Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Buildings

The Gooderham (Flatiron) Building is one of the most photographed landmarks in Toronto and one of my favourites.

The back of the building has a magnificent trompe l’oeil.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

… and the front of course forms the narrow end of the wedge.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Finally, the entire building …

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For more of Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge on Buildings, click here.

cees-fun-foto

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to Cee’s Fun Foto Challenge: Buildings

  1. Veronica says:

    So beautiful! I love the brown bricks with the green rooftop! 😄

    Liked by 1 person

  2. ChristineR says:

    Gobsmacked! What a work of art, wonderful photo of it. ❤

    Like

  3. that is 1 awesome building 🙂

    Like

  4. jannatwrites says:

    That’s a cool building. I love the mural on the back!

    Like

  5. I LOVE street art. And when it adds the element of trompe l’oeil, it’s even better. I have a super-cool one that I shot in Portland, Maine which I intend to post one of these days. But I have to confess, Joanne, I think like this one in Toronto even better!! So cool.

    Like

  6. Cee Neuner says:

    Such fun photos for this week’s theme. Wonderful buildings.

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      I hate it when WP loses my comments … like my response to this one.
      Thanks Cee! I always look forward to watching your challenges so it’s fun when I have something to participate with once in a while :).

      Like

  7. Heyjude says:

    Amazing! I love the trompe l’oeil. Has it always been there?

    Like

  8. NancyTex says:

    One of my favourite buildings in the city!

    Like

  9. LOVE it, Joanne! Awesome captures!

    Like

  10. The light in the first pic is fabulous 🙂

    Like

  11. This 3D art is always stunning xx

    Like

  12. stvrsnbrgr says:

    A good trompe l’oeil mural can put a smile on the face of the most jaded city dweller. This is terrific. And reminds me, of course, of its sister structure in New York – one of my favorites – the Flatiron Building at the intersection of Fifth Avenue and Broadway.

    Like

  13. Drat the shadows of the giants in front or across from these buildings. The first photo has me in awe. I had no idea! 😮 Wow.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      The shadows were made worse by the early morning hour. I discovered that taking photos downtown was a challenge.

      … and I agree about the fabulous mural. I’ve been fascinated by it from the first time I saw it 🙂 Since then I’ve been to other places where I’ve seen 3D art on the back or side of a plain brick wall that completely transforms the building!

      Like

  14. Helen C says:

    Cool building! Now I want to go see it! 😉 Helen

    Like

Leave a Reply

