One Day One World Project: 1am to 2am

There are any number of reasons why someone would be out and about at 1am.  Searching for blog material is probably one of the dumbest …. but I was willing to rise to that challenge with enthusiasm.

My plan was to simply drive around to the spots where there was likely to be action at this hour of the night to see what was – or was not – happening.  I would describe my night-time adventure as being one of lost opportunity.  ‘Lost’, simply because I wasn’t fast enough in my thinking processes to capture what I was seeing.

My adventure started before I even left the house.  As I was about to head out the front door, I heard noises in the back.  I turned on the flood light over the pool to discover at least half a dozen raccoons were having a party on my deck.  They were lounging on the sofa, cushions scattered everywhere, and …. what the hell?! … one of them had my swim goggles in his hands.

Did I manage to get a photo of these uninvited guests?  No. Those fat and furry bandits scattered like the wind when I opened the door.  One of them had the temerity to hiss at me before he waddled off.  As I was putting the cushions back in order (my OCD was still very much alert), two smaller raccoons who had been hiding under the sofa, popped out inches from my feet and scurried away.  Scared me half to death.

The only usable photo I have is the remains of my swim cap.

DSC05924

So onward I went into the city that never sleeps.  Except I live in the suburbs.  It was very quiet … strangely quiet.

My first stop was the hospital ER.  I followed an ambulance – with no lights flashing – pull into Emergency.  I know what you’re thinking – I gave “ambulance chasing” a whole new definition last night.  I watched as they moved someone on a stretcher into the hospital.  That’s right – I simply WATCHED without thinking to take a picture until they were entering the door.

Why was I simply watching? – there seemed something ‘off’ about the scene.  The attendants were moving without any sense of urgency and there was something ‘wrong’ about the bundling of the person on the stretcher.  It took me several minutes to realize that this wasn’t an emergency.  The person was already deceased.

DSC05930-F

By the way, the police cruiser in this photo was the only one I saw during my entire night drive.  I would have liked to actually go into Emergency to see what was happening in there, but I felt there were certain boundaries I wasn’t prepared to cross.

Next stop – the gas station.  There is always something happening at a gas station – isn’t there? While my overactive imagination was quietly hoping I wasn’t about to trip into an armed robbery scenario,  I found instead a broken watermain.

DSC05935-F

While I discussed it with the gas station attendant – who assured me that the appropriate authorities had been notified – a young couple came in to buy a car wash …. just a car wash.

Now, who buys a car wash at this hour of the night?  It took me a full half hour – when I was already several kilometres away – before I clued in that they were likely planning their own night-time ‘adventure’ in the swishy confines of a car wash.  I consoled myself with the thought that it would have been super creepy to have stayed to find out anyway.

Do you ever wonder who goes to an all-night grocery store?  I do – and this was my opportunity to check it out.  To my surprise, at 1:30 in the morning, there were many more people than I was expecting.  With an apartment complex across the street, I could understand the singles in the store – almost exclusively, men  – but my biggest surprise was a family, including 3 young children, buying snack food.

DSC05944-F

Nope – no one buying fruits and vegetables in the middle of the night … only snack food.

I made a few other uneventful stops, but it was the 18-wheeler trying to perform a U-turn in the intersection of a 4 lane road that captured my attention.  If the video function on my camera was still working (apparently there are only so many times you can drop a camera before it loses functionality), this would have been a manoeuvre I would have loved to capture.  It was NOT completed with any grace or finesse.

I think his plan was to complete the entire U-turn in one smooth move to reverse directions on a single green light.  He failed – effectively blocking all 4 lanes of the road. Fortunately I was the only witness on the road to watch the cartoon manoeuvring. Unfortunately I didn’t get a single photo.

Tonight, I failed as a budding photographer.

This was my world between 1 am and 2 am this morning.  I hope you slept well last night. For more adventures on One Day One World, visit Lisa at Northwest Frame of Mind.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to One Day One World Project: 1am to 2am

  1. Great description of your neighbourhood at that hour…you took your self assignment to heart. I’m only up because I’m jet lagged! I had no idea this was such a comprehensive challenge.

    Like

  2. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project: 1:00 am – 2:00 am | Northwest Frame of Mind

  3. Your late night adventures are so much fun to read, Joanne! We’ve hosted a few nocturnal Raccoon parties here too and Ryan’s lost a couple of Nerf footballs along with the inside of a bike helmet and the handle bar grips on his scooter… 😦 I don’t know if I’m brave enough to try the hospital doors but a late night/early morning trip to the grocery store might be good for a few stories in the next couple of weeks. Thanks for the ideas!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Here’s hoping that we NEVER have to grace the inside of an ER. That is one place everyone should make a point of avoiding 😦

      Grocery stores are always interesting for people watching regardless of the time of day – especially when it’s combined with inspecting the contents of their shopping cart. I wonder what mine says about me? – fruit and vegetables and junk food – both my version and husband’s version 🙂

      Like

  4. ChristineR says:

    Shaking my head in amazement, Joanne. No way could I bestir myself like that!

    Like

  5. A brilliant adventure, Joanne! And I especially love the bit about the raccoon. Those rascals!
    Back when I lived in L.A. and worked in music studios, we had what were typically ‘musician hours.’ The wee hours of the night were when we found our rhythm (no pun intended)–somewhere usually about 3:30 am is when everyone hit their creative sweet spot.
    I remember a lot of late night Chinese take out, because at that time, nearly nothing was open and musicians basically survived on cheap carbs.
    Great post. Be careful out there!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      The world is different in the middle of the night – and it’s no surprise to me that creative energy reaching a peak when the sharp edges of daytime are at their lowest.

      I confess I don’t have a musical bone in my body, so the thought of working in a music studio sounds very cool, and exciting and … creative. Was it any of those things?

      Like

  6. You are one hardcore, dedicated to the challenge blogger, girl! Man! This was great! Who needs a camera? You painted the pictures with your words, even the video! Love, LOVE it! AND it gave me an idea for next Thursday’s writing challenge! Thank you!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      woo-hoo, I’m now a muse!! 😉

      thank you for your very kind words. Now you’ve pretty well describing my entire work career – willing to go where no one else wanted to go 🙂

      I keep whining about my camera because I’m hoping Gilles will get the hint and buy me a new one. I think I’m just going to have to bite the bullet and buy one for myself!

      Meanwhile, now I’m back at square one again trying to think of a new challenge for 2-3am.

      Like

  7. Ok, so 1am to 2am was the training ground for how to capture those midnight moments. It’s all onwards towards dawn from here 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      oooo – I like that way of thinking. I was just practicing for the events coming up.
      I discovered night time photography is a lot harder than daytime. Dark and grainy is one thing – blurry and unrecognizable is another.
      I’m still waiting for inspiration for the next hour’s adventures.

      Like

  8. NancyTex says:

    Am I the only one who’s disappointed you didn’t get a snap of the sexy time at the car wash?? 🙂

    Kudos on your commitment to get your content for this project! Impressive!

    Like

  9. sinewavelife says:

    This was the funniest thing I’ve read all day! Thanks for making me laugh!

    Like

  10. And we’re supposed to believe this sorry tale of missed opportunity? No way! Next time (2 am to 3 am) we want photos. Black and white or color, out of focus doesn’t matter. Just something- anything- to prove you were not dreaming these encounters! 😉

    Like

  11. You could have bought all your groceries (especially fruits and vegetables) and stood on a zero person line! Take advantage.

    Like

  12. treerabold says:

    How fun!!
    I can’t wait to find out what happens at 2 – 3 am!! I remember the days when being up all night and sleeping till noon was the norm. I’m still up late….but not running the streets like the old days!! Thanks for letting me know I’m not missing much…even though you did make it entertaining!

    Like

  13. Sue Slaght says:

    Dedication to the blogging experience! Wow that is impressive Joanne. I loved the description of the racoons. Wouldn’t have surprised me if you told me they had a few bottles of beer cracked open too. 🙂

    Like

  14. I used to work midnight shift at a hotel and found that 5.00a or so was the perfect time to go shopping for groceries or a quick trip to Walmart. There is something about the nighttime that is peaceful when you have the highways mostly to yourself but there is an element of magic as well when you happen upon deer in a strange place (parking lot of somewhere or park usually inhabited by tons of screaming children) and add snow to that and you really can feel you’re in another world…..not exciting enough for a blog post probably, but definitely a good answer to share on someone else’s post, yes?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Yes it is! It does feel very different out there at night. Softer, peaceful, but also edgier and a bit scary.
      The midnight shift would be a tough one. Kudos to anyone who has to do it on a regular basis.

      Like

  15. Oh my, what an exciting night you’ve had! You’re going to do this more often from now on, aren’t you? Can’t wait to see what you’ll find between 3-4am 🙂 Raccoons getting it on in the supermarket is my guess…

    Like

  16. I’m really curious Jo, are you planning on getting up throughout the night every week for an hour to complete this challenge? If that’s the case then you are seriously more dedicated than I could ever be! 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

