If We Were Having Coffee – Sunday 0914

I hope you’re feeling as perky and bright as I am.  For the first time in several days, I’m full of energy.  It might be just the rich and foamy cappuccino talking, but you better stand back while I seize the day by the tail and give it a good spin.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you that these unseasonably cool temperatures are triggering my hibernation instinct.  I don’t remember ever having to turn the furnace on in mid-September … maybe the fireplace to take the chill out of the air, but not the furnace.

I’d tell you that I’m looking forward to trawling through farmer’s markets over the next few weeks for harvest bounty.  I’m craving soups and stews and comfort food like Sheppard’s Pie (guess what I’m making for dinner tonight?).

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you about lunches with great friends on one hand, and several doctor appointments on the other hand.  I’m quite unhappy about my semi-annual visit to the dentist.  I need to go back next week for a root canal – Hell and Damnation! Where exactly is the benefit to brushing faithfully 3-4 times a day and flossing like a master?

I’ve been in denial for a few months and it appears I can’t ignore it anymore.   The unexpected ding to the budget is bad enough, but is there anyone who relishes the thought of 90 minutes in a dentist’s chair getting a hole drilled in their head?

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you about the faux fur throw blanket I’ve wanted for a very long time and finally bought (I’m very serious about the desire to cocoon right now).  I was thrilled to bring it home and toss it ‘casually’ on the sofa (read, carefully choreographed placement) … only to remember Theo, my chubby alpha male cat.  He has not reacted well to any faux fur I’ve brought in the house up to now.  I watch and wait … so far no war has broken out, but I know I’m fooling myself. The attack will come.

If we were having coffee, I’d want to know all about what’s happening in your corner of world and what plans you might have for the coming week.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to If We Were Having Coffee – Sunday 0914

  1. I missed the comfort dinner. Dammit, Janet. I hope we will ba able to have a coffee together one day – preferably before root canals become a fond memory and we get our dentures stuck in our caramel slices, huh? 😀
    Love the idea of the cat beating up the faux-fur throws. Pictures, please.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I have a feeling that when we finally get together, it will be over a few bottles of wine rather than coffee 😉 …. and what a chat we will have!!
      Silly cat. I can’t help but laugh at some of his antics, but it wasn’t quite so funny the day I discovered tufts of fur everywhere and my jacket with the faux fur collar on the ground looking rather tattered and beaten. My fault for not hanging it up.

      Like

  2. Oh, I loved this post, Joanne. At the risk of you never speaking to me again, I will confess that I’ve had one, yes, just one, cavity in my entire life. So there’s really no excuse for my dread of the dentist’s office and yet, I once went ten years without a visit. There’s something so very vulnerable about lying flat in that chair anticipating Laurence Olivier to appear at any moment…..”Is it safe?” Boy, did that feed into my fear of dentists. And maybe Theo will make friends with the faux fur?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Only one cavity? … that is a significant achievement!! I bow to you 🙂
      I think my dental work over the years has put my dentist’s daughter through university :/
      In the grand scheme of things I shouldn’t complain too much. At least I have my teeth 🙂

      Like

  3. As I’ve said before Joanne, I love this format, and you use it with a deft hand. This post has a warm, cozy and welcoming feel that, I suspect, is exactly what you were trying to achieve. Well done. ~James

    Like

  4. NancyTex says:

    After spending the 3 days in HOT and HUMID Charleston, SC, I was actually pretty happy to feel the cooler temps when we landed. 🙂 Perspective! 🙂

    sorry to hear about your teeth. I had to do a root canal a few years back. horrific. 😦

    Like

  5. I worked today. Give me coffee. Stat.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Hot and strong – coming right up. With a couple of cookies on the side.

      Like

      • Mm…mumph…thank you! [she says through a mouthful of cookie having already finished her coffee]
        [swallows] Right. Now I can tell you that we have been having lovely spring weather. I had hoped to pull out the running shoes yesterday but didn’t quite manage it. We are starting to eat salads again. I am sympathetic of your dental problems and grateful that at my last appointment I got a clean bill of health. Cats are basically sociopaths.

        Thanks for the coffee! 🙂

        Like

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    Bummer about the root canal and why should one have to pay for such torture? I mean really!
    If we were having coffee you might want to put some ear plugs in. So excited about going to Italy, threw an engagement party for lovely daughter this weekend, my Mom is visiting and our Auntie who is a family friend and I am currently guardian of, fell and was hospitalized and now will need nursing home placement. Are you glad you asked? 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m not surprised you have your hands full – people like you are always a buzz of activity, whether it is imposed or self-inflicted 🙂

      My dental issues cranked up a notch last night when a big chunk of my tooth broke off while I was flossing. I’m starting to think dental care is detrimental to me teeth GRRRR. Hopefully I can get an emergency appointment.

      Good luck with your Auntie and her home placement. A few challenging days ahead :/

      Like

  7. Another great Sunday post, Joanne! Even though our weather is still warm I’m feeling like cold weather comfort food too – tonight we’re having Ribs, corn on the cob and french fries. 🙂

    Like

  8. kanzensakura says:

    This looks wonderful! Well, while I was having my coffee this morning I thought of how autumn I coming! My favorite season. I wrote a poem. And the cool air makes me feel like dancing around the yard. It’s in the air – perky and bright that is!

    Like

  9. NotAPunkRocker says:

    The cocoon urge is a huge one…it’s pretty much all I have done all weekend. I didn’t write, and I am just not reading blogs. It’s like I’ve gotten lazy…almost ready for hibernation or something.

    Faux fur throw…sounds perfect for a night on the couch with TV and a book.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Laziness must have been in the air lately … I blame the full moon last Monday 🙂

      Curling up with a book under a blanket sounds like the perfect way to spend a chilly afternoon. Maybe I’ll get a chance to do that around January 😉

      Like

  10. Nearly time for the long-johns too! We were hiking the Bruce this weekend so if we were having coffee together we could compare notes…best of luck with that root canal.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Great hiking weather! I bet it was gorgeous! What part of the trail are you doing now?

      Like

      • We’ve gone back and forth…started in Niagara and did the first 5 maps but then we went up to the Owen Sound and Wiarton area. Cheryl lives in Port Elgin and I live down here so we try to even out the travel to the start points…also means we can use Cheryl’s place as a base. We’re not doing winter hiking and so our last weekend will be early in November and we have a nice spa weekend booked back in the Niagara area!

        Like

  11. bikerchick57 says:

    We’ve turned the heat on and I also have to make a trip to the $$dentist$$.

    Like

  12. Heyjude says:

    That cappuccino looks very good, I am happy to come round and have one of those with you. We are having a lovely September so far – an Indian Summer – as soon as the kids went back to school, the temperature rose and it has been warm and sunny until this weekend when it has been warm and cloudy. Hope it lasts! Though the evenings are drawing in and I hate the thought of long dark evenings 😦

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      You make a good point about the long dark nights. I wonder if we would feel differently about winter if we had more daylight?

      I’m hoping winter doesn’t come early and mean like last year. If it stayed like this for a few more months, I’d be happy!!

      Like

  13. Sorry about the root canal. Wish you luck with the faux throw. You’re right, dream of comfort food swirl in my head too. 😀 All that white coming.soon. Brr.

    I haven’t turned on the fireplace yet but last night was a close first. Next Friday I have a cleaning scheduled for Friday. Had planned to have it done without freezing but now I’m not so sure I can bear it. Otherwise it will be the same old, same old. Hope to start reading a new book though. ❤

    Like

  14. Lynn says:

    If we were having coffee, I would tell you first of all, that I would sooner give birth, than go to the dentist. Having said that, I have had had a couple of root canals and they are not nearly as bad as they sound…just long!

    Your shepherd’s pie idea sounds delish. We have a beer can chicken in the oven..smells yummy!

    I am looking ahead to a very busy week at work (this is our crazy time of year) followed by a very busy upcoming weekend. Jann Arden friday night, baby shower saturday midday, followed by a birthday party for a friend. In addition, we have our grand dog visiting for the weekend & hopefully able we can catch his parents long enough to squeeze in a catch up.

    Enjoy your lovely faux fur blanket before your fur baby gets to it!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Wow – next weekend is chock full for you!! Better get caught up on your sleep this week … you’re going to need the energy 😉

      I love beer can chicken. Thanks for the suggestion. I haven’t made it since … well, last winter. Time to add it back onto the menu 🙂

      Like

  15. I’ve we were having coffee you’d probably think that I’d offer to share my date square with you, and you’d be correct, however, you would also be wrong. Because… the restaurant. by mistake, packed an extraordinarily dense fudge brownie… or was it just fudge? I think it might have been just fudge. A huge slab. I ate my half. All in one sitting. Hubby is making his half last. I have words for people like that. Not printable on this family blog.

    Sorry to hear about the root canal. Are you in pain? Or has the root died and gone to heaven? I’ve had to endure two episodes, both on weekends, which is a blessing, but also a curse. Who the heck wants to spend a weekend nursing a toothache?

    I can’t remember turning on the furnace this early, either. If the temperature had fallen a degree or two lower last night, we would have had frost. Happy snuggling with Theo… if he shares the throw with you.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      oooo – I had eyed those brownies and mentally debated between the brownie and the lemon cake. It was probably my mental telepathy that caused her to make the mistake 😉
      I’m guessing from your description, it was totally worth the calories!! … I know my cake was.

      btw – Gilles can ‘make his last’ too. Strange people. He can take a tiny slice of something with about 3 bites. Why bother? …. give it to me instead 😉

      Thankfully I’m not in pain – yet. I’m just aware that it doesn’t feel ‘right’. I can’t tell whether I just have a high pain threshold, or I really don’t feel pain properly.

      Theo is a little snuggle bunny, but sooner or later he’s going to realize that blanket is ‘fur’ and take exception to it. He has territorial issues :/

      Like

  16. pambrittain says:

    If we were having coffee, I’d bore you to death. However, if we were having a beer… well, you never know.

    Liked by 1 person

  17. jannatwrites says:

    Ooh, so sorry to hear about your trip to the dentist. I just had a crown done a couple months ago and that was bad enough. I’ve not had a root canal, but have heard enough to know I don’t really want one 🙂 I can imagine that in places that have a real winter (like Canada) you wouldn’t be excited to feel the first hints of summer fading away. Hope your blanket survives your cat!

    Like

  18. Damn that fur blanket and hibernation sounds good to me right now!

    \no, I don’t relish your stint in the dentist chair one little bit but I suppose we’ve got to try and look at the good side-nice teeth have a price?! :/

    And I’m coming round to yours for dinner, comfort food like stew is right up my street right now. Tell me, I’m curious, do you have dumplings there-they’re my fave bit (and if not, I’ll give you the recipe!) xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      If you’re ever in my neighbourhood, definitely stop in. There is always food and wine 🙂

      I’ve never made dumplings. I grew up in an “Italian” household and lived on a thousand variation of pasta. Things like potatos and rice were very infrequent – dumplings unheard of. If you have a recipe to share, I’d gladly try it 🙂

      Needless to say, pasta isn’t at the top of my fav list.

      Like

      • I’m not a mega fan of pasta either, I have to say!

        You make your stew with beef stock (quite watery) and then add the dumplings at the end for the last half hour of cooking-they thicken the sauce and swell up to about three times their original size 🙂

        250 g self-raising flour
        125 g butter, really cold
        sea salt
        freshly ground black pepper

        Put your flour into a mixing bowl
        Using a coarse grater, grate your cold butter into the flour
        Add a pinch of salt and pepper
        Using your fingers, gently rub the butter into the flour until it begins to resemble breadcrumbs
        Add a splash of cold water to help bind it into a dough
        Divide the dough into 24 pieces and gently roll each into a round dumpling. The dumplings will suck up quite a bit of moisture so if your stew looks dry – add a cup of boiling water and give it a good stir
        Place the dumplings on top of your fully cooked stew and press down lightly so that they’re half submerged
        Cook in the oven or on the hob over a medium heat with the lid on for 30 minutes

        Voila!

        Now I’m off to have dinner ’cause that’s just made me hungry lol 🙂 xx

        Like

Leave a Reply

