One Day One World Project: 3 am to 4 am

It is said that the city never sleeps … at least that was my expectation.  I ventured out of bed and away from the suburbs picking up my hiking partner along the way.  I can always count on Helen’s enthusiasm for an adventure and we drove through the quiet streets of mid-town, and finally all the way downtown.

We were both surprised to discover a city that appeared to be fast asleep.  Travelling down streets that are normally very congested with traffic, we found … nothing.  It was borderline eerie and had a post-apocalyptic feel to it.  Besides the rabbit and raccoon who eyed me suspiciously … there was no activity of note, even in the heart of the city.

So these are my meager offerings of our middle-of-the-night adventure through the streets of Toronto

I had erroneously thought that the current construction of a new Rapid Transit Line along one of the busiest traffic corridors in the city was operational 24-7.  Last night I discovered it’s not.  I suppose if I was a resident in the area, I would be very grateful for that.

Portions of the new LRT line will be underground and burrowing began some months ago. Surely I’m not the only person fascinated by the fact that engineers can accurately figure out how two massive tunnel-boring machines can be started simultaneously – one at the beginning and another at the end of the proposed tunnel – eventually meeting in the middle.

Meanwhile, a 4 lane road that is normally moving at a crawl during the day, was strangely empty of traffic.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Continuing our journey down Yonge St, we stopped at one of my favourite mid-city landmarks.  I really like watches and clocks, so it stands to reason that I would also like any building with a clock tower.

It was formerly a Canadian Pacific Railway station built in 1916, but passenger service through this station ended only 14 years later.  It became a beer store in 1931 and liquor store in 1940.   It is now the largest liquor store in Canada boasting a magnificent inventory of liquors and wine.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the year 2000 projects in Toronto was Moose in The City.  Over 300 life-sized moose statues were commissioned, decorated and displayed throughout the city.  A handful of them can still be found, including this one.  His attire changes throughout the year based on the season or special occasion, including his own King-of-the-Mountain jersey and bicycle for the Tour-de-France.

Last night he was sporting flippers and a life-jacket for some water fun.  Too bad the weather hasn’t been cooperating with him.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

On our way back home, one lonely car passes us on an otherwise deserted road.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was my world last night from 3 am to 4 am.  Visit Lisa at Northwest Frame of Mind for more on the One Day One World Project.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

47 Responses to One Day One World Project: 3 am to 4 am

  1. restlessjo says:

    It does look atmospheric though 🙂 🙂

    Like

  2. Joanne, I had heard about Moose in The City, but I hadn’t seen any photos. I love the one you discovered – especially the outfit. 🙂 Isn’t it great to see a large city when it’s calm and quiet. Ahhh. ~Terri

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Glad you liked the Moose. Whenever I see one, it makes me smile 🙂
      You are so right – our everyday surroundings are totally different at night and I’m really enjoying this project giving me a reason to get out there and explore a bit 🙂

      Like

  3. LB says:

    What a great idea to venture out at night and experience the same places in a different way. I’m challenged to try that sometime.

    Like

  4. Heyjude says:

    Well these photos do surprise me, I would not have expected Toronto city to be so quiet even at that time of night/morning! Joanne you put me to shame with your adventures for this project. (Great night photos btw) 🙂
    Jude xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks – I’m a wannabe photographer and I get so intimidated by the amazing photos other people post!

      I was surprised too by how quiet the city was at this hour. I expected to see … Something. Anything.
      Not even a police car.

      Like

  5. So you couldn’t get Gilles to come with this time.

    Like

  6. Wow, that is really eerie, it gives me delicious goosebumps! And I am marvelling at your persistence with this challenge Jo (I’m definitely not brave enough to crawl out of my bed in the middle of the night and explore my city!) xx

    Like

  7. Yonge Street…what a thrill I got to read that and realize I had been there myself, of course, anyone who has visited Toronto must have been on Yonge Street, if for no other reason than Eaton Centre! Also most excited to read about the various moose all over…Pittsburgh has a similar thing they do with dinosaurs ( http://www.pbase.com/ralf/dinodays&page=all) ! Who know this was such a popular idea that many cities have something like it?

    Like

  8. Nice to see you were out and about. Love the moose pic and the fact that we are getting another perspective of life in Toronto through you.

    Like

  9. pambrittain says:

    I can’t imagine me getting up at that hour, much less going out when it’s that dark. Cool pictures.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s a different world out there at night. I’ve really enjoyed this challenge because I wouldn’t normally get to experience that part of the day.
      Sleep interruptus is part of the challenge 😉

      Like

  10. Wow, that is one cool liquor store. I am now deeply ashamed of our local Dan Murphy’s. Perhaps I shall suggest to them to add a clock tower…
    I am impressed that you got out of bed to meet this challenge. I wonder if the participation rate has dropped off in recent times. ‘Recent times’…. get it? Hahah… oh, never mind.

    Like

  11. Sue Slaght says:

    You are one dedicated soul Joanne! Looks pretty quiet in Toronto at that time of the morning. I love the moose. We had cows here about the same time and a few can still be found. In a parkade I ran into Bart Simpson cow. ( well not literally ) How can one not smile at these things?

    Like

  12. You are a serious challenge player! Nice to have a friend tag along too…and in another couple of hours you find daylight again.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It’s fun to be challenged in a different kind of way 🙂 I must say this has been very interesting!
      It was a lot of fun to have Helen along for last night’s adventure 🙂

      Like

  13. What?! After all that action between 1-2am now there’s NOTHING? Should have gone to the supermarket and the car wash again. That’s where it’s all happening, clearly….

    Like

  14. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project: 3:00 am – 4:00 am | Northwest Frame of Mind

  15. stvrsnbrgr says:

    I love the moose! And a train station-as-giant-liquor-store? All aboard! 🙂

    Like

  16. Wow, Joanne thanks for showing us a side of your city I’d never have experienced otherwise!

    Like

  17. I’ve always heard Toronto is a happening place. Never would have imagined people actually sleep there. BTW. Hello, neighbor. I’m down the road about 40 km. 🙂

    Like

  18. That surprises me! Toronto is dead in the middle of the night?

    You are a trooper, girl, both of you are, to be out at that hour!

    Like

  19. NancyTex says:

    I wonder if you would have found more signs of life if you had ventured out on a Fri or Sat night? Or maybe Toronto is just a lot sleepier than we think. 🙂

    Love the photo of the moose — great detail, lighting and composition!

    As an aside, my husband’s business partner actually owns one of the original year 2000 moose! It’s a definite conversation starter!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you for the compliment – I was playing with a new camera last night without having read any of the manual. Taking photos at night, on the fly, is a crapshoot at the best of times but most of my pictures were unusable.

      We had also wondered if the quiet was a mid-week thing. I’m pretty confident that the Entertainment District would still be hopping at 3’ish on a Friday or Saturday.

      I know those Moose were mocked by the media at the time, but personally I loved them. My understanding is that they had all been privately funded through businesses/ individuals. They always make me smile when I encounter one. How is his moose decorated?

      Like

Leave a Reply

