One Day One World: 11am – Noon

This is the final post of the One Day One World Project.  It’s been an interesting 16 weeks for me and I hope you’ve enjoyed the journey with me.

Helen and I discussed numerous things we thought would be fun for this final timeframe, but in the end, this week got away from me with other commitments taking priority.

Instead of Helen joining me for today’s outing, Gilles was with me as we headed out to pick up our race packages for Sunday’s Toronto Waterfront Half Marathon.  Both of us will be doing this race as a training run for our target race in Philadelphia at the end of November.

An outing with Gilles is very different than one with Helen.  First of all we missed our exit because Gilles was “certain” we needed to exit later than we should have.  Then we drove several kilometers out of our way while he was deciding on the best place to turn around.  I couldn’t help but notice that I wouldn’t have felt that growing impatience if Helen had been driving.  Is it just me, or are we harder on our spouses than we are with others?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Approaching the Princes’ Gate – and parking for the Direct Energy Centre – from the back end

When we finally arrived at the race Expo around 11:30, the crowd was thick and line ups were long.  By noon I was finally armed with my race packet containing my timing chip and bib number.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This was my world today between 11 am and noon.  Thank you for travelling with me on this journey of One Day One World.  For more on the final hour of this project, visit Northwest Frame of Mind.

About Joanne Sisco

Retired but not idle. Life is an adventure - I plan to continue to embrace it.
This entry was posted in Active Lifestyle, Photo Challenges and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to One Day One World: 11am – Noon

  1. Congratulations on finishing the challenge – now I have to catch up on my backlog of blogs and see how you did!

    Like

  2. jannatwrites says:

    Ha – I think I’m more forgiving of others, too (my husband doesn’t stand a chance of doing anything right, it seems!) There’s no way I could run a half marathon…my knees hurt just thinking about it 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: In A Blaze Of Glory | My Life Lived Full

  4. So? How’d you do at the race?

    Like

  5. In answer to your question whether or not we are harder on our spouses than on our friends, I can only answer that I have no friends left. And I think my wife is eyeing the front door!

    Like

  6. Sue Slaght says:

    You go runner girl! Wow so impressive.
    On another note we booked our trip to Peru next June. Would you and Gilles be interested in coming along?

    Like

  7. beeblu says:

    I’ve just been to another country with three girlfriends, and when we didn’t know our way somewhere, we just asked a stranger – easy. It occurred to all of us that that would not be the case if our spouses (we left them at home :)) had been with us. 😄 Hope the marathon goes well and that, most of all, you enjoy the journey.

    Like

  8. Pingback: 1 Day 1 World Project: 11:00 am – 12:00 pm | Northwest Frame of Mind

  9. It’s been so fun to follow your adventures through the past 16 weeks, Joanne! I hope your race day is fast and fantastic, I can’t wait to read the recap. 🙂

    Like

  10. Lynn says:

    The Princess Gates bring back so many memories for me. Days of my youth spent at the CNE or Ontario Place, not to mention Home Shows, Ski Shows, Royal Agricultural Show, the Bike Show. I have passes under them so many times! I wish you a wonderful day tomorrow for your half marathon Joanne. Happy running!

    Like

  11. NancyTex says:

    OMG!!! I will be thinking of you tomorrow and sending you positive energy! I would actually head on down and cheer you on but I’ll be in Buffalo tomorrow for the Bills game. 😦
    Have a great race!

    Like

  12. The difference between my spouse and my friends at the wheel is that my friends listen to the GPS lady, follow the instructions, arrive and park. My spouse listens to her until her no longer agrees with her itinerary, shouts her down, switches her off, follows his “instinct” then refuses to ask anyone for directions. Now I ‘ve said that you can guess if I am harder on him than I am on other drivers…. um… 🙂

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Damn WP – what happened to my original response?!!!

      It sounds like a familiar refrain on our road trips too. Let’s see – your husband is french-french. Mine is french-canadian. I’m seeing a potential root cause 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  13. 16 weeks and each adventure better than the last! You have not only entertained us but educated us as well! Most impressed with your big race. Am afraid my theory on running matches that of Peak Perspective up there……sit down until the urge passes and than goodness I don’t get the urge often! But I very much admire the fact that you took this up after 40 and are still going strong! Good luck with it….hope it’s warmer there than here!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed the adventure 🙂

      I’m quickly discovering that running isn’t for everyone. Quite frankly, I seriously doubt I would ever have become a runner if it wasn’t for my husband and our circle of friends. Call it learned behaviour 🙂

      It’s going to be a chilly day tomorrow, but that’s not necessarily a bad thing!

      Like

  14. Heyjude says:

    When I first saw that photo I thought you were posting about Berlin! Good luck tomorrow Jo – you are one fit lady! I have really enjoyed your posts throughout the challenge, it’s been a load of fun.
    Jude xx

    Like

  15. I am infinitely harder on BH than I am on a friend. In a car. BH cannot talk and maintain course at the same time. Seriously. And I actually get into a plane with this man? I must be mad. Anyway, I digress. Can’t tell you how much admiration and just a smidge of envy I have for you, Joanne. It’s not easy to haul yourself out of bed and go to these events which inflict not a little pain on the old bod. You ROCK, Joanne!!!

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      Thanks Barbara – you got it exactly right! I really do think the worst part is dragging myself out of bed – usually after a poor night’s sleep – and physically getting to the starting line.
      I’m definitely not a speedy runner, but I’m always impressed with how this old body can step up to the challenge.
      Thanks for the good wishes!!

      Like

  16. Exciting stuff! I can’t wait to read the write up of the race. And congratulations on finishing this challenge 🙂 xx

    Like

  17. M-R says:

    You’re amazing. Well, certainly in comparison with ME, you are ! [grin]

    Like

  18. Sammy D. says:

    Holy moly; you’re a Warrior!! You go, girl. I’m SO envious; my running days are all run out but I’ll certainly be thinking of you. My nephew is running a marathon Sunday in Detroit.

    Yes, we are harder on our spouses. That’s what spouses are for. Right? Give them the shits and be nice to our friends 😍.

    Just kiddin’, but yes. We see their annoying habits way too often so we lose patience sooner.

    Like

    • joannesisco says:

      LOL!! It’s so true about the familiarity! I know that Gilles has his own list of my annoying habits 😉

      I don’t know how much of a warrior I am. I do know that at some point tomorrow I’m going to be wondering why on earth I continue to do this.
      I didn’t start running until my late-40s so I think I still have a few miles left in this bod before I’m ready to call it quits.

      Liked by 1 person

  19. Wow, Joanne, a four hour run is something I’d consider only if I was being chased. And it would have to be something that was chasing me with ill intent and visible fangs or sharpened knives. I might be able to take them if it were simply dull claws or a bent fork. In fact, my motto on this subject is pretty deplorable in that every time I get the urge to run I sit down until it passes. After about sixty seconds I start to taste blood.
    I would not make it in under six hours.
    Run for me Joanne.
    I will shout words of encouragement all the down here from Virginia. You Go, Girl!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      I’m not the speediest of runners, but if my time is anywhere near the 4 hour mark, I will be having an extraordinarily bad day. On the other hand, I have quite the record for having remarkable training runs and then completely falling apart during a race. It seems to be my ‘signature’.
      Up until my mid-forties, if anyone had told me I would become a long distance runner, I would have laughed heartily. I’ve learned to never say never 😉
      Thanks for the good wishes. When the going gets tough tomorrow, I will remember all these kind words!

      Like

  20. Okay, I push lightly. When I close my eyes, it”s not enough? What is trust?

    Like

  21. It’s also a male thing – that “I didn’t look it up because I was pretty sure I knew roughly where to go…”. Except they never do. And therein lies the frustration.
    You didn’t go for the red laces? How come? 😀
    Thanks for taking me along for the ride. I’ve loved all our outings. Won’t be running that 21.1km on Sunday with you, though. (Even if it is on the bucket list.) But I’ll cheer from the (very far away) sidelines. Go, you amazing woman!

    Liked by 1 person

    • joannesisco says:

      I think you’re right about the male thing 🙂
      … and I didn’t even mention the highly questionable left hand turn.

      Thanks for the encouragement. It always seems like a good idea at the beginning of the race, but towards the end, I am usually questioning my judgement.
      No red laces for me – they would clash with my neon blue and orange running shoes 😉

      Thanks for joining me on this project!!

      Liked by 1 person

  22. bulldog says:

    Yes you are harder on your pouse and its never their fault. I do love that photo of the princes’ gate, that is impressive…..

    Like

  23. bikerchick57 says:

    I admire anyone who runs half or full marathons…so that means I admire you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

