If We Were Having Coffee: Sunday 0921

If we were having coffee today, I would probably be yawning uncontrollably and would have to apologize for my lack of “sparkling company”.  Three nights of insomnia is starting to take its toll, and if that was not bad enough, I was up at 4 am this morning to go to a race with a 7:30 am start.   I wonder what normal people do on Sunday mornings?

I would tell you that Gilles – bless his heart – came with me for moral support, and we both got thoroughly soaked in the downpour.  I don’t think I’ve ever run in rain quite that heavy before now.  It wasn’t the “personal best” I was aiming for in this run, but given the amount of sleep I didn’t have, it was a wonder I could run at all.

I came home happy that I was 4 minutes faster than my last two 10k races.  Four minutes might not sound like much to you, but it is a welcome reversal of a slowing trend I’ve been seeing for the past few years.

If we were having coffee today, I would tell you about the disposable camera I found in the hallway closet upstairs.  I couldn’t guess how old it was … except that it had film.  I finally took it in for processing.  The days of 1 hour film processing is gone … it took 3 weeks, and I finally got the results back this week.

The pictures go back to 2005, when my mom was still alive and living alone in the house our family had for 3 generations.  It was a trip I made with my older sister to help my mom decorate for Christmas.  The pictures are dark and grainy …. but they created a flood of memories – of the mom I still miss, and the house that no longer stands.

Mom & Zach

2005 – Mom with her youngest great-grandson (at the time)

If we were having coffee, I’d tell you about this insane amount of kale I bought at a farmer’s market.  I was wondering what on earth I was going to do with so much kale when I tripped across a recipe for Kale and Walnut Pesto.  I have made a lot of variations of pesto over the years, but this one was – by far – THE BEST pesto I’ve ever had.  We’re going to be eating a lot of kale for a while.

At this point, we would probably start talking about food and it would prompt us to have some cake while you talked about your week.

 

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to If We Were Having Coffee: Sunday 0921

  1. mikaela says:

    Oh man, I’m all too familiar with insomnia. So sorry you’re walking through that right now! But, how special to find that old camera. That made me smile.

    Like

  2. beeblu says:

    How wonderful that you found that film.

    Like

  3. I just bought massive quantities of kale, too. What is it with the kale? Anyway, I don’t like basil, so kale pesto might be a winner. Thanks for the idea! 🙂

    Like

  4. You ran ten kilometers?? *respect* I have two speeds, ‘stop’ and ‘start’. I only run if something dangerous is doing likewise behind me. Hope you’ve got some zeds in, young lady!

    Like

  5. Mrs. P says:

    That’s so cool that the pictures were of your mom…I hope they were good memories.

    Like

  6. I bet there was something more than a little surreal about getting those photos developed!

    Truly, I am enormously impressed with the results of your race – insomnia and rain notwithstanding!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Surreal was exactly it! Less than half of the photos had actually been used. I wish I had taken many, many more.

      If I had been well rested, I would have rocked that course. Now I know what the next thing is I need to work on. I have to figure out this sleeping thing!!

      Like

  7. What a fabulous find in the closet, that picture is something wonderful 🙂

    Congratulations on being able to run the race AND on the time missus, you’re obviously doing better than you thought you would. Go Jo! xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Sam! I’m definitely feeling like I’m making major progress in my training. I just have to figure out this ongoing sleeping issue I have. Then I will be unstoppable!!! Mwahahahahaha!

      Like

  8. jannatwrites says:

    It’s kind of fun to run across forgotten undeveloped film- great treasures. You’re dedicated to run in the rain. Me? That’s a great excuse to stay in bed longer 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It wasn’t supposed to rain until later in the day. The weather man was wrong (quel surprise!). Thankfully it was warm outside or we would all have had hypothermia.

      We didn’t think to bring towels or dry clothes so we had to drive for an hour soaking wet. That was probably the worst … and the smell of a ‘wet dog’. Funny how even humans smell like wet dog 🙂

      Believe me – we looked at each other at one point and wondered what was wrong with us that we thought this is a good way to spend a (very early) Sunday morning :/

      Like

  9. Sue Slaght says:

    Congrats on your time Joanne! Four minutes faster is amazing!

    Like

  10. Is that a whine I hear? Maybe try concentrating on the positives? 4 minutes off your run time is amazing. Just the fact that you run makes you a better person than me. And what I wouldn’t give to find never before seen photos of MY mother. And the rain…. Well, we did have rain one night last week, but I slept through it. And then I had jury duty for two days. And I’d probably mention that we’re thinking about going up to San Francisco to an engagement party for our cousin but would probably have to drive as plane tickets are way too expensive at the last minute. I guess that whining I hear is me. Oh, well….

    Like

  11. Maybe it’s the having coffee together that is giving you insomnia?? Just saying! That photo was just waiting in that camera all these years to be found by you – very special❤️

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      oooooh – good point! Maybe we should be having coffee much earlier in the day … or switch to decaf 😉

      I feel like I was given a very special gift when I saw those pictures. To see her again before she became sick and withered away. Priceless!

      Like

  12. NancyTex says:

    I’m so sorry you had to run I that weather 😦
    We had to drive through it to get to Buffalo for the Bills game and it was nasty.
    Well done on shaving FOUR MINUTES from your finish! That is huge!

    And how awesome to find those pictures on that disposable!

    Get some sleep tonight!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Driving in that downpour would have been much worse than running in it!! Glad you made it safely. At least the afternoon was beautiful. I’m assuming it was in Buffalo too.

      Now that I know my training program is really working well, I have to figure out how to solve this sleeping issue. It’s soooo frustrating.

      Like

  13. Impressive that you knocked 4 minutes off your time…perhaps that torrential downpour made you run faster so you wouldn’t have to be out in it any longer! 🙂 How very interesting that the days of getting photos developed from film in an hour are gone. As I thought about that after you “said” it, I realized you were right. I’m startled to see so much of the world I grew up with disappearing so quickly…it seems like it gets faster every year, doesn’t it?

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      It really surprised me too … at first. As some things improve, other things devolve and eventually disappear. You can imagine their reaction when I went in with a film camera!
      .. on the other hand, if you want prints from digital, they can be ready in an hour 🙂

      I’m really grateful it wasn’t cold today. Running in a cold rain is a recipe for pneumonia 😉

      Like

  14. I also have trouble sleeping, so I can sympathise. It’s such a bummer, and after a few bad nights, my head just doesn’t work properly… which is bad when I’m trying to write analytic articles 😦 I try to compensate with florid prose.

    Aw, that’s very touching about the photos 🙂

    Like

  15. Maybe your insomnia is your body saying, “So! When are we doing the next wee-hours-of-the-morning jaunt to take photos?! Huh?! Huh?! That was fun! Let’s do it again!”
    I think you just put me off fun runs.
    Oh, fab! What a find! So glad you could get it processed. Lovely photo. I would weep buckets at such a find.
    I thought there was a kale shortage. Or is that just here?

    Like

  16. Even with insomnia you’ve managed to have a full and eventful week, Joanne! How wonderful to find those photos of your mom.

    Like

  17. Heyjude says:

    My grandchildrens’ guinea-pigs like kale. Just saying…
    And if I was having coffee with you today then we’d still be there at dinner time, I have so many questions to ask you about the house, your lovely Mom, why you run and why we both suffer from insomnia!
    have a great week Jo xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      No – I’m not getting a guinea pig 🙂

      Isn’t insomnia the MOST.FRUSTRATING.THING.EVER!!!! Seriously, with sleep, I think I can handle almost anything.
      My mother was an insomniac and both my brothers and I have sleeping issues – yet neither of my sisters. I wonder if there is a predisposition in genetics.

      Like

  18. Oh, how wonderful!! I am so happy that the film was able to be developed and contained the priceless of your mother and her great-grandson. A treasure. I adore kale and the pesto sounds To Die For. Do you make it pretty much just like you would with basil? Also, I have a recipe for a kale and persimmon salad. Out of this world. I’ll send it if you’re interested.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      ooo – thanks! I’m always interested in new recipes and I love persimmons.
      I used pecorino cheese which added a really nice flavour and roasted the walnuts. The kale was blanched for 30 seconds, but other than that, it was a regular pesto recipe. Obviously I had to cool the kale and squeeze all the water out first.

      Finding the camera makes me wonder what other treasures are lurking around nearby out of sight 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Sorry about the insomnia. Congrats on your personal best time. Wow, and in the rain. My teeth are chattering. I hate being wet. Good on YOU.
    Kale pesto? What do you use it with / on? 😛

    Like

  20. pambrittain says:

    I think I’d rather just listen to you. Hope you get some sleep.

    Like

  21. Helen C says:

    You are fun to be with even though you didn’t sleep with for 3 days. 😉
    What a precious photo! Clearly, Grandma adored her grandchild. Photo like this warms my heart. Thanks for sharing. Helen

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Helen! When I sent the photo to my niece, she was thrilled to have a photo of her grandmother with her son. It made me really happy too!

      I just realized that I’ve not been receiving any of your posts. I think I’ve fixed the problem now and your posts should be coming to my mailbox 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

