently mourn the fact that it takes me 20 minutes to get to the ocean!

    I guess, though, that there are plenty of things I haven’t done in LA that some would find shocking. Never been to Disney Symphony Hall. Never visited LACMA art museum (except the big, stupid rock they put outside). Never been to a Dodgers game. Or a Lakers game. Or any of the other games that may be played here. And I’ve never taken the ferry to Catalina Island, which I myself find shocking. That one is at the top of my list.

    Like

  7. Some of my favorite vacation days are at the very end after we’ve returned home and have a few hours without planned activities. I’m glad you got out to explore your city!

    Like

  8. Ah, those post-holiday blues. They’re a killer.
    Whenever we travel we always talk about how we should do some of the things we do on holiday, at home. Like grab a picnic from the supermarket (bread, cheese, fruit, a bottle of wine) and go sit in a park somewhere and eat it off a hand-towel (cutting the bread with a Swiss army knife).
    We never do.
    Loved seeing bits of Toronto. (How very odd about the Hungarian monument.) Canada is sooooo on my bucket list.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s too bad that when we are at home, there are too many competing things for our attention that we don’t invest time in ‘playing’. It comes naturally when we’re away.
      When you eventually make it to Canada, you must let me know!!

      Like

  9. Sue Slaght says:

    A great idea to recover from the big trip. I enjoyed seeing more of Toronto. Love the angle on the tower shot.

    Like

  10. NancyTex says:

    So glad to hear you made it home safely! I’m headed back to TO tomorrow, then right back out to NYC Wednesday. It’s a good think I’m not nervous about flying. 🙂

    Like

  11. Great idea! I’m also currently playing tourist on my home turf 😉

    Like

  12. This made me smile. How romantic! It sounds like a perfect day together and a lovely way to end your vacation xx

    PS I LOVE the beach/boat picture, it’s beautiful.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks – it’s a police rescue boat which I was surprised to see. I guess I shouldn’t have been surprised. With a large waterfront, I’m sure there are rescue boats all along the shoreline.

      Like

Leave a Reply

