One Day One World Project: 4 am to 5 am

My hiking partner, Helen, joined me again as I ventured into downtown Toronto’s Distillery District for the last night-time adventure in this challenge.

I expected the area to be deserted, and with the exception of a solitary security guard who did not give us a passing glance, we were alone to explore the historic cobblestone streets.

What immediately caught my attention was the view of downtown and the changing lights on the CN Tower.  After 30+ years in the city, I never grow tired of the sight of the iconic tower.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The view of downtown from the Distillery District

The Distillery District is a popular entertainment area full of artisan shops, restaurants, cafes, and art galleries.  It is on the site of the former Gooderham and Worts Whiskey Distillery from the mid-1800s.  According to their website, it is the largest and best preserved collection of Victorian Industrial Architecture in North America.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In 1990, the Gooderham & Worts Distillery ceased operations after 153 years of continuous production.  In the following years, up to its rebirth in 2003 as a pedestrian-only cultural centre, The Distillery was the second largest film location outside of Hollywood.

During the day-time this area is normally bustling with people, even during the winter when many of the bars and cafes have outdoor lounging areas with fire pits and heating lamps.  This morning however, it was quiet and still.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Leaving the Distillery District, the city was starting to come to life.  Many cars and pedestrians were now out on the road as the early birds were heading to work.

There were 2 unusual things I noted on my night-time drive:

1) on a major road I’ve travelled thousands of times going to work each day, I noticed a deer crossing sign which I can’t recall ever seeing before.  How odd is that to have a deer crossing sign in the middle of the city?  Stranger still, is that going in the opposite direction, the sign is for children crossing.

2) on 6 different stops, I found garbage piled in the middle of the road  – obviously the driver of a car dumped his unwanted debris at the light before moving on.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Is this a new phenomenon or am I just noticing it for the first time?  WHAT IS WRONG WITH PEOPLE?!!!

This was my world today between 4 am and 5 am.  Please visit Northwest Frame of Mind for more on One Day One World.

I think I’m going to need a nap soon.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Random Stuff, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to One Day One World Project: 4 am to 5 am

  1. Phil Taylor says:

    I’m only a 3 hour drive from Toronto but have only visited there a couple times. Your pictures and story about The Distillery District make me want to go and explore.

    Like

  2. What a unique perspective on the distillery district – looks fascinating at night. I’m not so sure about how it’s dwarfed by the buildings around it but I’m willing to be convinced it’s okay. I’m with you on the bafflement about litter – why do they think they’re entitled to be cleaned up after?!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks – you’re right about all the towers that have popped up around the distillery district but I didn’t find it a distraction. Maybe I’m just too used to big buildings.

      … and dumping garbage in the middle of the road at a light or stop sign is just self-importance taken to a new level with a blatent disregard for basic manners. Grrrr!

      Like

  3. I’m going to have to start keeping notes so I know what to go see when I get to cross Canadia (thank you, Mr Abbott) off my bucket list.

    Why is it always junk food rubbish? And nearly always the Golden Arches? Harrumph.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      hahaha! Right Mr Abbott – with our Canadian inferiority complexes, we didn’t feel badly about that one at all 😉
      On the other hand, I’d be afraid to ask how many people don’t know the difference between Austria and Australia!

      I can only hope that when you do finally get across to visit Canada, you include a stop for coffee and cake with me 🙂

      Like

  4. JennyO says:

    I absolutely LOVE your night photos here. There is something about the silence, makes me start imagining stories about the past and who roamed the streets then. That and I get a little creeped thinking about crazy horror movies that start out with silent roads 😉

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I KNOW!! That’s exactly what I’m thinking each time I’ve left the security of the house in the middle of the night to go on one of these photo hunts. Bad things happen during the night in every horror movie and crime show. A part of me is screaming “you’re crazy!! Retreat!! Retreat!!” 🙂

      Like

  5. lumar1298 says:

    What a great place to photograph. Lovely pictures…

    Like

  6. jannatwrites says:

    I’m impressed that you were out and about at that time… I’d be hard-pressed to even get out of bed! I’m with you on the garbage in the street. Seriously… is it really that hard to save it and throw it in the trash? I like the photos – looks like a neat area 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks – I’ve really enjoyed this challenge. It was a lot of fun 🙂

      .. and really! How self-important does someone have to be to think it is ok to dump their garbage on the street?!

      Like

  7. I am so impressed you can rouse yourself out of bed for these nighttime ventures…..also quite impressed with your new camera…nighttime shots are tough!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I have a new appreciation for people who can shoot night photos. They are really hard. There were a lot of photos taken that were totally usable!!!

      The night-time adventures were actually a lot of fun. I really enjoyed them but I’m glad I’ll be able to get back to a full night’s sleep again 🙂

      Like

  8. Heyjude says:

    How fabulous that you went out again and took more great photos of your lovely city at night. Love the stillness. Hate the rubbish.

    Like

  9. Before I read and am influenced by others comments, I wanted to say that I love this series of photos- each image better than the last. This looks like the perfect hour for me! Not too early in the morning to where I’m exhausted. Just early enough to be exhilarating! And empty streets.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Emilio – that’s fine praise 🙂
      Not surprisingly, I found night-time photos really hard to take and most were completely unusable. I’m glad I got a few decent ones this time.
      I really enjoyed the night-time adventures, but I’m looking forward to uninterrupted nights again 🙂

      Like

  10. That last one – that’s what happens when you spend too much time in Germany 😉

    Like

  11. pambrittain says:

    You’re doing great with that camera. I would love to see that in person—all but the garbage.

    Like

  12. restlessjo says:

    Well done to you for meeting this challenge in the wee small hours 🙂 Doesn’t it all look exciting? (well, not the garbage in the road, obviously 🙂 ) Love the CN tower shot!

    Like

  13. You’re very game to get up at that hour, Joanne.Making good use of your new camera!

    Like

  14. Sue Slaght says:

    When visiting family in Toronto we went to a play down in the distillery district. I thought it was such a cool area. Deer crossing in Toronto? Here’s wishing them the best of luck with that!

    Like

  15. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project: 4:00 am – 5:00 am | Northwest Frame of Mind

  16. I hope you got your nap, Joanne! It’s really interesting to see the usually busy streets and attractions at their quietest moment of the day and I agree with Nancy, your new camera is fantastic. 🙂

    Like

  17. Ah, what an early bird you are and so true to the challenge(s). My hat’s off to you.
    Wonderful pictures, so clear and crisp. I haven’t been to Toronto in a few years. Nice to see it quiet and asleep. Thank you for sharing, Joanne. 🙂

    Like

  18. NancyTex says:

    Your new camera was worth every penny, Joanne! These nighttime pics are amazing. Love, love, love.
    This is where a phone camera will never measure up. Daytime shots are arguably as good as any point and shoot, but it’s at night time that you see the difference a good quality camera makes. Nicely done!

    Like

  19. Megz says:

    beautiful! i love the contrast of modern versus Victorian/classic/etc.

    Like

  20. I love these pictures Jo, they’re so beautiful with the lights and no people around. I’ve often thought how fabulous it’d be to empty a place of folk and be the only person left to wander around by myself (guess I’ll have to take a leaf out of your book and venture out at night if I want to experience the peace and stillness!) xx

    Like

  21. So great to see TO in the wee hours. Glad to see that they’ve lit the sculptures and other displays. That’s a surprising tidbit about the Distillery being second largest film location outside of Hollywood.

    I can’t say that I’ve noticed the garbage in the intersection phenomenon, but then I live in a smaller town. I’m with you: what is wrong with people? What is so difficult about taking it home or to the end destination and disposing it there?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I know!!!!! Dumping of garbage seems to be a growing problem. I’m seeing more and more of it and I think it’s been caused by having to pay for garbage disposal. If your garbage won’t fit in the bins provided, they won’t pick it up unless you tag it with a pre-paid sticker. I’m seeing more bags of garbage dumped on the side of the road.
      Seeing it in the middle of the road is new … and I think it’s just plain laziness and disgusting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

