One Day One World: 10 am to 11 am

I joined this project 16 weeks ago for the 6 pm timeframe and I can’t believe that there is only one more week left.  Back in mid-June, the end of this project seemed so far away, and now it’s staring me in the face.

My hiking buddy, Helen, joined me during the late night hours so I wouldn’t be venturing out into the city alone in the dark.  Now we are both hooked on these weekly excursions. We have regular discussions on what we could do and where we could go.  Our list of potential places to visit is long and varied.

It seems that when this project ends next week, Helen and I will continue our explorations in and around the city we live in – an exciting little side effect that I never anticipated 16 weeks ago.

Today, Helen and I ventured out into midtown again – this time to the beautiful Casa Loma.  Yes – Toronto has a castle.

It took 3 years to build Casa Loma and it was completed in 1914 – a private residence of over 64,000 square feet for a wealthy businessman, at a staggering cost of $3.5 million. The owner subsequently fell on hard times and eventually the property was seized by the city for outstanding back taxes.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The property had fallen into serious disrepair and was at risk of being demolished.  In the late 1930s, Casa Loma was leased by the Kiwanis Club and they began operating it as a tourist destination.  Over the years, it has undergone several major restorations and is now a museum and popular tourist attraction.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Private and corporate events are also routinely held in Casa Loma.  A number of years ago, I attended a corporate Christmas party held here and the facility was truly magical.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

We didn’t tour the inside of Casa Loma today.  Instead we visited the horse stables – something I hadn’t done before now.  Although I had heard about the grandeur of the stables, it didn’t quite prepare me for the reality.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One of the entrances into the stables.

If evidence of over-the-top ostentatious living offends you, this is clearly not the place to visit.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis was my world today between 10 am and 11 am.  For more on One Day One World, visit Northwest Frame of Mind.

 

 

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Photo Challenges, Random Stuff, Travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to One Day One World: 10 am to 11 am

  1. Heyjude says:

    I always find castles in the US or Canada to be totally OTT – very Disneyish and in far too good condition 🙂

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    That is a pretty building, and interesting history, too! I love the architecture. We don’ see buildings like that around here.

    Like

  3. Sue Slaght says:

    We visited Toronto when I was a child and Casa Loma has intrigued me since then. Wonderful captures Joanne!

    Like

  4. lumar1298 says:

    Wow… What a gorgeous place… Nice venturing out and seeing new things…

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks! I’ve always believed that the hardest part of any adventure – or exercise, for that matter – is actually getting out the front door. It’s easy to talk ourselves into simply staying at home. It’s that inertia I’m trying to fight as I get older.
      I’m discovering there’s always something to see – even at the places I’m the most familiar with!

      Like

  5. I love all the turrets! 🙂

    Like

  6. mihrank says:

    Kindly support me on Facebook Fanpage. Appreciate if you could please ‘like’ my page :

    https://www.facebook.com/MihranKalaydjianPianoMelodies

    Like

  7. It’s been a real treat following you around town on this adventure – how nice that you and Helen have made it into a regular friendship event. The rich guy who built Casa Loma also had a ‘little’ country place up in King township and I hike there from time to time…you and Helen may want to visit Mary’s Lake sometime although it’s now a monastery.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Why am I not surprised?! It’s a small wonder this guy fell on hard times.
      If I remember correctly, you’ve mentioned Mary’s Lake before in a post. I’ll have to look it up!

      Like

  8. So fantastic, Joanne! All of it – what you’ve achieved, what you’ve gained, where you’ve been. As for that castle – CRIKEY!!

    Like

  9. bulldog says:

    Joanne what a brilliant place to vist… and what a brillint building… horses in the stable must have felt like royalty…. brilliant share… loved it…

    Like

  10. Sammy D. says:

    My goodness – that is a magnificent castle! I’m so glad it wasn’t torn down. The castle looks very authentic but I must say the stables look like something I’d find at DisnerWorld!!

    Congrats on doing this project; I’ve enjoyed the places you’ve dragged poor Helen :-). Just kidding. These projects can be daunting on the front end and as they approach completion, it seems the time flew by! I’m glad you had Helen to accompany you – especially in the wee hours – and she obviously enjoyed it as much as you did.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Sammy! I’ve really had a lot of fun doing this project. It’s morphed into something I really didn’t plan.
      Everyone needs to have a friend like Helen. She’s always positive, energetic and ready for adventure. Only a real friend would get up in the middle of the night to go skulking around the city with you just to see what you can find 🙂

      Like

      • Sammy D. says:

        You and Helen are both fortunate! Hub would do “some” things with me, but that’s not the same as female companionship. I’m in one of those “lull” periods without a “bestie” female friend. Right now grandkids and parents are my focus but eventually I need to find a “significant other” woman friend. It becomes harder as we age, and moves or changes in relationships mean good friends are no longer in our daily lives.

        Like

        • joannesisco says:

          I’ve spent my entire adult life far away from my family. I don’t think it would be an exaggeration to say that having good friends has saved my sanity.
          Hope you and your next bestie find each other soon 🙂

          Like

  11. M-R says:

    WUNDERBAR, Joanne ! 🙂 What an amazing place – and how good-looking for a fake !

    Like

  12. It’s so great to hear you and Helen are planning to continue your weekly excursions, Joanne! Wow! Plus I’m really jealous that you and Nancy get to go out hiking together Thursday. 🙂 Casa Loma looks like a beautiful place. 🙂

    Like

  13. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project: 10:00 am – 11:00 am | Northwest Frame of Mind

  14. Great pix Joanne. I really like the perspectives you take rather than just your normal everyday photos. Must agree with other posters though…stables look quite good enough for me!

    Like

  15. We had a term for these kind of houses back in my real estate days: “self-congratulatory!” But really, aren’t we glad titans of business (or whatever he was) built these things so we mere mortals can ooh and aah. And, of course, for the horses! Very cool, Joanne.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      I like that expression “self-congratulatory” – really! how much house does one really need?!
      This kind of ostentatiousness really irritates me but I can’t help but wonder how much of it is actually envy 😉

      Like

  16. Wow. Just wow. OK, not just wow. Of course I have heard of the place, but it and I haven’t crossed paths. That doesn’t make sense, but you know what I mean. I’m glad it was maintained. Thanks for the tour!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Always my pleasure to take you on a tour 🙂

      I was really surprised when I read that the city was planning to demolish it back in the 30s. That would have been a terrible shame … although I guess we would never have known.

      I’m really glad it was rescued too. I have a friend whose son is going to be married in a couple of weeks at Casa Loma. I’m sure it will be beautiful!

      Like

  17. NancyTex says:

    I can’t remember the last time I visited Casa Loma. It may have been on a school trip, which would make it at least a handful of years ago. 😛

    Like

  18. Wow! Your photos are amazing. That place is amazing. My daughter lives in Toronto – I must mention this place to her. Yes, there are those who house their dear horses in some pretty amazing adobes. We have a horse farm in my neighbourhood. Their own house is huge and somewhat over the top. The horse barns every bit as much. Really, if it weren’t for the horses coming and going, one would think it an actual house, a nice house!

    Like

  19. Wow-that place is stunning! A castle fit for a princess and the stables aren’t too shabby either! 🙂 xx

    Like

Leave a Reply

