If We Were Having Coffee – Saturday Edition

If we were having coffee, I’d be so grateful that you joined me on this last long weekend of summer to sit and chat for a while.  I’d tell you that I’m sad summer is winding down already.  It flew by much too quickly.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that although I have been out of school for many, many years (ok, make that decades) – and my children have been out of school for a long time as well – I still associate Labour Day with the return to school and the beginning of a new year.  It is significantly more meaningful to me in setting new goals and making plans than the beginning of the calendar year.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that it never ceases to amaze me how much more we are capable of doing than we think is possible.  That reminder came to me this week compliments of my new running coach.  I was NOT HAPPY with him this week.  He sent me an updated 6 week training program and it specified target running speeds that I had never come close to achieving before.  It looked like it was intended for someone else.

When he assured me it WAS my program and he really did think it was achievable, I decided he didn’t have a clue what he was doing – in truth,  my inner dialogue used considerably stronger language.  I was already mentally composing the scathing email I was going to send him after I attempted the impossible hill workout and had proven how out-to-lunch he was.

Do I really need to say it?

To my considerable surprise, I succeeded in doing the workout – all 7 hill repeats at the ridiculous speed he wanted.  I had to eat crow – a lot of it.  How did he know I could do something I had never done before – by a wide margin?  Was it comfortable?  Hell no!! – it was godawful hard – but I got it done inspite of all my misgivings.

The conclusion I’ve come to this week is that we all need someone like that in our lives to push us – kicking and screaming – outside of our comfort zones once in a while – if only so we can be totally amazed at what we are capable of doing.

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that the absolute highlight of my week was going to meet with my “cyber sister” – Maggie Wilson at The Zombies Ate My Brains.  Since I discovered Maggie’s blog this past April, it’s been like regularly hearing from an old friend I have known forever.

We decided we simply had to meet and it was both exciting and a little bit scary – but not surprisingly, Maggie is as witty, funny and delightful in person as she is on her blog.  Click here for her post about our afternoon together.

If we were having coffee, I’d ask you how your week went and how you feel as the summer starts to unofficially come to a close.

 

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to If We Were Having Coffee – Saturday Edition

  1. Don Royster says:

    Great idea for a regular post “If we were having coffee”. My mama was what done taught me about the need for a good cup of joe any time of the day. Sitting around the table with some friends and coffee is the best.

    Like

  2. Hi Joanne, I’ve seen you here and there in the comments sections of blogs we follow mutually and then, of course, read of your meeting with Maggie! It has been such a thrill for me to have met three of my fellow bloggers now “in the flesh”. Two of them blog incognito (no photo on their blog) and yet within seconds, we were chatting away like old friends.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      People who don’t blog, don’t understand the relationships that develop and my friends & family look at me rather oddly when I try to explain it.
      Just because we don’t ‘see’ each other, doesn’t mean there isn’t a close bond. It’s wonderful when that friendship can spill out into the ‘real’ world too!!

      Like

  3. Pingback: The Blogosphere – Living In Another Dimension | Master of Something I'm Yet To Discover

  4. Good Morning, Joanne! Since I AM having coffee at this very second, I will tell you that I am delighted to hear the outcome of the hill workout. I can imagine that you are over the moon about the success. If I were in your runners, I’d be feeling… I dunno, confounded? I mean, how can he know you better than you know you? Especially given the nature of the feedback system. Weird.

    Thanks so much for the mention here. I am so grateful that you extended the invite. ❤

    Like

  5. I love these ‘If we were having coffee’ posts. They capture those exact subjects as if you were really sharing coffee. Nice you got to meet another blogger. Our world IS becoming smaller, is it not? In a wonderful new way, though.
    Talk about taking up the challenge in spades! Woo Hoo. ❤ ❤

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m glad you are enjoying this informal series. I like writing them 🙂
      I agree with you about the world getting smaller. Every once in a while I still marvel at the ability to ‘talk’ to people all over the world in real time. We are the generation with a foot in both the ‘old’ world and ‘new’ one 🙂 I guess that’s why I still like the ‘old-fashion’ face-to-face form of communication.

      Like

  6. You’re a star athelite and didn’t know it!

    Like

  7. Couldn’t care less if we had the coffee or not, this was worth the chat that normally comes with the cup. I congratulate you on your physical achievements – boy, those are some things I would like to work up to. I battle a couple of health issues that impede full ability, but I really miss my days of long distance running. That was another kind of meditation to sanity. although this blogging thing has not been too bad of a replacement. 😉 As for my thoughts on this week, well I guess I gave those on my reply to your comment on my page. LOL. Have a wonder week, Joanne!

    Like

  8. kanzensakura says:

    Well Joan, I’d tell you that over the smell of coffee, I can smell the seasons changing. The sun shines at a different angle, night comes more quickly, day is more precious because it seems time has flown too fast. And in spite of being so occupied, I think this is one of the more fully lived summers of my life and how good it is to have coffee with you and let’s do this more often!

    Like

  9. Well done, you, Joanne. What an inspiration. And what an accomplishment. Congrats on the success of doing the unthinkable and then realizing just how capable you truly are. I agree, we need those butt kickers in our lives. They believe in us and force us to believe in ourselves.
    So farewell to summer, but hello to fabulous fall. Life begins again for me in autumn. I can get back outside and breathe. Not run like the rockin road warrior you are, Joanne, but at least potter about and applaud at folks I do see run by.
    You go, girl!

    Like

  10. NancyTex says:

    Joanne, what fantastic news about your running! That breakthrough had to feel simply amazing. Well done!

    Don’t be sad about summer ending. The weather we’ve had this last week is better than anything we saw in August. I’ll take it if this last another couple of weeks! 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Nancy! It’s funny how sometimes it takes a huge swift kick from a stranger to nudge us out of the comfortable groove we’ve carved for ourselves.
      I have to say that this new program will either kill me or make me stronger for sure. After 3 tough workouts this week – including this morning – I’m barely functioning now :/

      I’ve put in a special order for this weather for the next couple of months. Hopefully it doesn’t get screwed up like last year!

      Like

  11. That seems like a pretty good week-even the experience with the crazy running coach (I reckon I’d have been cursing his ass!). It must’ve been lovely to see Maggie-it was brilliant when I met Justine, so I know how exciting and nerve wracking (at first!) it can be 🙂 xx

    Like

  12. How nice it is that you got to meet a fellow blogger! What a wonderful thing to do.

    Like

  13. Lynn says:

    Like you Joanne, I too, still associate Labour Day weekend with going back to school. All those years of preparation with the kids I suppose.

    My week was a busy one. I work for a non-profit organization & we are heading into our campaign season so September is always a wee bit crazy!

    What an accomplishment for you with your running! Sounds like your coach knows a little something about you that you have yet to discover in yourself. Congratulations!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks for the encouragement 🙂 I think we tend to have preconceived ideas of our abilities and it takes a stranger to give the nudge – or in my case, a hefty shove – to get us out of our comfortable groove.

      Happy New Year to you as you settle into your busy season. Let’s hope we have lots of proud accomplishments at the end of this ‘academic’ year. 🙂

      Like

  14. Joanne, I love having coffee with you on the weekends….I’m so glad to catch up with your world. Most impressed that you rose to the challenge of your trainer! And yes, I too see Labour Day as the time to plan future labours and excursions! Just ingrained in the brain as the time to shoot for the stars I guess!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you – I love having you join me for coffee … although given the heat & humidity today, maybe an iced coffee would be a better idea 😉

      Happy New Year to you and let’s see what we can accomplish over the coming ‘academic’ year 🙂

      Like

  15. jannatwrites says:

    I remember starting school after Labor Day, but my kids started back in July. I still enjoy the holiday, though (no work!) Congratulations on your running achievement. I don’t run unless something is chasing me, so I admire those who do it regularly 🙂

    Like

  16. Peculiarly, I would tell you “what do you mean summer is ending?? It is just beginning!” We have had glorious sunshine this week (just at a time when I needed the lift).

    I have not one but three people who regularly push me out of my comfort zone. I would not be writing, acting or composing (and a lot of other things) without them. I both love and hate them for it. 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL – I was thinking of you Aussies when I made the comment about summer ending. You must be thrilled to see the new season beginning 🙂

      It is a tenuous relationship we have with anything or anyone who disrupts the nice little grooves we create for ourselves.

      Like

  17. I’m really enjoying these almost coffee get togethers! What a busy week – kudos for the achievements on the running. How wonderful to have met a fellow blogger for an actual coffee – I read Maggie’s version of your get-together and she does sound like great fun. Happy Labour Day and bring on our wonderful Autumn.

    Like

  18. Sue Slaght says:

    How wonderful that you got to meet a fellow blogger. So fun. As far as what you can achieve I think the sky is the limit for you. Clearly the coach sees it too. Well done!

    Like

  19. This is such a great series, Joanne. One of my favorite things about WordPress is getting to know fellow bloggers and enjoying our conversations. 🙂 Our week has passed in a blur of work and back to school prep, Labor Day is definitely a time of fresh starts around here!

    Like

  20. pambrittain says:

    That’s so exciting. I’ve recently cyber-met Maggie, and just love her humor.

    Like

  21. Heyjude says:

    Don’t mind if I do. Have coffee with you 🙂 You seem to have had a good week, I think I need someone like your trainer to kick my butt. I am not happy with the way summer has disappeared so quickly. I am not ready for autumn and the dreaded winter when the days are short and the nights are long and all I want to do is hide under the duvet. I’m sorry to moan so much, but it has been a dull, grey week and not what August should be like. Better pass me some cake… that might cheer me up. A.Bit.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I was just going to have a piece of cake myself, so I’m glad to have company with the calories 🙂
      I wasn’t expecting to have my butt so thoroughly kicked and handed back to me on a platter. I must admit however, I’m feeling a tad satisfied with myself 🙂
      The changing seasons haven’t bothered me in the past, but after last winter, i’m feeling a bit reluctant to go back into another one so soon. Since summer appears to have been cancelled this year – at least where I am – maybe winter will take a pass too. I can only hope!

      Like

  22. Happy Labour Day Weekend Joanne! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

