Don’t Be A Chicken

When I saw this comic in the newspaper this week, it really resonated with me.

img219

Mother Goose and Grimm by Mike Peters

We have a choice.  We can squeeze as much out of life as we can, or let fear / inertia cause us to procrastinate – sometimes until it is too late.

Are you a chicken?

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Adventure, Attitude and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Don’t Be A Chicken

  1. ChristineR says:

    I almost didn’t ‘get’ it – but then I haven’t ever purchased a bucket of KFC, but seen plenty of ads. Good one, Joanne. 🙂

    Like

  2. I used to cluck and lay eggs, then I turned 55 and decided it was wasting my time. 🙂

    Like

  3. jannatwrites says:

    Yeah, I’m kind of a chicken (but at least I’m an honest one 🙂 )

    Like

  4. If I’m not on safari in Africa or trekking through Bhutan at the age of 80, I will be very disappointed. Well, unless by some miracle I’ve actually managed to cross them off the bucket list already. In which case I expect to be riding a horse down into the Grand Canyon instead. Or possibly completing Oxfam Trailwalker in India. Or snorkelling in the Caribbean. Or… How many lifetimes do we get??

    Like

  5. What a great comic strip. It’s priceless.
    I remember an editor lecture I attended and the best advice she gave the roomful of writers. “GO OUT THERE AND LIVE, DAMMIT! Or you’ll have nothing but boring lives to write about.”
    I have taken her words to heart, but I shall post the cartoon by my computer as a physical reminder. Great post, and lovely advice, Joanne!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks so much! I remember having an aha moment many years ago when I realized I spend hours every day watching TV shows about people living a life and having relationships with all the good, bad, and ugly that life throws at us. We don’t watch shows of people watching TV. It was a major turning point for me 🙂

      Like

  6. Sammy D. says:

    Most of the time “Be Brave” is my mantra, but bungee jumping and parachuting will have to wait for my reincarnation.

    I thought I was already following you, and you hadn’t posted; niw I see I wasn’t folloeing!! Glad I doublechecked :-). Have a great weekend.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Be Brave is a good mantra … quite similiar to me saying to myself .. Be Afraid, But Do It Anyway.

      I have gone skydiving (probably one of the scariest things I’ve ever done), but bungee jumping isn’t in the cards. It feels wrong on so many levels 🙂

      Thanks for the comments and the follow. Looking forward to future conversations 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. pambrittain says:

    I believe in procrastination.

    Like

  8. bikerchick57 says:

    LOL! I hope I am not a chicken. Only time and $$$ keeps me from anything. Except bungee jumping…

    Like

  9. What a fun comic and then a heavy interpretation and question! I’m trying to be less of a chicken and have started challenging myself much more – like you are doing from what I’ve seen in your great blog.

    Like

  10. I’m a turkey. Wait. They don’t do bucket lists either. Sigh. o_O

    Like

Leave a Reply

