One Day One World: 9 – 10 am

It’s autumn in Ontario … which means the farmer’s markets are brimming with produce! For people like me who love vegetables, this is the best time of year.

Today’s outing was planned to take advantage of this bounty, so in spite of the heavy, grey skies and the forecast for rain, my good friend, Helen, and I headed out of the city.  My target destination was a farm with an apple orchard about an hour from Toronto.

The orchard had just opened for business when we arrived at 9 am, and with the farm completely to ourselves, we set off into the fields in search of my favourite eating apple – the Honeycrisp.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Alas, the Honeycrisp apples were harder to find than this.

In one short hour, we managed to fill up on apples, squash, corn, potatoes, tomatoes, and brussel sprouts.  Yes – I love brussel sprouts.  What’s not to like? … they’re so cute.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Helen with the oddest looking squash I’ve ever seen!

The rain threatened but never materialized.  In all, a great outing.

This was my world between 9 am and 10 am this morning.  For more of the One Day One World Project, visit Lisa at Northwest Frame of Mind.

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Nature, Photo Challenges, Random Stuff and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to One Day One World: 9 – 10 am

  1. Phil Taylor says:

    Wow! There was already 50m comments when I left this one. You are a rock star! I do love all the fresh produce at a good farmers market. I saw a news feature recently on a guy who grew those ugly gray squash that Helen was holding, inside a mold so that a grew in the shape of a Frankenstein head.Pretty cool, but he wanted $70 for one.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Phil. I had a good night’s sleep last night so I actually feel like a rock star today 😉

      That is pretty cool about using a mold to shape a squash while it’s growing. I’ve never heard of that before. That had to have been one really ugly looking squash!! 🙂

      Like

  2. Sue Slaght says:

    Joanne these are wonderful photos of amazing colours. As for that squash well clearly it had a good growing season!

    Like

  3. jannatwrites says:

    Honeycrisp apples are the best! I imagine they taste even better right from the orchard… by the time they get to where I live, I’m sure they are weeks old. The produce looks so good… much better than the farmer’s market I went to in our town 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I’ve never had a Honeycrisp right off the tree before now. Wow! I’m going to be spoiled after this 😉

      With all the farm fresh vegetables I’ve been getting recently, our meals have been mighty tasty!!

      Like

  4. treerabold says:

    What a great way to spend an hour!
    Fall is the season I truly miss living in Texas.
    Honeycrisp apples are the best! I do have to question your judgement about the brussel sprouts!! 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      The transition seasons – fall and spring – are definitely my favourites, but fall’s harvest can’t be beat!
      mmmm – brussel sprouts, roasted and sprinkled with bacon and cheese. Think I might make them for dinner tonight 😉

      Like

  5. Oh, Joanne, this is my favorite time of year too–and your outing is one that makes me nearly as giddy as Christmas morning. Bountiful autumnal produce is my absolute favorite fall treasure. I start off nearly every morning with a Honey Crisp apple smothered in almond butter. It really can’t get any better than that for me.
    Yesterday, I went to the State Fair and saw prize winning pumpkins and squash – the winning one was over 1200 pounds! I’d like to know what it was the gardener was feeding it. Small, unruly children perhaps??
    What a site, what a day.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Glad to find another kindred spirit!! I laughed at your comment about feeding small, unruly children to pumpkins!! It reminded me of one Hallowe’en when Husband carved a scary pumpkin and small children were afraid to come up to our house. He’s still rather proud of that achievement 😀

      Like

  6. Must say that I like the photos. Great atmosphere! 🙂

    Like

  7. I do love fall, but I can’t get watermelons any more. And that makes me sad… 😦

    Like

  8. The colours are beautiful (and you’re making me hungry! lol)

    I love sprouts too-they’re a staple over here 🙂 xx

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      wow – a lot more people love brussel sprouts than I expected! I must admit that by the end of the winter, I’m pretty tired of them and ready to move on … at least until the fall again 🙂

      Like

  9. bulldog says:

    Looks like a great place to visit…

    Like

  10. What a nice fall outing – great photos too. Since I’ve discovered brussel sprouts in the frying pan with olive oil and a little salt – yum!

    Like

  11. One of my proudest achievements as a parent is to have raised three boys who love brussel sprouts.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Honeycrisp and Fuji are my favorites. 🙂 But I’ll pass on the Brussel sprouts…

    Like

  13. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project 9:00 am – 10:00 am | Northwest Frame of Mind

  14. Joe says:

    It is such a wonderful time of year for photographers and food lovers Joanne 🙂 I also love winter squash with a lithe butter and cinnamon !

    Like

  15. I love staring at fruit-laden trees… and my absolute favourite are fields full of pumpkin 🙂 Great pics!

    Like

  16. Hello, Joanne! Wonderful images, just wonderful. I think Maggie is right about the Hubbard. In Massachusetts the stores always have for sale “squash” pie during the holidays. Tastes very much like pumpkin and I’ve never seen it elsewhere. Must be a Yankee thing. Also, I am so late to the Brussels sprouts party, but once I had them roasted…..well, stand back. I am a fanatic now. Happy post!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Roasting vegetables is a magic formula. Everything seems to taste better when it’s been roasted 🙂

      I really have to investigate this squash pie. No one in my family likes pumpkin except me … but everyone loves squash. We might have a winner here 🙂

      Like

  17. NancyTex says:

    What a great idea to visit the orchard on a weekday. I might steal it! Which one did you hit?

    p.s. That squash might make the perfect main course after the cock soup appetizer.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      We went to Bowmanville to Watson Farm (http://www.watsonfarms.ca) and there was a great little mom-and-pop market just down the street.

      There are actually several orchards in the east end, but I had picked that one because it still had Honeycrisps available for picking. Everywhere else had Honeycrisps finished.

      We were the only ones at both markets and had a great chat with the people there, Definitely going during the week is a lot nicer than fighting the crowds.

      … and I think you should have your cock soup for a special occasion – like Thanksgiving 😉

      Like

  18. Heyjude says:

    I adore squash AND brussel sprouts too, and I like the sound of a Honeycrisp apple. That looks like a wonderful market, and you know how much I like markets 🙂

    Like

  19. Mrs. P says:

    Beautiful pictures…what delicious looking produce! As a pumpkin pie lover I was quite impressed with a Hubbard squash pie that tasted just like pumpkin, to me. And, just last week a friend made pesto but instead of pasta, she shredded the spaghetti squash and it was fabulous! I wish we had places like this near here.

    Like

  20. pambrittain says:

    Yikers, I saw some of the prices. On the other hand, they’re fresh.

    Like

  21. Aren’t those veggie shots great up there? As beautiful as any flower stand and these you can eat!

    Like

  22. I’m crazy nuts about squash. I make pumpkin pie using the butternut variety. Not sure, but I think Helen has a Hubbard squash. They’d make great monster heads for Hallowe’en. If I were a crafty sort, I make a dragon or alligator or some such. Glad you had a good outing.

    Like

  23. Sammy D. says:

    Yum! I’m one of the few people I know who love brussel sprouts 🙂 That looks like a fabulous farm with vegies and Honey Crisps. Make my mouth water!

    Like

  24. I love brussel sprouts too. Great photos! I’d love to reach out and pick an apron full of those apples 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

